Sign Up
Newsletter Signup
Free Fodor's Newsletter

Subscribe today for weekly travel inspiration, tips, and special offers.

Fodor's Weekly: Your expert travel wrap-up
Today's Departure: Your daily dose of travel inspiration (coming soon)

The Amalfi Coast, Capri, and Naples Hotels

Punta Tragara

  • Via Tragara 57 Map It
  • $$$$
  • Grande Dame
  • Fodor's Choice
  • Courtesy of Punta Tragara

  • Courtesy of Punta Tragara

  • Courtesy of Punta Tragara

  • Courtesy of Punta Tragara

  • Courtesy of Punta Tragara

  • Courtesy of Punta Tragara

2014 Hotel
Award Winner 2014

Pros

  • A taste of the good life
  • The entire staff seems to have graduated from the finest finishing schools

Cons

  • A 10-minute walk from the center
  • Some find the style dated, although others find it a plus

Updated 10/23/2013

Fodor's Review

The most beautiful hotel on Capri—originally a private villa designed by Le Corbusier and site of a secret wartime meeting between Churchill and Eisenhower—was opened in the 1970s by Count Manfredi. Clinging to the Punta Tragara, it has a breathtaking location over the famed Faraglioni rocks. Inside, baronial fireplaces, gilded antiques, and travertine marble in the main salons contrast with sumptuously cozy-casual guest rooms. The dreamy garden is a showstopper with

two pools, one (jet-powered) beside the idyllic arbor-covered restaurant, Monzù.

Read More

Hotel Information

Address:

Via Tragara 57, Capri Town, 80073, Italy

Map It

Phone:

081-8370844

Hotel Details:

  • Closed mid-Oct.–mid-Apr.
  • 27 rooms, 11 junior suites, 6 suites
  • Breakfast

Updated 10/23/2013

Book A Hotel

Advertisement

Map View

Map of



What's Nearby

  • Hotels
  • Restaurants
  • Sights

See all hotels in The Amalfi Coast, Capri, and Naples

Fodorite Reviews

Average Rating
  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Sep 19, 2010

Punta Tragara Review

I am here on the last day of my honeymoon and very sad to go. This place is absolutely everything I imagined as the once-in-a-lifetime splurge. Everything is as advertised in the Fodor's book / website. The grounds are magnificent, the food and service impeccable, and the rooms and views are just too great. NB: The pools are no longer saltwater, and the restaurant is named Monzu.

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jun 9, 2004

right on point!

We had a lovely room #31, which was a two room suite with a terrace overlooking the Faraglioni rocks. The staff could not have been more gracious and anticipated our needs with reservations and arranging travel. Breakfast was average, but lunch was delicious with a beautiful view. A great place to stay in Capri!

By Jackie

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Apr 30, 2004

View to remember lots to forget

My husband and I and our two boys stayed there for three nights in early June 2003 hoping to beat the heat for a few days after intenese sightseeing in Rome. I agree that the view from the hotel is vitually unmatched anywhere on the island. But the hotel itself leaves alot to be desired. The rooms can only be described as very average if not motel-like. Though the hotel advertises that it has air conditioning we found out for a fact that in some

rooms it simply doesn't work. (We had two rooms.) We asked several times for the air conditioning to be fixed and each time they assured it was fine leaving us to think we were the ones that had the problem. Finally the truth was revealed on our last day when we were checking out and overheard another man begging at the front desk for a room with real air conditioning because his wife didn't want to spend another night sleeping on bathroom floor which was the only cool place in their room! We thought our kids would enjoy the saltwater pool but frankly they didn't. A saltwater pool is not very refreshing when its hot outside and it burned everyones eyes. We were all red-eyed from the pool; it made us look like we had been binge drinking.

Read More
  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Nov 9, 2003

Our Faraglionis

One of the most beautiful hotels in one of the most beautiful settings. Our room in the main hotel as requested (based on some of the previous comments) had a wrap around balcony with two sets of French doors looking out on the famous Faraglioni in one direction and along the Capri coast in the other. We had a memorable picnic dinner on the balcony after spending the afternoon in town selecting the picnic food and wine in little shops. Our balcony,

as well as many others in the hotel, seemed to offer the best views on the island. One word of caution - be sure to follow the hotel's directions and contact them with your ferry arrival time so they can meet you and take your luggage. Otherwise, it's a taxi ride to Capri and then lugging the luggage out the Via Tragara to the hotel at the end of the point. It's not a long walk unless you are dragging your luggage. They offer the service and are very nice about arrangements. We took advantage of it when we left after learning the hard way. (not the hotels fault). After checking out several other hotels in our wandering around the island we would only stay at the Punta Tragara if we return to Capri.

Read More

By greg

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Aug 3, 2003

No wonder Eisenhower and Churchill stayed here

We absolutely emjoyed staying at the Hotel. The service was excellent, the room was incredibly beautiful. Fortunately we stayed in the hotel. The two pools were great. The proximity to the beach was quite convenient. This was first class all the way. The only hiccup was the food. I rated that a 7.5.....

By Richard

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

May 28, 2003

Life's too short to eat bad Italian

Upgraded room with our feet in crystal clear blue water, eyes on Capri town, and only seagulls & moonlight to waken us. Walk through town at night on Via Tragara lined with jasmine and other fragrant flora lead to this charming hotel with friendly, attentive professional staff.

By Kyle

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Apr 22, 2003

Beatiful but Horrid Service

This place is definitely gorgeous and has the best views on the island. But the rooms out from the main hotel NEED to be renovated. There was no decor, the air conditioning worked. The front desk man did work to try to find us another room, but Capri in early June is booked solid, and there was no rooms. However I've been told that the rooms in the hotel are spectacular. Ask for those if you go. The restaurant is great and so is the view. I'd

go back, but I'd make sure I got a room that was part of the main hotel.

Read More

Show All

Add Your Own Review

When did you stay?

Minimum 200 character count

How many stars would you give?

Room

Décor

Service

Value

Advertisement