Sign Up
Newsletter Signup
Free Fodor's Newsletter

Subscribe today for weekly travel inspiration, tips, and special offers.

Fodor's Weekly: Your expert travel wrap-up
Today's Departure: Your daily dose of travel inspiration (coming soon)

The Amalfi Coast, Capri, and Naples Restaurants

La Favorita—'O Parrucchiano

  • Corso Italia 71 Map It
  • Fodor's Choice

Updated 10/24/2013

Fodor's Review

This restaurant is in a sprawling, multilevel, high-ceiling greenhouse and orchard, with tables and chairs set amid enough tropical greenery to fill a Victorian conservatory. The effect is enchantingly 19th century. Opened in 1868 by an ex-priest ('o Parrucchiano means "the priest's place" in the local dialect), La Favorita continues to serve classic Sorrentine cuisine. The shrimp baked in lemon leaves, cannelloni, homemade Sorrentine pasta, chocolate and hazelnut

cake, and lemon profiteroles are all excellent, but they can't compete with the unique interior.

Read More

Restaurant Information

Address:

Corso Italia 71, Sorrento, 80067, Italy

Map It

Phone:

081-8781321

Restaurant Details:

  • Closed Wed. from mid-Nov.–mid-Mar.

Updated 10/24/2013

Advertisement

Map View

Map of



What's Nearby

  • Hotels
  • Restaurants
  • Sights

See all restaurants in The Amalfi Coast, Capri, and Naples

Fodorite Reviews

Average Rating
  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Dec 18, 2007

DON'T WASTE YOUR MONEY

This place is a food "mill." Very pretty and large garden setting at the top of the stairs so go in, go up, take a look, but don't eat here. We had a table in the corner so we could watch everything! There was no one seating people so people came in and looked confused and seated themselves. Very bad service. We could not get the waiter to bring the bill even though we asked, so we ended up going to the cashier where we complained about the service.

Food was mediocre; house wine swill.

Read More

By mom5fay

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Nov 25, 2007

can't understand why it is still recommended

Very touristy and impersonal and resting on its history of once being one of the best restaurants in Sorrento. It is an unusual garden like multilevel setting, but definitely one is treated like a tourist and not a guest and there is a "hurry up and pack'em in mentality" The food is very mediocre and not really fresh. It was our only negative dining experience in Italy. You won't find many local folks dining there, that is for sure.

By awatt

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Sep 6, 2007

Lovely place, very good food

Loveky atmospere. Large menu selection, good for families . Food was very good to excelelnt. Service very good, although waited a long time for my husband's steak. Reasonable prices for teh area

By Sue

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jul 31, 2006

T-O-U-R-I-S-T-Y !!!

Way to touristy to me !! The place was beautiful but too much - it just felt cluttered and dirty in there. My husband's Spinach Canneloni was burnt ! Won't go back.

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jul 26, 2006

Lovely atmosphere, may be resting on it's laurels a bit.

Fantastic restaurant, warm welcome, terrific food, quite reasonable for what you get. Great antipasti verdure (vegetable antipasti), amazing Polpetto (octopus). Pasta very good, although I liked the Caprese more than the Canneloni (which I usually adore) which I felt was overrated. Wide-ranging wine list, very reasonably priced (lots at 13e up to 240e if you choose). There are other restaurants whose food is probably as good, but the setting here

(you must sit in the garden) is terrific. 140e for 6 people, with 2 bottles of wine.

Read More

By Jack

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

May 18, 2006

A Must Miss

Just came back from two weeks in Italy and this was the only off experience we had. Food was mediocre. Our waiter was English speaking, overly friendly and intrusive. Despite the fact the menu clearly states a 15% service charge is added to all meals, he insisted when he brought the check that he saw none of that and requested a tip. Astonishing! We laughed at him and tipped nothing. He was angry, but sadly he gave the same spiel to the table of Americans

next to us and they did tip him. This guy is clearly the exception to the rule.

Read More

By Richard

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Apr 30, 2006

Best meal we had overall in 10 days in Italia!

We both had brown pasta dishes which were good both of the special menu one with meat from Naples and the other with quail. The atomsphere is quite uinque and very awsome. The vegetables were good and very econimcal as were the deserts. Thier must have been at lest 12 different desserts avlaible.

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jun 2, 2005

A little hokey but a highlight

Despite the somewhat overblown personality of our waiter Nico, the food was wonderful, service prompt (prompt enough -- it's Italy and you're supposed to spend your evening at dinner), and the setting charming, assuming you are seated upstairs in the garden. The waiter's advice on wine was spot-on (and no one forces you to ice your red wine), and only the lemon dessert fell a wee bit short. Worth making a reservation, even if few others do, just

to get better treatment.

Read More

By Tina

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

May 9, 2005

Frosty red wine, awful service and cold food.

We had the most horrible dinner of our entire vacation at this restaurant. We got in late from a trip, so we decided to have a quick meal. I had read such nice things about this restaurant that I wanted to try it out. First, we ordered the house wine, red. It was served in an open bottle and ice cold. I mean, it straight from the fridge. It was also of very bad quality, like you get in a cheap supermarket, and obviously watered down. That was awful

enough. We then we ordered our food. After a long wait with nothing to do since I wasn't touching that wine, the waiter brought our food. He bustled by and dumped about 6 plates on our table. He served all the courses at the same time. Not only that, but half the food was lukewarm to cold. One of my friends also ordered a fruit salad as desert. It was also teeth-chilling, and I strongly suspect from the quality that it was from a can. By this point I was steaming. I complained to the waiter. He barely budged. He said we "had two options for the red wine" and he would have brought us some at the proper temperature if only we had asked. And he didn't even budge on the service and cold food. We got about 7 euro off the bill. And I gave a 10 cent tip. Some questions for the food lover to ponder... What type of quality Italian restaurant would even claim to have ice cold red wine on their menu? What type of quality restaurant would stoop to serve ice cold wine from open bottles? What kind of quality restaurant serves all courses at once and half of them cold? What type of restaurant employs wait staff who try to justify this type of behaviour? All I can say is good luck to you who choose to dine at this restaurant. All I got is a memorable vacation story out of my experience, and you had better believe that I have told ALL my friends about this little fiasco.

Read More

Show All

Add Your Own Review

When did you go?

Minimum 200 character count

How many stars would you give?

Food

Décor

Service

Value

Advertisement