Sign Up
Newsletter Signup
Free Fodor's Newsletter

Subscribe today for weekly travel inspiration, tips, and special offers.

Fodor's Weekly: Your expert travel wrap-up
Today's Departure: Your daily dose of travel inspiration (coming soon)

Venice Hotels

La Calcina

  • Dorsoduro 780 Map It
  • Casual Chic
  • Fodor's Choice

Pros

  • Panoramic views from some rooms
  • Elegant, historic atmosphere

Cons

  • Not for travelers who prefer ultramodern surroundings
  • No elevator
  • Rooms with views are appreciably more expensive

Updated 11/13/2013

Fodor's Review

Time-burnished and elegant rooms with parquet floors, original 19th-century furniture, and firm beds enjoy an enviable position along the sunny Zattere, with front rooms offering vistas across the wide Giudecca Canal; a few have private terraces. The hotel has been host to an array of notables, including art critic John Ruskin, who may have been attracted to the reasonable prices. A variety of apartments is also available. You can reserve the rooftop altana (wooden

terrace) for sunbathing or a private retreat, or enjoy an afternoon tea in one of the lounge's quiet corners with flickering candlelight.

Read More

Hotel Information

Address:

Zattere, Dorsoduro 780, Venice, 30123, Italy

Map It

Phone:

041-5206466

Hotel Details:

  • Credit cards accepted
  • 27 rooms, 26 with bath; 5 suites
  • Breakfast

Updated 11/13/2013

Book A Hotel

Advertisement

Map View

Map of



What's Nearby

  • Hotels
  • Restaurants

Fodorite Reviews

Average Rating
  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Apr 8, 2008

Definitely recommended

We (two couples) stayed at La Calcina in October 2007 after disembarking from a cruise. The location is superb. Handy for walking or taking the vaporetto anywhere. The staff were excellent, the rooms clean and bright and the dinner we had there the first night was decicious. Sunset from the roof top terrace was beautiful. Very good value and definitely recommended.

By ctoner

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Feb 10, 2008

Don't Hesitate To Stay Here

Although it has been a while, my husband and I stayed here for 2 nights on our honeymoon, back in 97. The hotel was lovely then, and according to what I here from other reviews, it still is. The hotel staff were very accomodating, even when the AC stopped working for a few hours during our stay. The room wasn't large, but clean and quiant. The location is terrific. You can catch a watertaxi very close by and when you have luggage, this is important.

Over the years, I have learned to pair down (luggage wise) but still a great place and wonderful location. The breakfast was awesome on the waterside patio.

Read More

By Barbara

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jul 13, 2005

EXCELLENT CHOICE

We stayed at La Calcina for two nights in June. Everything was excellent. the rooms were great (we were a party of four) I would recommend the water view if at all possible. The restaurant was very good, four star. The accomodations made our stay in Venice all the more memorable.

By Marcia

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jun 6, 2005

Stay at La Calcina for Location and Comfort

We stayed in one of La Calcina's suites a bit away from the hotel the last week in May. It was very comfy with plenty of room and a decent size bathroom. A hairdryer that really works and plenty of hot water were extra pluses. The staff is very helpful and go out of their way to make sure your stay is a good one. Breakfast is quite good and eating it while sitting on their terrace was just grand. This was our third trip to Venice and we think

the Dorsodoro area is just the best!

Read More
  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jul 5, 2004

Best View in the World

We loved this hotel. Just look at their website and you will see why. We splurged for a room with a view of the Giudecca canal and it was worth every penny. The hotel staff was friendly, helpful and English speaking. The breakfast was substantial. Even the hotel restaurant served tasty food (and a great spot to relax in as well)! We would stay at this hotel again in a heartbeat.

By daria

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jun 2, 2004

Serene Oasis

My husband and I stayed at La Calcina last month and really enjoyed it. I would definitely stay there again. We had one of the small rooms without a view, so our rate was less expensive than most of the rooms here. The room was indeed small but, when we booked, La Calcina informed me of the exact proportions (without me asking) so there were no surprises. The room was clean, neat and comfortable. I would imagine that the larger rooms with a view

are wonderful. We found the service to be very courteous, professional and friendly here. They have internet access at the hotel. We also appreciated the fact that they did not charge very high prices for phone calls, as we had to make several regarding my lost luggage. . . . I thought the breakfast was very good for the price of the hotel. There were meats, cheeses, breads, yogurts, cereal, etc. They also have a wonderful breakfast room with a great view of the canal. I could eat breakfast in that room every day. You may also eat outside if the weather permits. We also enjoyed their lovely café on the water. We very much like this area too (Dosoduro) as it is off the tourist track, but still so close to so many things (Academia bridge, Academia museum, Peggy Guggenheim). At E 130.00 for a double in Venice, I found this to be an excellent value. Be sure to visit the wonderful gelato place just down the street. It was to-die-for.

Read More

By kenny

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jan 10, 2004

Home Swet Home

I had the opportunity to stay at this wonderful hotel on my last trip to Venice. I had two views of the water, which was a treat. I'm returning to Venice in February 2004. I can chose a 5 star hotel for 110 euro or the La Calcina for 91 euro. La Calcina wins hands down - no doubt!!

By Mike

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Sep 28, 2003

Venetian Gold

I took friends to La Calcina to celebrate my birthday and absolutely everyone was totally delighted with this charming hotel. I always stay there on visits to Venice because of its perfect position - near the Accademia on the newly refurbished Zattere waterfront overlooking the Giudecca in the quieter and less touristy Dorsoduro district. The spotlessly clean and cosy bedrooms are all individually furnished, those at the front with a splendid open

view, and the comfortable public areas are enhanced with antiques, fresh flowers and the day's newspapers. Breakfasts outside on the waterfront terrace (in fine weather) are a delight, and those of us who used the hotel's restaurant (or ate romantic dinners outside) were more than satisfied. The staff are all friendly and helpful. It's no wonder Ruskin stayed at this residence in his own day! I truly and honestly cannot recommend it more highly.

Read More

By Sherry

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Apr 12, 2003

Construction spoils the atmosphere

We had paid for the room with a view - and like a previous writer, were dissappointed to see large cranes parked right in front of the hotel. While the hotel is pleasant and the rooms are nice - the construction in front of the hotel was distracting. It also meant that the patio that you could see in pictures was closed as they worked right outside the front door.

By abbey

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Nov 10, 2002

best in venice

Stayed in September for 2 nights. View was breathtaking. Staff is extremely helpful and has the best breakfast of any hotel on our 3 week vacation. Also easy to get to. Follow directions in Rick Steves Italy.

By Lynley

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Aug 5, 2002

Convenient and charming

One of La Calcina's biggest assets, other than those listed by others in this column, is that the Alilaguna boat that goes directly to the airport stops virtually outside the door. It costs around 10 Euro pp. - a lot cheaper than a water taxi and very much more convenient than the ferries. We stayed 10 days and as someone else said, the breakfast is a little boring after a few days. But the staff are very helpful and what's more, I wasn't charged

room service when I sprained my ankle and couldn't make it down the stairs! I would rate it five for location too. Being sufficient distance from the nightmare ripoff Disneyland called St Marks Square as it is.

Read More

By Paul

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Feb 8, 2002

Beautiful Hotel in Venice

My wife and I stayed here on our Honeymoon and very much enjoyed the hotel. The rooms were small and cute, and the view was fantastic, it is just quite a ways from the train station or the airport, so if you have an early flight/train to catch then I wouldn't suggest staying here.

By eugene

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Apr 23, 2001

Who could ask for anything more?

After swearing to stay only at the Hotel Flora no matter how small or noisy the room, we now swear allegiance to La Calcina. All Hail! I almost begged them to charge us more.

Show All

Add Your Own Review

When did you stay?

Minimum 200 character count

How many stars would you give?

Room

Décor

Service

Value

Advertisement