Venice: Places to Explore


San Polo and Santa Croce

view-mapView Map

The two smallest of Venice's six sestieri (districts), San Polo and Santa Croce, were named after their main churches, though the Chiesa di Santa Croce was demolished in 1810. The city's most famous bridge, the Ponte di Rialto, unites sestiere San Marco (east) with San Polo (west). The Rialto takes its name from Rivoaltus, the high ground on which it was built. Shops abound in the area surrounding the Rialto Bridge. On the San Marco side you'll find fashions, on the San Polo side, food.

See Also


Travel Deals in Venice

View all travel deals
* Some taxes, fees additional