Sign Up
Newsletter Signup
Free Fodor's Newsletter

Subscribe today for weekly travel inspiration, tips, and special offers.

Fodor's Weekly: Your expert travel wrap-up
Today's Departure: Your daily dose of travel inspiration (coming soon)

Rome Restaurants

Da Baffetto

  • Via del Governo Vecchio 114 Map It
  • Pizza

Updated 03/25/2014

Fodor's Review

On a cobblestone street not far from Piazza Navona, this is one of Rome's most popular pizzerias and a summer favorite for street-side dining. There is constand debate over whether this spot is overrated, but as with all the "great" pizzerias in Rome, it's hard to argue with the line that forms outside the door on weekends (the wait can be up to an hour). Happily, outdoor tables—enclosed and heated in winter—provide much-needed additional seating and turnover is fast;

lingering is not encouraged. (Note: Baffetto 2, at Piazza del Teatro di Pompeo 18, also offers pasta and secondi, and doesn't suffer from the same overcrowding, plus you can reserve a table).

Read More

Restaurant Information

Address:

Via del Governo Vecchio 114, Rome, 00186, Italy

Map It

Phone:

06-6861617

Restaurant Details:

  • No credit cards
  • Closed Tues. and Aug. No lunch Mon.–Fri.

Updated 03/25/2014

Advertisement

Map View

Map of



What's Nearby

  • Hotels
  • Restaurants
  • Sights

See all restaurants in Rome

Fodorite Reviews

Average Rating

By aaronw

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Apr 2, 2010

Da Baffetto Review

Nice pizza but all the rest is a bit brush off, the service is not so good, they are always in rush, and want more clients going in.

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

May 14, 2008

Best pizza in Rome!

We ate pizza non-stop while in Rome and decided this was the best pizza we found! Granted, the interior is not fancy, the tables are covered in paper, and the walls are lined with photos and notes from happy and/or famous customers, but the pizza is fabulous! It is one of the only places we found where pizza comes in more than one size. The medium is more than enough for one person (we never ordered the large). Good prices. The pizza with zucchini

flowers was particularly excellent. The house red wine was also excellent. The waitstaff were fast and efficient, mildly grumpy but in an endearing way, and always showed extra kindness to my son. They open at 6:30pm and are continually packed, so arrive early to beat the crowd.

Read More

By Maria

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

May 9, 2002

RUDE SERVICE

It used to be a good place. Now it is tourist trap... You have to wait in line for table for hours and they are rude. It's stupid, there are other pizzerias in Rome.

By Sophia

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Mar 20, 2002

Horrible Service

Who would ever want to go to a restaurant where they treat you like a dog? The waiters are extremely rude and do not even care. The food is ok but I have had better pizza. I am one of the locals from that street and I have been there many times. THEY ARE THE RUDEST!!!!!!!!!!

By Van

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jun 25, 2001

Friendly and Tasty

My parents really enjoyed the food, the atmosphere, and mostly the friendly service. My dad and I especially enjoyed the cracker thin crust that is typical of good Roman pizza.

By Amy

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Apr 12, 2001

Rude Service

While the food was delicious, the server was extremely rude to a couple dining with us.

By AG

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Feb 27, 2001

Great pizza at a fun, friendly pizzaria

I've never tasted fresher ingredients or eaten a better pizza crust. And the atmosphere was great! We encountered some of the nicest people (all locals) who made the experience just perfect! One of them insisted that we order the bruschetta and we couldn't stop thanking him after we took his advice. YUM!

By Richard

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Feb 12, 2001

Simple, Great Pizza With The Locals

We couldn't even find this street corner hole in the wall until evening when the narrow alley burst to life with lights, tables and mobs of friendly people. Tables and chairs appeared outside, a long line formed, and it was hopping with vital local life. A local scene, friendly. Young people as well as older ones. Family run. Old Man Bufetto checking that everything was going ok. Funky. Obviously a local institution with many locals eating there.

No amenities. Just Paper place mats, salads, wine, and fantastic pizza! Very highly recommended. Absolutely no pretentiousness; very fast paced once you get in. Amazingly economical.

Read More

Show All

Add Your Own Review

When did you go?

Minimum 200 character count

How many stars would you give?

Food

Décor

Service

Value

Advertisement