Sign Up
Newsletter Signup
Free Fodor's Newsletter

Subscribe today for weekly travel inspiration, tips, and special offers.

Fodor's Weekly: Your expert travel wrap-up
Today's Departure: Your daily dose of travel inspiration (coming soon)

Umbria and the Marches Hotels

Hotel San Luca

  • Via Interna delle Mura 19 Map It
  • Local Flavor
  • Fodor's Choice

Pros

  • Very helpful staff
  • Peaceful location

Cons

  • Outside the town center
  • A long walk to the main sights

Updated 12/05/2013

Fodor's Review

Hand-painted friezes decorate the walls of the spacious guest rooms, and elegant comfort is the gracenote throughout—you can sip afternoon tea in oversize armchairs by the fireplace, or take a walk in the sweet-smelling rose garden. The service is very gracious, and the attention to detail includes a generous selection of up-to-date magazines for your reading pleasure. The staff will give you route maps or help you book a guided bicycle tour. Enjoy an ample breakfast

buffet, including homemade cakes, served in a cheerful room facing the courtyard.

Read More

Hotel Information

Address:

Via Interna delle Mura 19, Spoleto, 06049, Italy

Map It

Phone:

0743-223399

Hotel Details:

  • 33 rooms, 2 suites
  • Breakfast

Updated 12/05/2013

Book A Hotel

Advertisement

Map View

Map of



What's Nearby

  • Hotels
  • Restaurants
  • Sights

See all hotels in Umbria and the Marches

Fodorite Reviews

Average Rating

By Sharon

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Sep 16, 2005

Straight off the street into a friendly family home

Stayed here for 3 nights last week and loved the hotel. Easy to find if you don't arrive when the annual 2 day fair has taken over the street. Amazing to get car parking in a garage attached to the hotel. Hotel run by a family obviously very proud of their business - happy to answer any questions. Lovely homely lounge area - met other guests and had drinks at night - restaurant recommendations all perfect. Particularly liked Otseria del Trivia.

Lovely rooms with windows that open and big luxurious bathrooms. Very quiet. In the bottom street so everywhere you go is uphill and quite steep. Disappointed in the breakfast and notice that we are the only ones who were - maybe because not many people around. Not a lot of choice and quite boring - packaged biscuits! Felt like business was a bit slow.

Read More

By Jeff

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jul 10, 2004

Great experience

I am a Delta Airlines pilot and have travelled all over the world. My experience at Hotel San Luca was awesome. I was treated as though I was family when I arrived at their quaint family operated hotel. The hotel has a warm, delightful atmosphere and decorated tastefully. The breakfast in the morning was very good and fresh, and their capaccino was the best I had while in Italy. My bed and room was extremely comfortable and, I also enjoyed

the fresh air through the windows and the view of their courtyard. Their location is a short walk to their adorable town. I can not say enough good things about my experience at Hotel San Luca.

Read More

By Denise

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jun 6, 2004

Gracious hospitality

We found Hotel San Luca, and especially Carlo, to be incredibly gracious, accommodating and helpful. This was the most comfortable and well run hotel we stayed in during our two week trip to Italy.

By Judy

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

May 2, 2004

Splendid San Luca

It's a family-owned hotel which provides comfortable, clean, spacious and beautifully decorated rooms!The bed was very comfortable and had Frette linens!They provide a delicious breakfast with home baked goods overseen by the owner's mother.We asked the owner for directions to the car rental office and she insisted on driving in front of us with her poodle so that we wouldn't get lost. We can't wait to go back!

By Beth

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Apr 12, 2004

keep driving

The Hotel San Luca is equivalent to a spartan bed and breakfast with poor service. The staff was surly, the rooms spartan at best and no food service other than a stale continental breakfast. The price of the rooms demand better service and quality.

By Sue

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Nov 13, 2003

Delight family business with mother and daughter in charge!

This hotel gets high marks for detailed care of their clients. The breakfasts were fresh and varied. Coffee was excellent. It was a wonderful place to explore the region from!

By Wayne

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Aug 27, 2003

Perfect!!

We just returned from a wonderful trip to Italy, four nights of which were spent at the Hotel San Luca. This was by far the nicest and most pleasant hotel stay of our entire trip. Ms Daniela Zuccari and her staff went out of their way to be helpful and the accommodations were perfect. This hotel is small enough to get to know the staff and they treat you like family (I spent one cocktail hour talking with Ms Zuccari-the owner-about Italian food

and wine). We will definitely return

Read More
  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Aug 5, 2003

Awesome!

My mother and I stayed at the Hotel San Luca at the beginning of June. After a horrendous train ride from Rome, we felt so relieved when we arrived at the hotel. We loved it the minute we walked in. The staff was warm and friendly and eager to help us. Our stay at the Hotel San Luca was the best part of our entire trip which included both Rome and Florence. The breakfast was just heavenly. I would recommend this hotel to anyone and wouldn't hesitate

to come back to visit again. I cannot think of one negative comment to say about the hotel at all.

Read More

By Don

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jun 6, 2003

All this and a garden, too!

Stayed at the San Luca for two lovely days in Spoleto. The staff could not have been sweeter or more accommodating. The room was incredible; large, immaculately clean, polished wood floors, great amenities. Then we opened the window/door and found the garden/patio waiting! The odor of roses was amazing. Breakfast has been mentioned by others below...freshly-baked cakes, fruit, freshly-queezed juice. All served overlooking another beautiful garden.

It is true that the walk from the San Luca into the central part of town is up-hill, but that's Spoleto! The town is built along the hillside. The walk is atmospheric, but not for those who don't want the exercise! Overall a great experience.

Read More

By natalie

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

May 26, 2003

Don't miss Grandma's Breakfast!

Boy can Grandma cook! Warm fresh pastries every morning. Lovely family owned hotel.

By Michael

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Oct 2, 2002

A real gem

My wife and I have just returned from three weeks in Italy, much of the time spent in Umbria. We stayed at some fine places, but the San Luca was far and away the loveliest of them all. Our room was large, spotless, and reasonably priced, with a patio opening on to a rose garden. The public rooms were airy and beautifully appointed, the included breakfast excellent. Most impressive was the kindness and consideration of the staff in this family

run hotel. When we asked for suggestions about dinner we were directed to a neighborhood trattoria where we had the best (and least expensive) meal of our trip. I would highly recommend the San Luca to any one planning a visit to Spoleto or looking for a welcoming base for exploring Umbria.

Read More

By Ken

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Nov 5, 2001

I'll Come Back on My Next Visit to Spoleto

San Luca's not perfect; for what you get the place is very cheap, which does come at a cost. As noted, the hotel is just barely inside the city walls of Spoleto, so all the historic stuff is uphill (although a modestly athletic person could easily make it up to the old aqueduct, at the far end of what there is to see in town, in 15 minutes by foot). If you have a decent map, e.g. not the one in the Michelin Guide, you could even walk here from the

train station since the distance is just over a km. and the terrain is flat (which would NOT be true of the more centrally located hotels, which would be very much uphill). I especially liked the breakfasts; the selection of homemade cakes and tortes were the best I've ever seen in Italy, including an incredibly expensive 5-star place I stayed in in Taormina on Sicily. The staff is helpful and attentive.

Read More

Show All

Add Your Own Review

When did you stay?

Minimum 200 character count

How many stars would you give?

Room

Décor

Service

Value

Advertisement