Sign Up
Newsletter Signup
Free Fodor's Newsletter

Subscribe today for weekly travel inspiration, tips, and special offers.

Fodor's Weekly: Your expert travel wrap-up
Today's Departure: Your daily dose of travel inspiration (coming soon)

The Amalfi Coast, Capri, and Naples Hotels

Hotel Palumbo

Pros

  • Impossibly romantic
  • Wonderful coastal retreat
  • Incredible Bay of Salerno views

Cons

  • With all this finery it can be difficult to relax
  • Restaurant closed from November to March

Updated 12/12/2013

Fodor's Review

This is the real deal—the only great hotel left in Ravello that's still a monument to the Grand Tour sensibility that first put the town on the map. Legendarily old-fashioned (originally a 12th-century palazzo), the Palumbo has long welcomed visiting somebodies: Wagner, who composed on the piano in the lobby; Bogart, filming Beat the Devil; a young Jack and Jackie Kennedy; Brad Pitt and Angelina Jolie, whose relationship blossomed while filming a scene (later deleted) from Mr. & Mrs. Smith here. Ancient marble columns, mosaic-tile floors, and museum-quality antiques create an elegant ambience, and innovative Continental cuisine is served in the gloriously gilded Confalone restaurant.

Hotel Information

Address:

Via S. Giovanni del Toro 16, Ravello, 84010, Italy

Map It

Phone:

089-857244

Hotel Details:

  • 10 rooms, 7 suites
  • Some meals

Updated 12/12/2013

Book A Hotel

Advertisement

Map View

Map of



What's Nearby

  • Hotels
  • Restaurants
  • Sights

See all hotels in The Amalfi Coast, Capri, and Naples

Fodorite Reviews

Average Rating
  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Nov 12, 2007

How did this place get a Fodor's Recommendation

We have just finished spending 4 nights at the hotel in November 2007. Genteel decay is one thing , actually allowing a hotel to go completely to seed is another. Facilities are decrepit , room rates are exorbitant for what you get. The almost entirely Sri Lankan (!!!) staff speaks no English .Most of the furniture is falling apart, water stains on ceilings are everywhere & our room had cockroaches !! Internet WiFi access requires you to sit within

5 feet of the front reception or else there is no signal. TV's in the rooms have no English channels at all . This place needs a complete makeover & some money spent on decor , furniture & facilities. Avoid !!!

Read More

By Judy

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Feb 3, 2006

Private Palace with a View

We just spent two nights at the Hotel Palumbo in January. In spite of the fact that we were the only guests in the hotel, service was exceptional. Unfortunately, the dining room was not open but the staff made sure that a local restaurant stayed open to serve us. When we accidentally left a package on the other side of town, they dispatched someone to retrieve it for us without our asking. Our room was beautiful with a private balcony and spectacular

view of the coast. We felt like we were staying in a palace with a private staff at our disposal. It is a short walk to the town square. We found everyone in the town of Ravello to be exceptionally friendly.

Read More

By Michael

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Nov 29, 2004

Wonderful Even in November

My wife and I spent Thanksgiving at the Palumbo. We were the only guests and Ravello was more quiet than usual however we could not have been happier with our stay. The room (a suite with an incredible view) and the town were wonderful. Well worth it.

By Basil

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

May 28, 2002

Impersonal and Overpriced

Far too expensive, less special and less personal than it used to be. Trading on reputation and the unbelievable views from Ravello. We went back for a special occasion because it was simply superb some years ago - but were disappointed to say the least.

By Patrick

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Feb 28, 2002

Stay Next Door at the Palazzo Sasso!

The Palumbo is clearly living off its past reputation. Our room, while tastefully decorated, was small and dark (despite the 1.4 million lira cost!). Service was horrendous--one couple missed their flight home because the front desk failed to make a wake up call; the front desk didn't give us back our passports when we left and then charged us to mail them to Rome.

Show All

Add Your Own Review

When did you stay?

Minimum 200 character count

How many stars would you give?

Room

Décor

Service

Value

Advertisement