Sign Up
Newsletter Signup
Free Fodor's Newsletter

Subscribe today for weekly travel inspiration, tips, and special offers.

Fodor's Weekly: Your expert travel wrap-up
Today's Departure: Your daily dose of travel inspiration (coming soon)

The Amalfi Coast, Capri, and Naples Restaurants

Cumpa' Cosimo

Updated 12/12/2013

Fodor's Review

Lustier-looking than most Ravello spots, Cumpa' Cosimo is run devotedly by Netta Bottone, who tours the tables to ensure her clients are content. Her family has owned this cantina for more than 75 of its 300-plus years, and she has been cooking under the arched ceiling for more than 60 of them. You can't miss with any of the classic Ravellian dishes. A favorite (share it—it's huge) is a misto of whatever homemade pasta inspires her, served with a fresh, fragrant

pesto. Meats, from Netta's own butcher shop next door, are generally excellent and local wines ease it all down gently. The funghi porcini mushroom starter is delicious and the house cheesecake or homemade gelato provide a luscious ending.

Read More

Restaurant Information

Address:

Via Roma 46, Ravello, 84010, Italy

Map It

Phone:

089-857156

Restaurant Details:

  • Sometimes closed Mon. in winter

Updated 12/12/2013

Advertisement

Map View

Map of



What's Nearby

  • Hotels
  • Restaurants
  • Sights

See all restaurants in The Amalfi Coast, Capri, and Naples

Fodorite Reviews

Average Rating
  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Aug 23, 2010

Cumpa' Cosimo Review

My husband and I visited this restaurant in early August. It just so happened that our taxi driver we hired for the day was going to take us here anyway, but we beat him to it! He made us a reservation a couple of hours before we got there (no problems). I took the advice of Fodor's and ordered the pasta house special, which is a plate with a little bit of all of their signature dishes. It was the perfect amount of each and i got to try all of them.

Delicious!! We started with the tomatoes and mozzarella which was also delicious. The owner really does walk around and mingle with all the guests. She brought us the lemon sorbet on the house for dessert. It was amazing...the perfect consistency and flavor all stuffed into a frozen lemon rind. Such a wonderful restaurant that I highly recommend!

Read More
  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Sep 18, 2006

Don't Believe the Hype

Went here our first night in Ravello. While the atmosphere is accurately described here, unfortunately, the food is not. We had a quite good antipaso appetizer, but it was nothing to write home about compared to the other food we had in Italy. Moved on to the pasta sampler (we split again) - had about 6tiny portions of different pastas and sauces, I thought only 1 was a knockout, the rest I thought I could have made better myself. We followed

with the shrimp which I found totally unappealling. This and a bottle of wine was approx 120 Euro. The next night we went back for some late night pizza since we heard it was good, wasvery soupy and not good at all. Plus, as it was very late and we are American, Netta ripped us off for about 5 Euro. I can recommend much better places in Ravello to eat - the food here is simply nothing great.

Read More

By Bob

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Aug 29, 2006

2 times I've been, the first and the LAST

It's either we had a bad day or we've lost our enjoyment of good food. The owner suggested certain favorite dishes, which turned out to be less than palitable. After all the fan fare, what a total disappointment.

By Anthony

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Aug 26, 2006

Netta's Dishes are a Knockout!

Simply the best Italian restaurant in the WORLD! Indescribly delicious food and Netta is always there to make it happen! Enjoy!!

By Carl

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

May 16, 2006

From Venice to the Amalfi Coast

Yes, we were a party of four from Manhattan. Sorry, it was a bad experience for all of us. One person in our party got very sick after her lunch.

By Judy

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Feb 8, 2006

Nettie is a must in Ravello

You will feel like you are eating at a favorite aunt's home. When we arrived, we didn't get menus. Nettie told us what we were going to have that night. I had stuffed canneloni and my husband had sausage. Both were delicious. When we devoured what was on our plates, Nettie asked if we wanted seconds. Afterwards she brought us lemon sorbet and profiteroles for dessert. Then she insisted that we take freshly picked oranges from her garden with

us for breakfast the next morning. The next night we went back and felt like we were going home for dinner. Nettie was so friendly and the food was so good, we will never forget the experience. You can tell you are in a place filled with love. Nettie prominently displays a picture of herself with her father and proudly tells you that her family has been running the restaurant for 85 years. Nettie even has a papal blessing on display.

Read More

By David

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jun 13, 2005

A restaurant you won't soon forget

All the comments on Mamma's service and reccomdendations are true. While this is not a gourmand's destination, the family serves great "casalingua", that homecooked meal that you talk about for months after you've returned home to anyone who might even look toward Italy. Good seasonal dishes. They have a great pasta sampler platter which gives you a substantial taste of 5-6 of their pasta dishes. It can easily be shared, which will allow you to

try a "secondo" or two. We celebrated a friend's 40th birthday here and received a bottle of sparkling wine which Mamma herself opened, showing us with spumante and great memories.

Read More

By Doug

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Apr 8, 2005

Like Being in your Italian mother's kitchen even if you arent Italian

Very friendly staff and wonderful authentic Italian food and atmosphere. Donna Netta welcomes you like the Italian mother you never had. Have one of everything, but look out, Donna Netta will think you didnt enjoy if you dont finish your plate !

By Jane

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jan 31, 2005

The real thing

Mama Nettie ordered fo rme and the pepper she stuffed with vegetables from her garden and cheeses was the envy of every one at the table. The homemade sausage that accompanied it was also extraordinary. So was the house wine. A wonderful lunch and our best meal in Italy!

By Nicole

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jun 28, 2004

Fabulous and authentic

We went to this restaurant in September 2003, on our first night in Ravello. It was also our first night in Italy, and we wanted some real, hearty Italian fare. This place delivered. Mama Nette was there, and she personally took our order. Actually, we did not order at all. We asked her what she recommended, and then she took the menus away and started bringing food. The only problem was we didn't pace ourselves enough because we didn't know

what (if anything) was coming next. My poor boyfriend (now my husband) literally made himself feel sick from eating too much that night! But is was all delicious- wonderful fresh pastas with cheese and meat fillings, wonderful pork and veal entrees, salads, dessert, etc. And the whole feast was less than $60, with a couple carafes of wine. It was raining, and at one point the electricity went out in the restaurant. Before long, the waiters had the entire dining room lit with candles. It was very romantic, with the candles, the storm outside, and all the lucky diners inside who were in no hurry to go out into the weather. It made for a very long, relaxing evening and great atmosphere.

Read More

By BB

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Sep 26, 2002

Signora Netta is a Charmer

Went here for lunch while in Ravello - off the beaten path and quiet. The spaghetti pescatora was very good. Signora Netta oversees everything, and when we did not order dessert, she brought a plate of fresh fruit to our table that she assured us was from her garden.

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Aug 25, 2002

Now THAT'S Italian

This is what I dreamed Italy would be: a charming little family run place with wonderful food. Cumpa Cosimo screams authenticity and was a welcome retreat from the touristy Positano places we'd been eating. The antipasti mista (I think that's what it was called) was a melange of grilled and roasted vegetables like eggplant, peppers, and what appeared to be okra that was heavenly. Definitely worth the trip up the mountain!

By Ian

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jun 8, 2002

A Gem in the Alleys of Ravello

The atmosphere was true village Italian with an authentic mamma ruling the restaurant. She was delighted when I asked to take her picture and gave me a free Sambuca to end a perfect meal. My veal ai limone was sublime.

By lisa

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Sep 10, 2001

Get the pasta special!

We ordered the pasta del giorno -- 7 different pastas in 7 different sauces -- to die for! Service was brusque. Prices are reasonable for the quality of the food. Liked the house red wine.

By Mel

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Sep 10, 2001

Pasta Perfetto!

This was our 2nd visit, as we enjoyed it so much the first time. Again, we weren't disappointed. After two weeks eating in restaurants on the Amalfi coast, we believe that pasta does not get any better than this. Ok so the waiter service was just adequate but the mamma in charge rules and makes this restaurant the special experience that it is - visiting every table, talking to all the patrons, making sure everything is "tutto bene" and even providing

us with complimentary fruit to finish. And for Ravello, we thought it was a fair price. Even the rich snotty tourists at the next table couldn't spoil it.

Read More

By Angela

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jul 25, 2001

The "real" Italy

Our Amalfi Coast guide recommended the restaurant. Completely charmed by the ambiance and hostess and in love with the food. Best gelato we had in Italy!

By Asa

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jul 20, 2001

Loved it so much our first night, we came back to Ravello for more!

Wife and I honeymooned in Amalfi and went to Ravello for dinner and music one night. Our concierge and our driver both recommended Cumpa Cosimo. We loved the fresh pasta, the cozy atmosphere, and finally eating some REAL Italian food. Netta was the perfect hostess. We enjoyed it so much, we trekked back to Ravello the next day and ate there again. This restaurant is a must for anyone going near Ravello.

Show All

Add Your Own Review

When did you go?

Minimum 200 character count

How many stars would you give?

Food

Décor

Service

Value

Advertisement