Sign Up
Newsletter Signup
Free Fodor's Newsletter

Subscribe today for weekly travel inspiration, tips, and special offers.

Fodor's Weekly: Your expert travel wrap-up
Today's Departure: Your daily dose of travel inspiration (coming soon)

Amsterdam Hotels

Washington

Pros

  • Laid-back aura
  • Friendly staff
  • Everything is polished and sparkling clean
  • Good value

Cons

  • No elevator
  • A few rooms share bathrooms
  • Books up fast

Updated 10/11/2012

Fodor's Review

A stay at this cozy favorite with musicians across from the Concetgebouw is almost like staying with an old friend: the lounges are filled with antiques, the light-filled guest rooms are simply and charmingly decorated in white and pastel shades, and the friendly staff is on hand with advice. You are encouraged to ask anything, from where to eat and drink to buying tickets for concerts and the museums, and you're welcome to borrow a guidebook. Two comfortable apartments have their own kitchens.

Hotel Information

Address:

Frans van Mierisstraat 10, Amsterdam, 1071 RS, Netherlands

Map It

Phone:

020-679–7453

Hotel Details:

  • Credit cards accepted
  • 22 rooms, 1 suite, 2 apartments
  • Breakfast

Updated 10/11/2012

Book A Hotel

Advertisement

Map View

Map of



What's Nearby

  • Hotels
  • Restaurants
  • Sights

See all hotels in Amsterdam

Fodorite Reviews

Average Rating

By Lilian

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Apr 10, 2004

Lilian from Istanbul 14-03- 2004

It is perfect just where I was looking for to stay. Friendly en charming en good value. It was a good feeling to be with several fameus artist from the Concertgebouw. U felt the music in the marvelious atmosfer of teh Hotel Washington. It is the place to came back.

By Gary

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Sep 9, 2003

Then only place to stay in Amsterdam

I've been staying at the Hotel Washington for over four years and find it to be the only place to stay in Amsterdam. It is quiet, cozy with a family-atmosphere, and away from the hustle and bustle of a large hotel. Yes, it is in an old house and you do have to walk up stairs, but so what?

By Lucy

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Aug 2, 2003

I Wish I Could Give a 6 For Service & Value!

I first stayed at Hotel Washington in 1986, and I've had at least 2 or 3 other visits, the most recent in April 2003. What a delightful small hotel! The staff and owners could not be friendlier nor more accomodating. Because of an early flight, we had to leave our last day before breakfast, but the owner had it waiting for us in time to direct us to the nearby tram stop. Beautiful location on a quiet street near museums and shops between 2 tram lines,

very nice rooms. Best place to stay in Amsterdam, no question.

Read More

By Donna

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

May 30, 2003

Great!

We got upgraded to the apartment next door and it was great! Although we had to trek up 4 flights of steep stairs, which was a bit scary, it was worth it. The apartment had a small kitchen and a rooftop patio from which you can see the top of the Rijksmuseum. We felt like we had a "real Amsterdam" experience by staying in a residential area and cooking in a few nights (there's a huge supermarket about a 10-minute walk away). The staff was really nice

and breakfast was simple but good. It was really busy when we were there so we had to wait to be served a couple of times. There's only one drawback: don't expect fancy furnishings. The rooms are simply furnished and the stuff is a bit old. The charm of this place is in its location and, for us, the rooftop patio. I'd definitely recommend it.

Read More

By Julia

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Mar 3, 2002

Just Perfect

This hotel was a great find, thanks to this site. We stayed in a clean, well-maintained suite on the 1st floor and were impressed by several things: the room was clean, roomy and very nice for the price, the breakfast was good (eggs, toast, cheese and ham), the staff was helpful but not intrusive, wonderful location only two blocks from the Museumplein, about 10 good to excellent restaurants, cafes and bars within a couple of blocks, nearby are

2 tram lines going downtown, and it only cost $25 by taxi from the airport. All of this for about $120 for a suite. Compared to Courtyard Marriott and similar hotels in USA, this is a real bargain and a true pleasure. Not recommended for those looking for night-life or other "action" - this is in a residential neighborhood.

Read More

By Debra

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Feb 22, 2001

Good to go

Right in the center of the museum district. Very very nice people. Rooms are good and you can't beat the price. Parking is expensive though for a day pass and the map on the web site is completely wrong!

By Danna

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jan 26, 2001

What a Find

We loved it. Got a suite, I think it was a lucky draw. Great neighborhood lovely building, great staff close and accessible. The taxi driver had little time finding it... but that's a small problem

Show All

Add Your Own Review

When did you stay?

Minimum 200 character count

How many stars would you give?

Room

Décor

Service

Value

Advertisement