Sign Up
Newsletter Signup
Free Fodor's Newsletter

Subscribe today for weekly travel inspiration, tips, and special offers.

Fodor's Weekly: Your expert travel wrap-up
Today's Departure: Your daily dose of travel inspiration (coming soon)

The Amalfi Coast, Capri, and Naples Restaurants

Lo Guarracino

Updated 12/12/2013

Fodor's Review

In a supremely romantic setting, this partly arbor-covered, poised-on-a-cleft aerie is about the most idyllic place to enjoy lemon pasta and a glass of vino as you watch the yachts come and go. Set a few steps above Positano's prettiest seaside path, the terrace vista takes in the cliffs, the sea, Li Galli islands, Spiaggia del Fornillo, and Torre Clavel. The super-charming backroom arbor, beneath thick, twining vines, where tables are covered in cloths that match the

tint of the bay, is the place to sit. Fine fish specialties are top delights on the menu. The day's catch is often cooked, with potatoes, in the wood-fired pizza oven, which gives it a distinct flavor.

Read More

Restaurant Information

Address:

Via Positanesi d'America 12, Positano, 84017, Italy

Map It

Phone:

089-875794

Restaurant Details:

  • Closed Jan.–Mar.

Updated 12/12/2013

Advertisement

Map View

Map of



What's Nearby

  • Hotels
  • Restaurants
  • Sights

See all restaurants in The Amalfi Coast, Capri, and Naples

Fodorite Reviews

Average Rating
  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jun 28, 2011

Lo Guarracino Review

My family of 9 and I spent 6 nights in Positano and this was one of our favorite places. The food with inexpensive and great! Authentic italian cuisine and the staff was very friendly and helpful. House wine also great!

By ggmia99

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

May 28, 2008

Amazing Local fare in this hideaway

Raised above the coast offering incredible views, the food speaks for itself. Must start off with the brick oven foccacia, then, the fresh pasta of the day topped off with their chilled glass of Limoncello. Service is simply amazing - gotta love the locals! Perfect location for a sunset dinner every night or a few cocktails!

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Feb 16, 2008

Views to die for!!!

Talk about idyllic--a picture I saw of the place before my husband and I went to Italy 7 years ago sealed my desire to head to Positano. No other restaurants in the coast--even the super lux ones-- compared to the romantic setting and moderate prices. I can still remember walking the pathway and just around the bend, lay my eyes to the place. Sigh. By the way, even locals don't know about the place. So it will be just like your own little discovery.

By Gennaro

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jul 6, 2005

Best bang for the buck in Positano

Excellent position, very romantic, the lowest prices in Positano for seafood and the quality of the pizza and ingredients was superb. Not the best service in the world, but the atmosphere is so unique that no other restaurant in Positano beats it.

By Paul

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jul 23, 2002

Great Place to Grab a Pizza for Lunch

The walk to the restaurant and the view are amazing. It seemed pretty solid for a pizza lunch.

By William

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

May 8, 2002

Could not get served!

Would have liked to rate the food, but could not get served period. Ordered three times and then gave up. While we waited the hour we had a beautiful inexpensive view, though.

By Michael

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jul 17, 2001

Great food....TERRIBLE service

We were on our Honeymoon(2weeks in Italy). My fiance had pasta w/ basil & eggplant. She is still talking about it today. It was her best pasta dish of the whole trip. WORST service I've ever had, anywhere. 15 min to get a menu & they would only give us 1. It then took another 20 min. to get bread. It took over an hour to get the first plate of food. When finished we sat for over 30 min. waiting for check. I asked 3 dif. people 5 times for the check.

We had to get up & leave to finaly get the bill. Mom's in the kitchen while 2 sons w/ chips on there shoulders work the floor. Plastic tables and chairs is the reason I gave it a 4 for atmosph. But you feel like you are eating in a tree house right on the edge of a cliff with a beautiful view.

Read More

Show All

Add Your Own Review

When did you go?

Minimum 200 character count

How many stars would you give?

Food

Décor

Service

Value

Advertisement