Sign Up
Newsletter Signup
Free Fodor's Newsletter

Subscribe today for weekly travel inspiration, tips, and special offers.

Fodor's Weekly: Your expert travel wrap-up
Today's Departure: Your daily dose of travel inspiration (coming soon)

Venice Restaurants

Fiaschetteria Toscana

Updated 11/14/2013

Fodor's Review

Contrary to what the name suggests, there's nothing Tuscan about this restaurant's menu. It was formerly a Tuscan wine-and-oil storehouse, and it's worth a visit for its courteous service, fine, but essentially conventional, no-surprises cooking, and ample cellar. The owners, Albino and Mariuccia Busatto, make their presence felt as they walk among the well-appointed tables, opening special bottles of wine and discussing the menu. Gastronomic highlights include a light

tagliolini neri al ragù di astice (thin black noodles served with a delicate lobster sauce), and zabaglione.

Read More

Restaurant Information

Address:

Campo San Giovanni Crisostomo, Cannaregio 5719, Venice, 30121, Italy

Map It

Phone:

041-5285281

Restaurant Details:

  • Credit cards accepted
  • Closed Tues. and 4 wks in July and Aug. No lunch Wed.
  • Reservations essential

Updated 11/14/2013

Advertisement

Map View

Map of



What's Nearby

  • Hotels
  • Restaurants
  • Sights

See all restaurants in Venice

Fodorite Reviews

Average Rating
  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Oct 17, 2008

Oh well, it's Venezia after all.

They simply don't like tourists - and who can blame them? I have yet to have an outstanding meal at any price. The Fiaschetteria was typical in the genuine lack of interest in the diner. Roberto, the waiter was very pleased with his English. His attitude to those of us for whom English is our Mother tongue was extremely condescending. I asked for a description of the fish and was coldly given a menu in English. Fish was sold by the gram for a

total of about 30 euros per fish. Served without artifice - we are not in France. Pomodoro di bue which turned out to be a salad of chopped sweet tomatoes and nothing else - 9 euros. Waiter asked if I wanted a cappuccino after dinner - isn't this practically an insult? Entire dinner - 70 euros, no wine,no pleasure. Vowed to stick with pizza in the future - maybe with sardines as a salute to the sea.

Read More
  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

May 20, 2008

Delicious, but you pay for it

My husband and I both had excellent meals, and our waiter was helpful and patient with our indecision. Fish was fresh and well prepared. I loved my fried zucchini flowers! The prices, however, were more than expected.

By sturmi

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Nov 10, 2007

One of the few gems ...

We recently visited twice: On the first evening a group of 10 US physicians was at the next table: It was depressing how little interest the head waiter Roberto found when he explained in fluent English the Venetian delicacies such as cicale di mare or schie con polenta. He also recommended without success to share a bistecca fiorentina between three or four. I am sure the party will report back home that the tuna mousse and the lamb racks were

nice but unspectacular... Two days later we returned to try the fiorentina. We first had crudi di pesce, schie con polenta and sogliolette in saor, before the waiter proudly presented the 620 g bistecca. It was so soft and tasty, it almost saved a trip to Florence ! We could not eat any of the dolce afterwards, just a few biscotti to espresso and grappa. Summary: if in Italy, eat like the Italians. Let yourself be helped by waters who show interest and love for food.

Read More
  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Sep 16, 2007

Don't ask for butter.

We have come to really laugh about our dining experiences in Venice. It's clear they don't like tourists, so you might just ask your Concierge to recommend a place that doesn't mind you're not speaking Italian. Everything started out very nicely, as we were seated, and the waiter took our orders and offered to answer questions (my father usually had several). However, once my dad asked for "butter" to go with the bread, the service really went downhill.

I later ended up asking our Concierge and our tour guide whether that was an insulting proposition in Italian restaurants, as we certainly didn't want to offend anyone, but it seemed to illicit some rude behavior in more than 1 restaurant. I was told it was no problem to ask this. In any event, our waiter didn't make eye contact with us again, and it was very difficult to get his attention. I was sure this was intentional, as this was a very small restaurant. No butter ever grazed our table, despite the agreements to bring it. The dessert order was wrong, and we left feeling like we had just imposed on someone. I'd go somewhere else.

Read More

By Kae

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Dec 30, 2005

Exellent Italian ristorante.

It's worth to try their Venetian fish dishes, and also their wonderful tiramisu which has dramatically changed my image of this Italian sweet.

By Dennis

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jul 13, 2004

This restaurant is a winner

My wife and I both enjoyed this restaurant. We actually ate there twice during our recent stay in Venice. Varied menu, very good risotto and pasta, and the fish was fresh and well prepared.

By Dean

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Dec 4, 2001

Our absolute fave in Venice

I had posted about fiaschetterie long ago and made a typo on the value score. Since then we ahve returned numerous times so I feel free to re-rate it. Roberto is the key here. Yeah hes pushy but I have never met a more knowlegable waiter. He blows me away with his tips, weather its to not use lemon on the prefectly fried Moeche (soft shell crabs that look like spiders are are jam apcked with creamy roe) or the recomendation for 2 wines one night

that both blew me away for their intensity of flavor and richness. I have been in the food and wine business for almost 30 years and my experiences at Fiaschetteria Toscana have been highlights because of Roberto's willingness to make reccomendations. Let me also rave about the cheese course. ROberto pick cheeses from tiny farms that still hand make them. This is the best cheese offering I have ever seen in Italy. Highlights of 5 past meals: Roasted eel for 2 razor clams Spider clams Fried Soft shells and tiny Monkfish Cheese Dal Forno Romano Valpolicella Maso Poli Traminer Roberto Cheese!

Read More

By Joelle

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Aug 27, 2001

Always excellent.

A new trip to Venice and another dinner in this restaurant. Food is always excellent and the choice is large. Service was efficient, although a bit "rushing" (Venitian restaurants like to close early...).

By Roland

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Aug 8, 2001

Not only fish...

After some days in Venice, it can happen that you are tired of eating fish, fish again and only fish. Then, this is the right place. Beside very good fish, they also serve exceptionnal beef, the "chianina", coming from Tuscany ( that' s the single relation with their name, as the place was originally a store in which tuscan wine and oil were bottled ). Very good wines (take the "Gambellera"), exceptionnal "spaghetti alle vongole" and this beef...At

lunch it is not too crowded.

Read More

By elaine

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Apr 12, 2001

Nice food, shame about the service

Food here is truly exceptional and well presented, and the wine list complements it beautifully. However, good write ups in the guide books mean the place if full of Americans. Also the service was dreadful, managing to be slow, bossy and sycophantic all at the same time. It took us over 45 minutes just to get a drink, while our waiter painstakingly took everyone through each line of the menu and told them what to have. When a woman on the neighbouring

table dared to squeeze the lemon that had been provided as garnish over her soft shelled crab, the waitr leapt across the room to tell her off. At these prices, you could do without the humiliation. This same couple was subjected to the hugely unsubtle glare from the proprietor's wife when they dared to linger at their table after they'd paid their bill. Such as shame because the food is truly remarkable.

Read More

Show All

Add Your Own Review

When did you go?

Minimum 200 character count

How many stars would you give?

Food

Décor

Service

Value

Advertisement