Sign Up
Newsletter Signup
Free Fodor's Newsletter

Subscribe today for weekly travel inspiration, tips, and special offers.

Fodor's Weekly: Your expert travel wrap-up
Today's Departure: Your daily dose of travel inspiration (coming soon)

The Amalfi Coast, Capri, and Naples Restaurants

La Capannina

Updated 10/23/2013

Fodor's Review

For decades one of Capri's most celebrity-haunted restaurants, La Capannina is near the busy social hub of the Piazzetta, and the discreet flower-decked covered veranda is ideal for dining by candlelight—or you can join the regulars in the outdoor covered area. Specialties, aside from an authentic Capri wine with the house label, are ravioli capresi and linguine con lo scorfano (flat spaghetti with scorpion fish), squid stuffed with caciotta cheese and

marjoram, and an exquisite "Pezzogna" (sea bream cooked whole in a copper casserole, topped with a layer of potatoes). The wine cellar is open for perusal, and their nearby gourmet store ships worldwide. The small late-night bar across the side alleyway is under the same ownership.

Read More

Restaurant Information

Address:

Via Le Botteghe 12b, Capri Town, 80073, Italy

Map It

Phone:

081-8370732

Restaurant Details:

  • Closed Nov.–mid-Mar. and Wed. in Mar. and Oct.

Updated 10/23/2013

Advertisement

Map View

Map of



What's Nearby

  • Hotels
  • Restaurants
  • Sights

See all restaurants in The Amalfi Coast, Capri, and Naples

Fodorite Reviews

Average Rating
  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Sep 19, 2010

La Capannina Review

Very ordinary. The food was fine but if you are looking for a scene, or a little ambiance, avoid this place. Very expensive and just OK. It receives so much attention in all the travel sites and books and I don't know why. I recognize it is difficult to find a REAL restaurant on this Island as it is under siege with tourists, but I've since scoped out 2 others that are better. I am a 40 something from Toronto, working in marketing, and enjoy

good restaurants, wine, etc...

Read More

By Madison

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jan 19, 2006

Agree with "Living in the past"

This place is surviving on its past glory (as you can see from the photographs plastering the walls). We found the decor tacky, the food average, the service rude. The only truly negative dining experience we've had in Italy.

By tommy

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jun 20, 2005

Half and half

My meal was great; my wife's was ordinary. I am rating my meal only.

By Arthur

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jun 1, 2004

The Best of Capri

My wife and I have travelled to capri on vacation for the last four years...This restaurant and its most gracious hosts(Antonio and Aurelia)simply put "are the best'. We were in Capri for 6 nights and dined at La Cap...all of them!!

By Paul

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Sep 16, 2003

Living in the past

Maybe this was once a place for jet setters but the photos of Ivana Trump on the wall did not impress. The photos give the impression that there is a garden of some sort but everything is enclosed. Service was fine, but nothing more. The food was better than expected and prices were a bit better than at other places on the island. If it's raining, not a bad choice.

By Bill

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jul 11, 2002

A Nice Surprise

After reading some less-than-ecstatic Fodor reviews of this restaurant, we were very pleasantly surprised by our experience at La Capannina. The host/owner was gracious and charming, the service was swift and smooth and the food was first rate. Soups and veggies were perfectly fresh, as was the seafood (of course). All prepared with care and imagination. We stayed at the Quisisana, but this was far and away our favorite Capri restaurant.

By Angela

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jul 25, 2001

Disappointed

Food was good, but the "important" people sitting behind us got all of the attention. Disappointed in the "garden room". Fantastic ravlioli. If you're a man, better wear a sweater over your shoulders to fit in. Least favorite dinner of our 4 night stay.

Show All

Add Your Own Review

When did you go?

Minimum 200 character count

How many stars would you give?

Food

Décor

Service

Value

Advertisement