Sign Up
Newsletter Signup
Free Fodor's Newsletter

Subscribe today for weekly travel inspiration, tips, and special offers.

Fodor's Weekly: Your expert travel wrap-up
Today's Departure: Your daily dose of travel inspiration (coming soon)

Rome Restaurants

La Pergola

Updated 03/25/2014

Fodor's Review

La Pergola. La Pergola's rooftop location offers a commanding view of the city and a three-Michelin-star experience. The difficulty comes in choosing from among Chef Heinz Beck's alta cucina (haute cuisine) specialties, though most everything will prove to be incredibly special. Lobster is perfectly poached, and fish is cooked properly—including a delicious black cod with a curried crust and celery sauce. The dessert course is extravagant, including tiny

petits fours, and the wine list is as thrilling as one might expect from such a high-class establishment. Rome Cavalieri, Via Cadlolo 101, Monte Mario, Monte Mario, Rome, 00136. 06/35092152. www.romecavalieri.com/lapergola.php. Reservations essential. Jacket and tie. Closed Sun., Mon., 2 wks in Aug., and most of Jan. No lunch.

Read More

Restaurant Information

Address:

Rome Cavalieri, Via Cadlolo 101, Monte Mario, Rome, 00136, Italy

Map It

Phone:

06-35092152

Restaurant Details:

  • Credit cards accepted
  • Closed Sun., Mon., 2 wks in Aug., and most of Jan. No lunch
  • Reservations essential

Updated 03/25/2014

Advertisement

Map View

Map of



What's Nearby

  • Restaurants

Fodorite Reviews

Average Rating

By Levos

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Nov 12, 2007

It's Good To Be The Emperor

In September 2007 did a shopping and restaurant tour of Rome with big success. Now, to make things clear, you need money to visit "La Pergola" plus you have to reserve a couple of months in advance. Having mentioned that, the rest is pure poetry. From the moment your taxi drives you in the impressive Hilton Cavalieri's runway you realise that you are there for something really special. The view is breathtaking, the restaurant is amazing, food, wine,

service, all in detail. Unbelievable. For one night you really feel like an Emperor. Other places I strongly reccomend when in Rome: L’ Altro Mastai(similar concept as "La Pergola) Via Giraud, 53 (by the Via dei Banchi Nuovi crossroad) NEAR piazza Navona La Trattoria (Good Value) Via del pozzo delle cornacchie, 25 06/68301427 between Pantheon e Piazza Navona FOR FISH DO NOT MISS: Quinzi & Gabrieli Via Delle Coppelle 6, Rome (06-6879389), right near the Piazza Navona (Expensive but fish never tasted better) For typical Roman food and atmosphere: Matricianella Via del Leone 2/4 Campo Marzio Tel: +39 06 6832100 near Spanish Steps For a relaxing wine and light food night: Cul de Sac Piazza Pasquino, 73 (very near Piazza Navona) Tel: +39 06 68801094 and for God's sake DO NOT go to 'La Terrazza Dell' Eden", you'll be most dissapointed and ribbed off.

Read More

By JM

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Sep 21, 2005

definitely outstanding

How could I describe the delicious food and most beautiful views over the Rome? Me and my wife had a dinner in La Pergola in our honeymoon. The sommelier choosed really good wines with outstanding value. The service were excellent in every detail and the atmosphere was something that You just have to feel it yourself. We have eaten in many good restaurants but this was the most memorable.

By Jim

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

May 4, 2004

Let someone else pay

My wife, myself and our neice ate here May,1,04 and granted we liked it but it was totally overpriced for what we got - drinking their cheapest wine (1 bottle white, 1/2 bottle red all under $40 each) cost over $750. We have eaten in most of the 3 stars in France and have never felt the value was so poor. We at at Caruso in Naples for 1/4 the price and it was better, not as elaborate food but exceptional and the service was better, plus the view

of Naples Bay was a close second to the view of Rome. I would NEVER go back to this place if I had to pay.

Read More

By Dan

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Nov 10, 2003

Fantastic food and service

A great evening out-if you have plenty of money. The food and service were outstanding.The view from the terrace (no pun intended)is outstanding for a before-dinner drink,although honestly the Hassler is better (for the view).

By Kathy

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

May 9, 2002

World class dining experience

This is a flawless dining experience. Umberto, the host, is amazingly gracious. Marco, the wine steward, is incredibly knowledgable, but with youthful enthusiasm. Each dish is a work of art in visual presentation and taste. The gourmet menu is worth the price. After dining here, you will wish for a return to La Pergola when you throw your 3 coins at Trevi.

By greg

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jul 10, 2001

memorable

one of the most memorable dinners we have had. we are still dreaming about it

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Nov 1, 2000

A Dining Experience to Remember

We aimed to pick one of the best restaurants in Rome for a special romantic evening and La Pergola did not disappoint. The service was attentive yet unobtrusive, the gourmet dinner (8 courses) was exquisite, and the quiet ambience of the dining room made for a memorable evening. Expensive but worth it!

Show All

Add Your Own Review

When did you go?

Minimum 200 character count

How many stars would you give?

Food

Décor

Service

Value

Advertisement