Sign Up
Newsletter Signup
Free Fodor's Newsletter

Subscribe today for weekly travel inspiration, tips, and special offers.

Fodor's Weekly: Your expert travel wrap-up
Today's Departure: Your daily dose of travel inspiration (coming soon)

Rome Hotels

Hotel d'Inghilterra

  • Via Bocca di Leone 14 Map It
  • Clubby Atmosphere
  • Fodor's Choice
  • © Andrea Getuli & Giovanni Rinaldi

  • Andrea Getuli

  • © Andrea Getuli & Giovanni Rinaldi

  • © Andrea Getuli & Giovanni Rinaldi

  • Andrea Getuli

  • © Andrea Getuli & Giovanni Rinaldi

  • © Andrea Getuli & Giovanni Rinaldi

  • © Andrea Getuli & Giovanni Rinaldi

  • Andrea Getuli

  • © Andrea Getuli & Giovanni Rinaldi

  • Giovanni Rinaldi

  • Andrea Getuli

  • Andrea Getuli

2014 Hotel
Award Winner 2014

Pros

  • Distinct character and opulence
  • Turndown service (with chocolates)
  • Genuinely friendly and attentive staff

Cons

  • Elevator is small and slow
  • Bathrooms are surprisingly petite
  • The location, despite soundproofing, is still noisy

Updated 08/05/2014

Fodor's Review

Situated in a 17th-century guesthouse, Hotel D'Inghilterra has been one of Rome's most fashionable hotels since it opened in 1845. Monarchs, movie moguls, and some of the greatest writers of all time stayed here—Lord Byron, John Keats, Mark Twain, Ernest Hemingway, and Elizabeth Taylor among them. The hotel's name pays tribute to the Brits, who colonized the Spanish Steps district during the Grand Tour era. While no two rooms are alike, long flowing drapes, hardwood

floors, and handsome fabrics are the rule. The upper floors hold many of the best rooms, which overlook a vine-draped terrace. The hotel's restaurant, Café Romano, is a favorite especially among Rome's ladies who lunch, and the bar is James-Bond suave.

Read More

Hotel Information

Address:

Via Bocca di Leone 14, Rome, 00187, Italy

Map It

Phone:

06-699811

Hotel Details:

  • Credit cards accepted
  • 81 rooms, 7 suites
  • Breakfast

Updated 08/05/2014

Book A Hotel

Advertisement

Map View

Map of



What's Nearby

  • Hotels
  • Restaurants
  • Sights

See all hotels in Rome

Fodorite Reviews

Average Rating

By Uma

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Oct 21, 2006

An Oasis of Calm in Bustling Rome

The d'Inghilterra is located in the heart of Rome's upscale shopping district, a few minutes from the Spanish Steps, close to Trevi Fountain, walking distance to so many sites. It is small and very cozy. Our room was nicely decorated, with separate sleeping and sitting areas, several windows that opened, a very compact but lovely marble bathroom with tub/shower. Our included breakfast of hot and cold foods was served indoors or outside in the hotel's

main dining room, Cafe Romano, where we also had dinner. Front desk staff could not have been nicer; we were treated like old friends. The hotel was an oasis of calm at the end of our busy days. I would stay again.

Read More

By Phyllis

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jan 26, 2003

A nice hotel, great location

If I went back to Rome on the same budget, I'd stay here again. It certainly isn't cheap, but its a good value for a luxury hotel in a city with so many really expensive hotels. If you can afford a place like the Hassler, I'm sure that is much nicer. But the Inghilterra is perfectly pleasant. The hotel has a British feel which really isn't my taste, but some people like that. The lobby is really cramped- its hard to get to the conceirge desk because

there is no room. The room was very small, but it was charming and had a terrace (we were on the top floor). The bathroom needed an upgrade- its a typical European bathroom with a hard to use shower and noisy toilet. The service was fine. They lost a reservation but then were really sorry about the mixup. Overall the service was attentive. The location really was great, near the Spanish Steps and the shopping, so I would go back.

Read More
  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Oct 25, 2002

Para Comemorar!

Caro, lindo, sofisticado, aconchegante. Tudo de bom!

By Karen

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Oct 2, 2002

Location, location

The room was well appointed, and the marble bathroom very pretty, but both were SMALL! I had hoped for a bit more for the money. The airconditioner, although on the entire visit, could not cool down the room. The balcony we had was fabulous -- could look down on the street below from the 5th floor, or out to the rooftops of the surrounding buildings. The hotel staff was extremely helpful, and sent us to "34", an excellent restaurant on our first,

( tired from travel) nite in Rome. It seems like many attractions were a short walk - great location. I would consider going back.

Read More

By Barbara

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jun 16, 2002

The only place to stay in Rome.

The location is perfect. Very nice service. Feel like you are living in Rome.

By cmw

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Mar 30, 2002

Not a tacky tourist trap!

this is a lovely, chic and refined hotel with excellent service and wonderful rooms- and the location can't be beat! the staff was most accomidating to both business travelers and tourists (i was both). at this price level- i would stay nowhere else in rome. be sure not to miss the newly re-opened villa borghese- truly amazing.

By BB

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Feb 6, 2002

Old-World Feeling in a Great Location

My husband and I stayed here in May 1999 and very much enjoyed this small, classy hotel. Decorated in a very traditional Old-World style near the Piazza da Spagna, you will feel like you have gone back in time. Our room overlooked the fashionable Via Borgognona and the Versace store. Though the early morning noise of cars and pedestrian traffic was more than I would have expected, we enjoyed our stay and the hospitable staff.

Show All

Add Your Own Review

When did you stay?

Minimum 200 character count

How many stars would you give?

Room

Décor

Service

Value

Advertisement