Sign Up
Newsletter Signup
Free Fodor's Newsletter

Subscribe today for weekly travel inspiration, tips, and special offers.

Fodor's Weekly: Your expert travel wrap-up
Today's Departure: Your daily dose of travel inspiration (coming soon)

Sicily Hotels

San Domenico Palace

  • Piazza San Domenico 5 Map It
  • $$$$
  • Luxurious Retreat
  • Fodor's Choice

Pros

  • Stellar restaurant
  • Attentive service
  • Quiet and restful

Cons

  • Expensive
  • Dull corridors
  • Some small rooms

Updated 04/11/2014

Fodor's Review

Sweeping views of the castle, the sea, and Mt. Etna from this converted 15th-century Dominican monastery linger in your mind, along with equally memorable levels of luxury and wonderful food in the hotel's highly lauded restaurant, Principe Cerami (open Apr.–Oct.) Rooms have hand-painted or hand-carved furnishings, exquisite linens, and ultramodern amenities. Not all have sea views, but at this price you should make sure to ask for one that does. The San Domenico's Renaissance

flavor is preserved by two exquisite cloisters, convent rooms, and the chapel, now a conference facility, and sensuous gardens are full of red trumpet flowers, bougainvillea, and lemon trees.

Read More

Hotel Information

Address:

Piazza San Domenico 5, Taormina, 98039, Italy

Map It

Phone:

0942-613111

Hotel Details:

  • Closed early Jan.–mid-Mar.
  • 90 rooms, 15 suites
  • Breakfast

Updated 04/11/2014

Book A Hotel

Advertisement

Map View

Map of



What's Nearby

  • Hotels
  • Restaurants
  • Sights

See all hotels in Sicily

Fodorite Reviews

Average Rating

By Lou

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jun 13, 2006

Heaven on a hill top

I have stayed in some of the supposedly best hotels in the world and nothing compares to this heaven on a hill top. The gardens are beautiful and the interiors stunning. The atmosphere and staff are warm and welcoming as well as entertaining. Pure luxury.

By Brian

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Sep 14, 2005

Sublime Escape

A great blend of 5 star luxury and unpretentious charm, old world yet very comfortable. A real gem.

By Renee

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jun 22, 2005

Truly Top Notch "Palace"

My husband and I went here for our honeymoon in July of 2004. We stayed in a junior suite (134) and had our own bouganveilla lined patio with sun chairs and bistro table for private breakfasts'. This area was considered the "Grand Hotel" wing and is an add-on to the original monastery. After viewing several of the monastery rooms (while unique, but dark and small), I would definitely have to say we were much happier with the room we had. It is quite

a large hotel but still had a very boutique feel and very romantic. The grounds are beautiful and I would definitely suggest taking the complimentary architectural tour. Most of the staff spoke atleast 3-5 languages and were all very professional and helpful. They even arranged for a driver to take us to Mt. Etna on an all day excursion. It was the best suggestion anyone could have made considering the roads are all very windy, small and hard to maneuver. The location is THE best. You literally walk out the front door into the main shopping and restaurant area of Taormina. Every morning a complimentary buffet breakfast is provided which was amazing and definitely not like the typical american "continental" buffet you would get in the states. On our last evening my husband and I spent it in front of the fireplace listening to an unbelievable piano player (who actually used to play for Lucky Luciano) and enjoyed the truly unique setting. We are both in our 30s, from L.A. and tend to lean towards more of a "hip" atmosphere, but this was definitely NOT to be missed. This is literally one of the most unique hotels we have ever stayed at. The one downfall aside from quite a hefty price for us, is that most of the clientele tends to be a bit older, but honestly, being on our honeymoon, we could have cared less. :) If price permits, even just a few nights, it is atleast worth saying you stayed in a historic monastery.

Read More

By Melissa

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jan 14, 2003

Wonderful and Central

This hotel is 5 stars all the way! We stayed there for New Year's and were very impressed with the service, which was impeccable. I am a vegetarian and they gave me a special menu the night of the big party with a reduction in cost too. Very good location in the center of the village with lots of cute bars and restaunts to frequent. We stayed in a junior suite, and found it perfect. It had a sitting room with tv plus the bedroom. The views of Mt.

Etna were spectacular. Go there if your budget permits.

Read More

By Maria

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Sep 2, 2002

Elegant

This hotel was beautiful. Old world charm. High ceilings in the bedrooms, beautiful view off of terrace overlooking the sea. The service was great. We had a deluxe room, and it was bright and airy. The grounds were breathtaking! Great location - close to main shopping area.

By lyn

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jun 27, 2002

needs updating

The rooms are old and gloomy...they need updating Beautiful gardens.We moved to the Grand Hotel Timeo, the rooms are much nicer

Show All

Add Your Own Review

When did you stay?

Minimum 200 character count

How many stars would you give?

Room

Décor

Service

Value

Advertisement