Tours

Advertisement

Tours

Guided tours are a good option when you don't want to do it all yourself. You travel along with a group (sometimes large, sometimes small), stay in prebooked hotels, often eat with your fellow travelers (the cost of meals may or may not be included in the price of your tour), and follow a set schedule. Not all guided tours are an if-it's-Tuesday-this-must-be-Belgium experience, however. A knowledgeable guide can take you places that you might never discover on your own, give you a richer context, and lead you to a more in-depth experience than you would have otherwise. They may be just the thing if you don't have the time or inclination to make travel arrangements on your own.

Whenever you book a guided tour, find out what's included and what isn't. A "land-only" tour includes all your travel (by bus, in most cases) in the destination, but not necessarily your flights to and from or even within it. Also, in most cases prices in tour promotions don't include fees and taxes. You'll also want to review how much free time you'll have, and see if that meets with your personal preferences. Remember, too, that you'll be expected to tip your guide (in cash) at the end of the tour.

Even when planning independent travel, keep in mind that every province and city in Italy has tour guides licensed by the government. Some are eminently qualified in relevant fields such as architecture and art history and are a pleasure to spend time with. Lots of private guides have websites, and you can check the travel forums at fodors.com for recommendations (it's best to book before you leave home, especially for major destinations, as popular guides and tours are in demand). Once in Italy, tourist offices and hotel concierges can also provide the names of knowledgeable local guides and the rates for certain services. When hiring on the spot, ask about their background and qualifications—and make sure you can understand each other. Tipping is always appreciated, but never obligatory, for local guides.

Recommended Generalists

Abercrombie & Kent (800/554–7016. www.abercrombiekent.com.)

Maupin Tour (800/255–4266 or 954/653–3820. www.maupintour.com.)

Perillo Tours (800/431–1515. www.perillotours.com.)

Travcoa (800/992–2003 or 310/649–7104. www.travcoa.com.)

Andante (888/331–3476. www.andantetravels.com.)

Tauck (800/788–7885. www.tauck.com.)

Biking and Hiking Tour Contacts

Backroads (800/462–2848 or 510/527–1555. www.backroads.com.)

Butterfield & Robinson (866/551–9090 or 416/864–1354. www.butterfield.com.)

Ciclismo Classico (800/866–7314 or 781/646–3377. www.ciclismoclassico.com.)

Genius Loci Travel (089/791896. www.genius-loci.it.)

Italian Connection (0932/462–7911 Italy; 335/438–5712 Italy mobile. www.italian-connection.com.)

Culinary Tour Contact

Epiculinary (707/815–1415. www.epiculinary.com.)

Educational Programs

Road Scholar (800/454–5768 or 978/323–4141. www.roadscholar.org.)

Golf Tour Contact

Golf Italy (051/266277. www.golfitaly.com.)

Wine Tour Contacts

Cellar Tours (310/496–8061. www.cellartours.com.)

Food and Wine Trails (800/367–5348. www.foodandwinetrails.com.)

More Travel Tips

Advertisement

Trip Finder
Store
Guidebooks

Fodor's Italy 2014

View Details
Travel Phrases

Learn Italian phrases while you're on the go!

Download Now
Travel Deals
Forums