Sign Up
Newsletter Signup
Free Fodor's Newsletter

Subscribe today for weekly travel inspiration, tips, and special offers.

Fodor's Weekly: Your expert travel wrap-up
Today's Departure: Your daily dose of travel inspiration (coming soon)

Venice Restaurants

Al Mascaron

Updated 11/14/2013

Fodor's Review

At the convivial, crowded Al Mascaron, with its paper tablecloths and informal atmosphere, you'll likely find locals who drop in to gossip, drink, play cards, and eat cicchetti at the bar—but there are also plenty of travelers who return again and again to take advantage of the food and the hospitality. You can count on delicious fish, pasta, risotto, and seafood salads. Locals complain that the prices have become somewhat inflated, but grudgingly admit that the food

is good.

Read More

Restaurant Information

Address:

Calle Lunga Santa Maria Formosa, Castello 5225, Venice, 30122, Italy

Map It

Phone:

041-5225995

Restaurant Details:

  • No credit cards
  • Closed Sun. and mid-Dec.–mid-Jan.

Updated 11/14/2013

Advertisement

Map View

Map of



What's Nearby

  • Hotels
  • Restaurants
  • Sights

See all restaurants in Venice

Fodorite Reviews

Average Rating

By sturmi

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Nov 10, 2007

Tourist trap

This place is listed in too many guidebooks: the service is arrogant, they like to serve either wrong dishes or ignore the order of "uno per due". Summary: The quality is average, and the price for some dishes is obscene... Of course the same holds true for Alle Testiere, but this is another story. And at Alle Testiere fortunately you never get a table without reservation, so you could easily miss this trap.

By greg

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Apr 17, 2006

Good food but an even better wine bar nearby

Our hotel concierge had to work the phone to book us a table at Al Mascaron. On the whole it was worth it. Service was no more than servicable. Waiters adequately friendly but obviously concerned to pack in as many people as quickly as possible throughout the evening. Kid friendly though. The antipasti were great. We went for the sea food platter for two at 60euros: not a lot of food (for two)but tasty. Recommend a litre of cheap and cheerful house

white to wash it down. The real find of the evening was a little wine bar "Enoteca Mascareta" 10 seconds walk from Al Mascaron in same alley. Great eccentric and firendly service; fabulous wine and a huge platter of ham and cheese to nibble with your drink. Enjoy.

Read More

By Bill

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Mar 10, 2005

Warning on tourist trap

We ate at al mascaron in March 2005 and were definitely not impressed. The waiter didn't bring what we ordered and the kitchen took a long time to replace it with the correct order. The open wine was not better than average and the food was really 'nothing to write home about.' The atmosphere is original and that's about it.

By Clyde

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Nov 15, 2004

Fish is it

Only fish, but it is good. Decor is simple, restaurant bustles, no credit cards. Food was good. Good choice early in a stay to get a sense of "classic" Venetian cooking.

By Lin

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Oct 26, 2004

Where Locals Eat

I visited some Venetian friends and they took me here. It was awesome. My feeling is that when you are on vacation you should only think about the quality of the food and the atmosphere. I honestly don't remember the service or value. It must not have been bad. But I remember the food and feeling of the place was wonderful.

By Richard

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jun 16, 2004

The Best Seafood Pasta in La Serenissima!

Yes, it is a tiny and unpretentious place that does not take Credit Cards but we truly had the best pasta ever anywhere on earth in this simple, rustic restaurant. We couldn't recommend it higher for truly delicious peasant food--peasants who eat extremely well that is.

By Anthony

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

May 26, 2002

Quids in with Squid's Ink

We have just come back from Venice. Last time we went to Al Mascaron and had a great meal. OK we had to wait in their bar down the road until our table was free, but the squid cooked in its own ink was so good that we determined to return there at the first opportunity. Then we saw the review below and decided against it on this occasion. What a mistake. Two members of our group went and had a great time. Conclusion? Everyone has a bad experience

now and again, but the good uns stay good. Go there and try the quid - it's excellent.

Read More

By George

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Apr 12, 2002

forget it

We were told we had to be there by 7.30pm and they could not do 8.00pm. We arrived at 7.45 and the place was only 1/2 full, we waited 15 minutes before being given a menu, service was poor and the food moderate, the house wine, all they have, is ridiculously overpriced. They are living on past reputation. Poorest experience in our 14 days in Italy. Forget it!

By Les

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Apr 5, 2002

Great local feel

Very lively atmosphere where you share a table with others. Mixed seafood pasta was excellent and the prices were quite reasonable.

By stephen

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Sep 26, 2001

Fab, fun, child friendly and wonderfully messy

Fab sea food pastas, antipastos and salads you won't forget, gracious hosts, comfortable and relaxed atmosphere, festive, clatter and chatter, very good wines, and i'll go back again and again.

Show All

Add Your Own Review

When did you go?

Minimum 200 character count

How many stars would you give?

Food

Décor

Service

Value

Advertisement