Sign Up
Newsletter Signup
Free Fodor's Newsletter

Subscribe today for weekly travel inspiration, tips, and special offers.

Fodor's Weekly: Your expert travel wrap-up
Today's Departure: Your daily dose of travel inspiration (coming soon)

Venice Hotels

Metropole

  • Castello 4149 Map It
  • Luxurious Retreat
  • Fodor's Choice

Pros

  • Hotel harkens back to a gracious Venice of times past
  • Fine bar

Cons

  • One of the most densely touristed locations in the city
  • Rooms with views are considerably more expensive
  • Air-conditioning not completely reliable
  • Restaurant is very expensive

Updated 11/13/2013

Fodor's Review

Atmosphere prevails in this labyrinth of intimate, opulent spaces featuring classic Venetian decor combined with exotic Eastern influences: the owner—a lifelong collector of unusual objects—fills common areas and the sumptuously appointed guest rooms with an assortment of antiques and curiosities. The best rooms are up on the roof, where there are also two spacious terraces. Suites feature sparkling mosaic sunken baths, Fortuny fabrics, and other notable architectural

details.

Read More

Hotel Information

Address:

Riva degli Schiavoni, Castello 4149, Venice, 30122, Italy

Map It

Phone:

041-5205044

Hotel Details:

  • Credit cards accepted
  • 67 rooms, 13 junior suites, 9 suites
  • Breakfast

Updated 11/13/2013

Book A Hotel

Advertisement

Map View

Map of



What's Nearby

  • Hotels
  • Restaurants
  • Sights

See all hotels in Venice

Fodorite Reviews

Average Rating

By Barbara

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jun 16, 2004

I Love This Hotel

I just returned from my second stay at the Metropole - June 7 and 8, 2004. It's beautiful with a great location. I've stayed in a room on the Grand Canal and in the Angel Suite. Both rooms were wonderful. The staff was outstanding. I would not stay anywhere else in Venice.

By Howard

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Apr 10, 2004

Lovely hotel

We would recommend the Metropole to anyone traveling to Venice. It is nicely located and our adjoining rooms were both very large and comfortable. Waking up each morning to look out over the mist of the lagoon was lovely. The sounds of the boats in the morning was a bit disturbing but that's Venice. The staff was very friendly and helpful. Charming and a good value, at least in the off season when we went.

By Amy

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Oct 27, 2003

Very Venetian!

Traveling with my husband, our 3 year old son and my parents was great at the Metropole. We arrived by water taxi (70 Euros!), but it was well worth it since there were 5 of us and lots of luggage. We arrived at the water taxi entrance of the hotel and it was very charming. The hotel is beautifully decorated and is very lavish. The staff was perfect. We had a suite #337 and the connecting double room #339. This gave us plenty of room. The rooms

were lovely and had views of the gardens below. Dinner was spectacular and so was the service. We loved our breakfasts as well. Can't say enough about the hotel. The location is great as it is on the Grand Canal. It is easy to get lost in Venice, but the hotel is always easy to find. Just got back and the weather was cold and windy.

Read More
  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Oct 9, 2003

Not luxury by American standards!

Just spent four nights ( Sept. 17-20, 2003). After having read comments here about small room sizes, I e-mailed them asking for a reasonably sized room. Upon arrival, the assistant manager greeted us and offered us a choice of two rooms - one a one bedroom suite( very elegant but quite dark), the other a "junior suite", i.e. a larger than standard room at the end of a hall. We opted for the latter (#175, I think) because it was beautifully bright

and had windows on two sides over the canal and garden. It also had a large glass and marble shower stall - which leaked throughout our stay despite my letting them know about it. But I could see that the standard rooms were not large. Even our "suite" had no writing desk, only one phone, and standard bathroom amenities. There was no evening turn down service on either of the last two nights. Linens and appointments were very high quality. Breakfast was lovely - but for their prices it seemed unreasonable to charge extra for eggs! Finally, we left our car in their free garage. Their web-site provides no instruction as to how to do this. You have to stop your car at the gate to the parking garage, walk into the Internat'n'l Rent-a Car office and let them know you're there. They then come out and take the car from you. There are illegal water-taxi people soliciting at the car park. If you want an official ( and cheaper) water taxi, you have to walk to the public wharf for Piazzale Roma. And you have to ask at the hotel for a coupon entitling you to free parking. Oh yes, the front desk staff were generally disinterested and unavailable. Whenver we came in for the room key, they would invariably ignore us unless we loudly shouted out the room number. I don't know that any other hotels in Venice provide any better value.

Read More

By Don

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Apr 12, 2003

Magnificent, Magical, Musical, Marvellous METROPOLE

Arrived at 11pm by water taxi to the Metropole's private canal entrance...porter immediately took our luggage. We were celebrating our Silver Wedding and the hotel staff made sure everything was special. Service was perfect...not in your face stuff, but very efficient when required. Hotel decor was first class. We stayed in the Angel's junior suite...wow!! Cherubs, stars, antiques. Sumptuously decorated, warm, intimate, cozy. We met some American

friends and suggested they came for breakfast, they were in awe of the place. Position is brilliant, just far enough to be away from the crowds but near enough to stroll to San Marco, Bridge of Sighs etc. The breakfast staff were very charming and always had a smile. I can't wait to return to this magical place later this year. We won a 2 night break in the hotel lottery which is drawn every day for those that put drinks and food on the room. I cannot recommend this place highly enough. Look at their website (www.hotelmetropole.com) this will give you an idea of the class of this wonderful hotel. Faultless!! P.S. try the Conca D'Oro restaurant just off St marks Square...outstanding value!!

Read More

By Lee

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jun 24, 2002

Definite winner

We liked most aspects of this hotel -- great location, room was clean, comfortable and reasonably quiet (nothing special otherwise), nice atmosphere, convenience of private water taxi dock. Also thought the breakfast was one of the best in Italy -- bread was the weak point as noted in review below, but the meats, cheeses, yoghurt, salad and fruit selection & quality was outstanding and coffee was very good. High price was biggest negative, but the

location made it worth it and we would stay again.

Read More

By George

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Apr 12, 2002

repeat visit

My wife and I have just spent 4 days here and it could not have been better, lovely room with great view of canal, breakfast fine and the bar fun in the evening. Enzo on the front desk looked after all our needs on a friendly and professional manner.Now if the porter would only help with the luggage to the public ferry to the airport (a distance of 50 metres and $9) life would be perfect! We will certainly return. Thanks Metropole!

By Jean

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Aug 17, 2001

Marvelous Metropole

My daughter and I just returned from a trip to Italy, our last stop was in Venice for three nights at the Metropole Hotel. This is a very nice place to stay, and is in a very good location. The staff was friendly. On Sunday, the hotel had a private vaporatto to Murano and took us to a nice glass place. I highly recommend this hotel.

By Rita

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Aug 9, 2001

Buon giorno, Venezia!

I called this from our window overlooking the Grand Canal each morning of our 3 day stay at the Metropole!The staff was very kind and helpful, especially when our 14 yr. old son's suitcase was lost by the airline! The room was spacious and lovely, the location is fabulous as is the breakfast buffet and wait staff. I would return in a minute and we've just returned 2 days ago!

By Carol

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jun 10, 2001

Enchanting Venezia!!

We were just there at the end of May and were enchanted. While the room was not particularly spacious it was clean with good beds and overlooked a side canal. The staff overall was friendly and helpful-especially at the breakfast buffet. They were delightful and a pleasure to be greeted by each morning. The location is ideal for any activities you might have planned. I highly recommend it!!

By Laurie

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Dec 3, 2000

A pleasant experience!

We stayed here for 4 nights toward the end of October. Though we'd requested a double room, we were given a junior suite (perhaps because of the time of year(?). The room was large, had its own sitting area, lovely antiques, and a big marble bathroom. The breakfast buffet (included)is quite good - something for everyone. The service is friendly. The location is good - on the Grand Canal, a little away from the crowds. We would definitely recommend

it.

Read More

Show All

Add Your Own Review

When did you stay?

Minimum 200 character count

How many stars would you give?

Room

Décor

Service

Value

Advertisement