Sign Up
Newsletter Signup
Free Fodor's Newsletter

Subscribe today for weekly travel inspiration, tips, and special offers.

Fodor's Weekly: Your expert travel wrap-up
Today's Departure: Your daily dose of travel inspiration (coming soon)

Rome Restaurants

Dal Bolognese

Updated 03/25/2014

Fodor's Review

The darling of the media, film, and fashion communities, this classic restaurant off Piazza del Popolo is not only a perennial hot spot, but a convenient lunch break mid-shopping spree. The offerings adhere to the hearty tradition of Bologna, so start with a plate of sweet prosciutto di Parma, then move on to the traditional egg pastas of Emilia-Romagna. Secondi include the famous bollito misto, a steaming tray of an assortment of boiled meats (some recognizable,

some indecipherable) served with its classic accompaniment, a tangy, herby salsa verde (green sauce). Linger for dessert and take in the passing parade of destination diners as they air kiss their way around the room.

Read More

Restaurant Information

Address:

Piazza del Popolo 1, Rome, 00187, Italy

Map It

Phone:

06-3611426

Website: dalbolognese.it

Restaurant Details:

  • Credit cards accepted
  • Closed Mon. and 3 wks in Aug.
  • Reservations essential

Updated 03/25/2014

Advertisement

Map View

Map of



What's Nearby

  • Hotels
  • Restaurants
  • Sights

See all restaurants in Rome

Fodorite Reviews

Average Rating
  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Oct 11, 2007

I ordered the shirmp and the next morning...

I ordered the shrimp dish and the next morning I was very very sick...it lasted for days and ruined my whole vacation. When I told my Roman friends where & what I had eaten, they all said the same thing "you should never order seafood at Dal Bolognese, everybody knows that!". I would take this place right off your list unless you go there for a coffee or only pasta.

By Bill

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Apr 23, 2006

OK

We loved the atmosphere. The food was quality and good. We sat inside since it was Spring. I dont know if I would return, but maybe the outside seating is better. I would give it another chance. It seemed to have many Italians and tourists. Give it a try.

By Paul

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jul 13, 2003

Liver patee and Chateaubriand Béarnaise are excellent!

I visited here in 2000 and I think this is one of the best international restaurants in Rome.

By Robert

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

May 27, 2003

Great Food, Great ambience

One of the best meals we had in Rome. The place was fun a nd with lots of locals arriving for late dinners. reservations are essential. The location is also great, as Piazza popolo is a fun place to be at night.

By Joelle

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Feb 28, 2003

A touristy place but we liked it!

Reservations are essential since it's always fully booked, even at lunch time. The place is considered by Roman people as a trendy one, but in fact this is a very classical restaurant serving excellent food. There were a lot of tourists, but also Italians. The restaurant was full, but service was efficient and quick. I also loved the beef carpaccio con parmigiano and rughetta!

By Bob

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jan 10, 2003

A Nice Meal.

My wife & I had dinner at Dal Bolognese on our first night in Rome, to celebrate our first anniversary. It's a quality restaurant that is very easy to find. You could tell from the crowd that the "locals" approve. Lasagna was particularly good. Reservations are a must. The night we were there, only those with reservations were seated.

By Barbara

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jun 16, 2002

Wonderful

Had dinner the other night. Wonderful food, great service, incredible prices for Rome. I highly recommend the place.

By Phil

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

May 20, 2002

Hearty, Stick to Your Ribs Food.

The best Carpaccio I have ever had anywhere, and I have been to Italy over a dozen times. The food is good, old fashioned, and hearty. We came here our first night and it as the best restaurant we ate at throughout our entire 2 week vacation.

By Peter

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jan 17, 2001

The In-Crowd and proud of it

Ate both lunch and dinner at Dal Bolgonese and both were superb. The carpaccio was the best I've had and the sorbets, scooped out of the fruit, frozen and replaced was as good as it gets. A great experience but a reservation is a must.

Show All

Add Your Own Review

When did you go?

Minimum 200 character count

How many stars would you give?

Food

Décor

Service

Value

Advertisement