Sign Up
Newsletter Signup
Free Fodor's Newsletter

Subscribe today for weekly travel inspiration, tips, and special offers.

Fodor's Weekly: Your expert travel wrap-up
Today's Departure: Your daily dose of travel inspiration (coming soon)

Rome Restaurants

Agata e Romeo

Updated 03/25/2014

Fodor's Review

For the perfect marriage of fine dining, creative cuisine, and rustic Roman tradition, the husband-and-wife team of Agata Parisella and Romeo Caraccio is the top. Chef Agata was perhaps the first in the capital to put a gourmet spin on Roman ingredients and preparations, elevating dishes like cacio e pepe (cheese and pepper) with the addition of an even richer Sicilian aged cheese and saffron to the pecorino; "baccalà 5 ways" showcases salt cod of the highest

quality; and many dishes are the best versions of classics you can get. Prices are steep, but for those who appreciate extremely high-quality ingredients, an incredible wine cellar, and warm service, dining here is a real treat.

Read More

Restaurant Information

Address:

Via Carlo Alberto 45, Rome, 00185, Italy

Map It

Phone:

06-4466115

Restaurant Details:

  • Credit cards accepted
  • Closed Sun. and 2 wks in Aug. No lunch Sat. and Mon.
  • Reservations essential

Updated 03/25/2014

Advertisement

Map View

Map of



What's Nearby

  • Restaurants
  • Sights

See all restaurants in Rome

Fodorite Reviews

Average Rating

By Eric

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Mar 27, 2006

Painfully expensive but really good

They took really good care of me. I went there for lunch just as they opened, so I was the first lunch customer. The risotto with vanilla bean & xxxx topped with a scallop was awesome as was the Salmon with fennel. I paid $30 and $40 for them respectively. That hurt. However, it is worth eating at a place that does it this well every once in a while.

By Bret

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jan 1, 2006

Good Food at Double the Price

Agata e Romeo is well-rated in so many sources. Granted, the quality of the ingredients is overwhelming and their preparation is of souvereign craftmanship. I therefore wouldn't have assumed that the value in the restaurant is so poor. You can spend your money on better in Rome.

By Terry

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Apr 17, 2004

What a dissapointment

We have been in Rome 10 days and have done 15 restaurants, mostly dinners. This was the BIG dissapointment. Ubelievably high prices for mediocre at best food. Very expensive wines forced upon us because they were "out of stock" on everything under $50 a bottle. One of our best meals was right around the corner at Trattoria Monti. Great food at 1/3 the price or less.

By Mike

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Mar 9, 2004

Very disappointing

The food was good - until it reached the cheese course, which was a disgrace - stale, dry and poorly kept. Very expensive for what was provided. I think the name and ambience seem more important - it was not as good as the other four evening meals we had in Rome. Go round the corner to Trattoria Monti instead!

By John

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jul 5, 2001

Tableside Intervention

After eating at Agate y Romeo this spring we would definitely recommend the restaurant but would advise against the fixed price menu unless you and your volleyball have just escaped a desert island. We made it through bread, soup, various antipastos, wine, champagne and the primi (pasta) dish, but halfway through the segundi we had to stop (as there was still a cheese course, a salad course and a desert course to come). It was all wonderful and

we would have eaten more if threat of actually living the Monty Python exploding patron sketch hadn't been so real. Well, after we politely asked the waiter not to bring anymore (since it was such a waste to let the great food go unappreciated), the waiter, the headwaiter and Romeo himself all stood at our table and had what I relate to a culinary intervention. They all asked whether the food was okay and if there was anything else they could bring us. We explained the food was great but that we could not possibly eat more. Anyway, we would highly recommend this restaurant and we look forward to our next trip in order to try to make a valiant to desert.

Read More

By Kirk

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Oct 10, 2000

Fantastic Romantic Restaurant

First rate food, exemplary service, and a cozy romantic atmosphere make this restaurant a must for a special night out in Rome.

Show All

Add Your Own Review

When did you go?

Minimum 200 character count

How many stars would you give?

Food

Décor

Service

Value

Advertisement