Sign Up
Newsletter Signup
Free Fodor's Newsletter

Subscribe today for weekly travel inspiration, tips, and special offers.

Fodor's Weekly: Your expert travel wrap-up
Today's Departure: Your daily dose of travel inspiration (coming soon)

Tuscany Hotels

Il Falconiere

Pros

  • Attractive setting in the valley beneath Cortona
  • Excellent service
  • Elegant, but relaxed

Cons

  • A car is a must
  • Some find rooms in main villa a little noisy
  • A bit fancy for the environs

Updated 12/04/2013

Fodor's Review

Accommodation options here include rooms in an 18th-century villa, suites in the chiesetta (chapel, or little church), or for more seclusion, Le Vigne del Falco suites at the far end of the property. Husband-and-wife team Riccardo and Silvia Baracchi run the show, serving an almost exclusively American and British clientele. Their restaurant's inventive seasonal menu includes pici alla carbonara con lo zafferano di Centoia e pancetta croccante (homemade thick

spaghetti with carbonara sauce), over which, if your heart desires, you can add shaved white truffles. Cooking classes and guided wine tastings are available, and a small shop sells estate-produced olive oil and wine.

Read More

Hotel Information

Address:

Località San Martino 370, 3 km (1½ mi) north of Cortona, Cortona, 52044, Italy

Map It

Phone:

0575-612679

Hotel Details:

  • Credit cards accepted
  • Hotel closed last 3 wks in Jan.–mid-Feb.
  • 13 rooms, 7 suites
  • Breakfast

Updated 12/04/2013

Book A Hotel

Advertisement

Map View

Map of



What's Nearby

  • Restaurants
  • Sights

See all hotels in Tuscany

Fodorite Reviews

Average Rating
  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Nov 14, 2007

Forget this one! Better days come and gone!

Stayed in one of this inn's "villa" rooms. Better stated as a farmhouse. Location is beautiful, but that's it. There are ten rooms with two hundred year old double doors in this farmhouse. Skeleton keys and rickety doors wake you up the entire night. No privacy, can hear people talk, cough and go to bathroom. At $270E($400U.S.D.) this was terrible. Snobby owners as well! Interior linen old.

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Dec 14, 2006

Our Tuscan paradise

My husband and I happened upon Il Falconiere 8 years ago while driving through Cortona, and we've made a point of going back every year. Hands down, it's our favorite place in all of Italy. The owners Riccardo and Silvia are charming and gracious, and it's wonderful to be greeted as family every time we return. We've stayed in every type of room category, but our favorite it the junior suite to the left of the chapel. The only thing that has changed

through the years has been the amount of demanding Americans who don't appreciate the wonderful slower pace of Italy!

Read More

By Anthony

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Sep 29, 2006

Beware the Beautiful Falcon

This hotel is truly lovely - the grounds are filled with fragrant roses & lavendar, and the charm of the old buildings is very appealing. During our 4 days there, however, there were a few problems that arose that have prompted me to write our first online review. We arrived at the hotel just in time for our 8:30 dinner reservation in the restaurant, I agree with other reviews that - while it is decent food - it is not worth the price. However, when

we then arrived at our suite, we were greet by several large black ants, on the bed and under the covers! No hotel management is available 11 pm so a waiter from dinner assumes front desk responsibility (one of the issues of a small property - lack of management at a late hour). The waiter was very helpful and sprayed the whole room with ant killer, but we slept in our clothes on top of the bed linens that night. The next day we complained to the front desk and the first reponse was "well were there millions of them?" Yikes. We persisted & were able to change rooms (across the hall) -- interesting that the next night we could hear our new neighbors in our first room complain on the phone and then the sound of bug killer being sprayed in their room minutes later. This may have been a seasonal insect problem, but we really felt like it hinted at the lack of ongoing maintenance on the property. Another big issue was after a day of heavy rain, the tap water in our bath and sink came out very dirty for 2 days ... and so we did not shower and used bottled water to brush our teeth and wash. How can I recommend a hotel where the sleeping & bathing facilities are inadequate - that's what a hotel is primarily for! There really are other options in the area. If you go, I wish you luck. But for me - as much as I really wanted to like the place - it is a no-return for us.

Read More

By John

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jun 30, 2003

Not Under The Tuscan Sun

My wife and I just visited Italy and had planned a 5 night stay at this property. Based on my past experiences at Relais and Chateaux and Relais locations, we were looking forward to our stay at the end of our two week vacation. To say that this property was a disappointment would be an understatement. One, the room we were assigned did not have functioning air-conditioning. At temperatures over 90F each day and a room rate of $400 per night, we

were expecting more. When we made the manager aware of this situation, they made an indifferent attempt to addesss the situation to no avail. Two, we had sent an e-mail a month prior to our arrival requesting dinner reservations at 8PM. This type of request is usually not even necessary at a Relais and Chateaux property but we did so just to be sure. Upon arriving at the hotel, we were told we had dinner reservations at 9PM. We showed the confirming e-mail and were seated at 8PM. However, our appetizer did not appear until 9:15PM. In addition, our desert was burnt and completely unappealing. It was far less than a gourmet experience. We encountered other issues too numerous to mention. When we indicated we were checking out after one night of no sleep in a humid and hot room, we were told we going to be held to the 5 night guarantee. We left anyway and ultimately, were charged for 3 nights. We found another location in Montepulciano at $100 less per night with far better room quality and service. As one of your other readers indicated, the service and attitude at Il Falconiere was indifferent at best. We have stayed at many of the finest hotels in Italy. This is not one of them.

Read More

By Julie

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Dec 10, 2001

A Tuscan Dream

Our experience at Il Falconiere was the perfect start to our honeymoon. Our room was spacious and beautiful (request a room in the chapel). The scenery was spectacular, the food was marvelous and the service was extremely professional. A wonderful, relaxing stay.

By Ralph

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Nov 26, 2001

Overrated, grumpy and frazzled

We had a new room 300 yds. from the main buildings, up a dusty trail, which we had to walk since they didn't allow cars to drive up to the rooms. Food excellant, service pretty good, but the overall feel was commercial. A minor disappointment. Front desk manager argued with me because she thought we were checking out a day early(we weren't), caught her error and never apologized.

Show All

Add Your Own Review

When did you stay?

Minimum 200 character count

How many stars would you give?

Room

Décor

Service

Value

Advertisement