Sign Up
Newsletter Signup
Free Fodor's Newsletter

Subscribe today for weekly travel inspiration, tips, and special offers.

Fodor's Weekly: Your expert travel wrap-up
Today's Departure: Your daily dose of travel inspiration (coming soon)

Sicily Hotels

Villa Ducale

Pros

  • Away from the hubbub
  • Camera-ready views

Cons

  • A 10- to 15-minute walk to the center of Taormina
  • The restaurant menu can be limited

Updated 04/11/2014

Fodor's Review

The former summer residence of a local aristocrat has been converted into a luxurious hotel where each room has a balcony with a view. Individually-styled rooms are all furnished with antiques, and an intimate wood-paneled library is at once homelike and romantic. The vast roof terrace, where a fantastic breakfast is served, takes in the wide panorama embracing Etna and the bay below. It's a trek into town, but a year-round free shuttle bus whisks you to the city center

or the area's best beaches.

Read More

Hotel Information

Address:

Via Leonardo da Vinci 60, Taormina, 98039, Italy

Map It

Phone:

0942-28153

Hotel Details:

  • Closed Dec.–Feb.
  • 16 rooms, 8 suites
  • Breakfast

Updated 04/11/2014

Book A Hotel

Advertisement

Map View

Map of



What's Nearby

  • Hotels
  • Restaurants
  • Sights

See all hotels in Sicily

Fodorite Reviews

Average Rating

By Laurie

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jul 6, 2006

Sicilian Beauty

what a find! we loved the Villa ducale and would reccommend it highly over all the large luxury hotels located in the city center of Taormina. Located up the hills, the views are too beautiful to describe and the breakfast, which is included is amazing. The help is wonderful and there is shuttle bus service to the beaches or into town when you need it. Walking distance away is a wonderful restaurant called Sarceno's. The food was so good and the atmosphere

so convivial, we returned to our table overlooking the sea the very next night. My husband commented that it was one of the best meals he ever had. the Hotel is romantic and sweet you will miss it as soon as you leave.

Read More

By tino

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jul 13, 2005

amazing hotel

we will never forget our stay at villa ducale the most wonderful place on earth .

By David

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Sep 19, 2004

A Jewel

This Villa is the most charming and in all of Taormina. Our clean, A/C room was below the reception area, yet you would never hear noise. Our view was spectacular with Mt. Etna to the right, and the Naxos harbor/beaches to the left, with beautiful Sicilia panoramic views of little towns and hills in between. The owner and staff is 5-Star: friendly, professional, attentive, knowledgable on all aspects of food, wine, suggested itineraries, and hospitality.

The breakfast, truly Sicilian and memorable. A must stay in Taormina.

Read More

By Peter

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Aug 15, 2004

A Fantastic Place to Stay

The atmosphere feels more like home than that of staying in a hotel. The terrace views are nothing short of stunning. The hotel personnel give first class service starting with the owner himself, Andrea.The cobblestone path to the Town centre takes you along one of the most beautiful walkways in the world. Our Junior Suite was truly beautiful, with a large comfortable bedroom area, a gigantic bathroom with a jacuzzi and shower (gargantuan by european

standards), and a flower-filled terrace nearly the size of our Brooklyn apartment, with a view over looking the Italian continent. We even had our own personal lemon-tree! The spa was perfect for an afternoon relax. The hotel is a beautiful, shady and fragrant 10-minute walk from the town center. It was the perfect beginning and end to any town visit and we very much enjoyed the location. Highly recommended

Read More

By Rose

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

May 18, 2004

Superb hotel

we had a great vacation at ducale ;the staff is attentive,breakfast the best I ever had in Italy ,the Junior Suite was huge with outstanding sea view and a very refined ceramic collection - enjoyed much the Jacuzzi after long days sightseeing

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Apr 26, 2004

Number one in Sicily

One of the best hotel I 've ever stayed in my life ;incredible breakfast - huge,classy and super confortable Junior Suite at very reasonable price . I will return .

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Mar 24, 2004

Unforgettable vacation

Experiencing Villa Ducale will change you forever. It's not just a vacation locale like many others. The experience will leave you with a longing to go back. I was moved to tears when we first arrived and had champagne on that beautiful terrace, overlooking Mt. Etna and the Ionian Sea (listening to Andrea Bocelli CD in the backgroupnd). From the moment we said goodbye to all our new friends back in May 2000, we began planning our return in May 2002.

Now we are looking forward to our 3rd holiday at Villa Ducale in September 2004. From the town of Taormina, to the rooms at Villa Ducale, to the wonderful and sumptuous brunch buffet served each morning... But, most important, it's the PEOPLE who own and run Villa Ducale, each one of them makes it the special experience that it is. There isn't anything they would not try to do for you to make it the vacation you will remember forever. I have recommended Villa Ducale to several business colleagues, and those who have gone, LOVED IT! If God gave me and my husband just one more place to go on holiday, we would choose Villa Ducale!!!

Read More

Show All

Add Your Own Review

When did you stay?

Minimum 200 character count

How many stars would you give?

Room

Décor

Service

Value

Advertisement