Sign Up
Newsletter Signup
Free Fodor's Newsletter

Subscribe today for weekly travel inspiration, tips, and special offers.

Fodor's Weekly: Your expert travel wrap-up
Today's Departure: Your daily dose of travel inspiration (coming soon)

The Italian Riviera Hotels

Cenobio dei Dogi

  • Via Nicolò Cuneo 34 Map It
  • Local Flavor

Pros

  • Location and setting are wonderful
  • Lovely pool and gardens
  • Private beach

Cons

  • Crowds make it seem overbooked in summer
  • Decor is a bit old-fashioned

Updated 04/10/2014

Fodor's Review

Perched majestically a step above Camogli, many of the rooms in the former summer palace of Genoa's doges have expansive balconies with commanding vistas of Camogli's cozy port. This is indisputably the best address in town. Aside from enjoying the lovely lounges, you can relax in the well-kept park, enjoy a game of tennis, or swim and soak in the sun.

Hotel Information

Address:

Via Nicolò Cuneo 34, Camogli, 16032, Italy

Map It

Phone:

0185-7241

Website: www.cenobio.it

Hotel Details:

  • Credit cards accepted
  • 103 rooms, 5 suites
  • Breakfast

Updated 04/10/2014

Book A Hotel

Advertisement

Map View

Map of



What's Nearby

  • Hotels
  • Restaurants
  • Sights

Fodorite Reviews

Average Rating

By Mary

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Apr 11, 2006

Ah Michaelangelo!

We arrived on a sweltering day just to find the kitchen closing. The waiter, Michaelangelo, said "I prepare something for you" and created the most fantastic four course meal you've ever seen or tasted! The views are a feast of brightly colored houses along the coastline and the town is lovely! The beach is spectacular and spacious and the pool is well positioned to enjoy the views. Absolutely recommend! Would go back in a second!

By Andrew

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jan 23, 2004

Not worth a journey, detour or even a stop!

While there are "reputable" travel services that will give kudos to this hotel and restaurant I have just (January 2, 2004) returned from Camogli where I spent a miserable night paying this establishment a criminal amount of money for a mediocre room (a la Motel 6) and for a very mediocre, uninventive meal!

By Julie

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Dec 12, 2003

Take Me Away!

Whenever I think of Cenobio dei Dogi, I think of luxurious surroundings, delicious food, spectacular view, and attentive and courteous service. I highly recommend it.

By Amy

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Oct 27, 2003

Spectacular location!

Traveling with my family through Italy and our stay at this hotel was wonderful. First, they have plenty of parking which is a treat in these small towns. The staff was polite and helpful. Our suite was plenty big for us and our three year old son. The view from our suite was amazing. The ocean and town is picturesque. Breakfast was substantial and included in the room rate. I recommend this spot.

By Stella

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Sep 30, 2003

Go for the view - not for the value

The best part of this hotel is the pool and the view. Rooms are average, and mine had a faint smell of body odor for my 3 day stay (and no, it wasn't from me.) Teeny tiny shower, no tub in otherwise lovely bathroom. Decor in the public areas is somewhat ecclectic, with antiques mixed with 70s design elements and cheap black and white prints. Agree with previous post about "private" beach. We were told by the attendant that one of the two beaches

was closed - despite the fact that all of the lounge chairs on the open beach were taken. The view from our room at sunset was unbeatable. Service at breakfast in the restaurant and at the front desk was average, bordering on indifferent. Overall, I have gotten much more for my money at the other 4 star hotels I have stayed in in Italy.

Read More

By Marsha

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Aug 21, 2003

The Doges of Genoa chose well!

We stayed in the older part of the hotel which was originally the Genoan Doges' summer retreat. We had a fantastic room with double windows and balcony overlooking the pool and the sea. The view was terrific. The staff were excellent - very polite and helpful in every way. Fantastic position and walking into Camogli was a five minute delight. The view of Camogli from the dining room was brilliant - the whole experience was delightful in every

way and can't wait to return.

Read More

By Gene

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jun 3, 2003

One of the Best Views in the Riviera

Great hotel and what a view! We enjoyed the service, the location, and the stunning sunsets over the water and nearby mountains. The hotel is great for anyone who is looking for a relaxing vista away from the stresses of urban life.

By Gillian

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jan 11, 2003

Close to heaven

I have stayed at this hotel several times on busines trips. It is a magical place. The sound of the waves crashing against the cliffs as you lie in bed, the wonderful town, the fabulous restaurants in town, and the great service. i am bring my husband here so he can see it for himself!!

By Jack

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Aug 31, 2002

Wonderful place to relax

We loved this hotel. The staff was great, and the town of Camogli is beautiful and unpretentious. We spent serene and memorable afternoons just hanging out by the sparkling pool or escaping the rain in the breathtaking beachside restaurant. If you are thinking of a trip to the Italian Riviera, this is a great choice.

By Brian

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

May 29, 2002

Great 4 Star Hotel

Spendid hotel set in the village of Comogli overlooking the ocean. Great ammenities and large rooms. Excellent choice of restaurants in the village. Nice pool and deck overlooking the beach and ocean. Be sure to request a water view room.

By David

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Nov 12, 2001

Beautiful View / Beautiful Hotel

The view from our room was perfect! It looked directly out over the water. We had four sets of double windows that opened up to make you feel like you were at sea. The town itself is one of prettiest in this part of the country. Camogli is as pretty as Portofino and a lot better value (although stuff is not cheap here either). We stayed in room 48 which was beautiful. The only real drawback was the breakfest which was pretty bad for a hotel at this

cost and there were not enough servers in the morning to get a cup of coffee without having to wait. In there defense it was the end of the season when we were there (which in my opinion is the time to go).

Read More

Show All

Add Your Own Review

When did you stay?

Minimum 200 character count

How many stars would you give?

Room

Décor

Service

Value

Advertisement