Sign Up
Newsletter Signup
Free Fodor's Newsletter

Subscribe today for weekly travel inspiration, tips, and special offers.

Fodor's Weekly: Your expert travel wrap-up
Today's Departure: Your daily dose of travel inspiration (coming soon)

Rome Hotels

Eden

Pros

  • Gorgeous mirrored roof terrace restaurant
  • You could be rubbing elbows with the stars
  • 24-hour room service

Cons

  • Breakfast not included in the price (and quite expensive)
  • Wi-Fi is expensive
  • Some say the staff can be hit-or-miss

Updated 03/19/2014

Fodor's Review

A recent refurbishment of the Hotel Eden has put it back in the running for one of Rome's top luxury lodgings: once a favorite haunt of Hemingway, Ingrid Bergman, and Fellini, this superlative hotel combines dashing elegance, exquisitely lush decor, and stunning vistas of Rome with true Italian hospitality. Set atop an oh-my-weary-feet hill near the Villa Borghese (and a bit out of the historic center for serious sightseers), this hotel was opened in the late 19th century

and quickly became famous for its balcony views and Roman splendor. Even the most basic room here is elegantly designed: banquette window seats, rich mahogany furniture, soaring ceilings, Napoleon-Trois sofas, and fine linens allow you to dive deep into the whoooooossh of luxury here. Topping it all off is one of Rome's most fabled "food-with-a-view" restaurants, La Terrazza dell'Eden, whose perch offers views that are truly panaromantic (you can enjoy almost the same vistas for the price of a Campari on its rooftop bar: remember to dress up all the same).

Read More

Hotel Information

Address:

Via Ludovisi 49, Rome, 00187, Italy

Map It

Phone:

06-478121

Website: www.lhw.com/Eden

Hotel Details:

  • Credit cards accepted
  • 121 rooms, 13 suites
  • No meals

Updated 03/19/2014

Book A Hotel

Advertisement

Map View

Map of



What's Nearby

  • Hotels
  • Restaurants

See all hotels in Rome

Fodorite Reviews

Average Rating

By BJS1

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Oct 1, 2010

Eden Review

My wife and I stayed at Eden for 5 nights. The staff, especially the concierge services, were friendly and accomodating to a tee. Beautiful propery in a very nice location close to Spanish Steps, shopping and many good restaurants. Our room, a small suite, was very nicely appointed, in perfect condition with a nice bath. I don't see how anyone could go wrong with this hotel. Moderately expensive as you'd expect from a small luxury hotel, but

worth it.

Read More
  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Oct 23, 2007

Understated elegance, quiet setting

I chose this hotel due to it's close proximity to the Bourgesi park and other major destinations (we walked everywhere). It's a lovely place with an outstanding view from the top floor restaraunt... we were there when the Itailians won the World Cup Try to book a room in the newer section of the hotel as our room was a 4, not a 5... but still very very nice. The concierge staff was outstanding.

By Adam

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

May 6, 2006

Dissapointing

Stayed here 10 years ago and really loved this hotel. This time around we were very dissapointed. Although the public areas are attractive there is a lack of atmosphere and they are somewhat limited. Worst of all are the rooms. We stayed in February when it was unseasonably warm; there was no air conditioning but with the window open the noise from the street (traffic, refuse collection and a generator accross the street) meant that there was no chance

of any sleep. We were moved to a suite for the second night which was much better (and quieter) but somewhat austere (I would have been very dissapointed if I had paid the suite rate!). The one really good thing about the hotel was the restaurant and bar; there is a very lively atmosphere and the food is great.

Read More

By Maggie

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Sep 14, 2004

Quiet Oasis Close to Spanish Steps

Here is a choice hotel well deserved for their 5 stars with genuine greetings upon your arrival to their quiet location off the Villa Borghese within walking distance to the Spanish Steps, Via dei Condotti and the incredible city views offered from their rooftop restaurant, Terrazza Dell'Eden with service to match. Rooms are filled with all the 5 star amenities, comfortable plush couches, chairs and marble everywhere for your bath. Housekeeping

was discreet yet efficient and concierge and staff were extremely helpful with local restaurant recommendations, tours, etc. Overall, an excellent choice for Roma for the privacy and peace away from the Roman dramas not far from the major sites; your home away from home. Worth the expense, no regrets.

Read More

By Jim

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jun 21, 2002

I guess its hit or miss???????

My wife and I LOVED the Hotel Eden. We booked a double room for five nights in July 2001, and had a wonderful time. It was my favorite hotel in Europe. The room was superbly decorated and we had a wonderful view of the courtyard. While the room was not a suite, it was much larger than I expected for a European hotel. The staff was wonderful. They arranged a private tour of the ruins for us that was the best value in rome (30 euros per hour). My

only complaint would be the expensive breakfast and dry cleaning services.

Read More

By Sharon

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

May 7, 2002

No longer a doubter of the Eden!

I have to admit I was nervous about staying at the Eden after reading everyone's reviews, but this was the Hotel of choice for our traveling companions and we agreed to stay here. Upon arrival, we were upgraded to a Double Deluxe room which was a nice size and had a king size bed. There was plenty of room for "stretching out" and a lot of storage space. The room had 2 terraces that we could walk out on and had decent views. One direction was of

the street, the other view was the WW2 monument w/Tomb on the Unknown Soldier. Service was outstanding and our every need was met. Each afternoon we were greeted in our room with a bowl of fruit. They offer a car service (at a good price) that will pick you up and deliver you to the airport. I thought the staff was excellent and they all spoke English. If we return to Rome, I would definitely stay again at the Eden.

Read More

By Bill

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Aug 6, 2001

Don't stay here unless you get a suite

Room was VERY small for $500+ per night. Breakfast was $38 per person and Dinner was mediocre at $130 per person. Not a good value. Would be a good (not great) place at $250 per night, but stay somewhere else for this much money!

By Wendy

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jul 29, 2001

Paradise NOT FOUND at the EDEN HOTEL

You know that something's wrong when you sleep better in the economy section of a nine-hour flight from Rome to New York than you did at your hotel. We stayed at the Eden for three nights. After the first night, we asked to switch rooms because springs were coming up through our incredibly lumpy mattress. The staff couldn't have been more helpful. They switched us immediately to a so-called upgraded ( somewhat less tiny, better bathroom and view of

the street) room, but alas, same problem, as well as air conditioning not working well and mini-bar refrigerator on the blink. The best part of our extremely tiny room was the sumptious bathroom-- but that's not why we had booked the Eden. We did see some huge rooms on our way out, but they probably cost as much as half of our two-week trip to Europe. What is all the fuss about? Very unimpressive. On top of everything else, room service food arrived cold and was nothing special.

Read More

By Tobias

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Mar 1, 2001

A True Oasis in This Bustling Italian Metropolis

I stayed for seven nights at this absolutely fabulous hotel. The room was enormous with hard-wood floors, oriental rugs, and a four-poster bed. The marble bathroom (with delightful mosaics) was as large as most hotels' bedrooms. The service, as expected, was impeccable. Be sure not to miss a meal at La Terrazza, the hotel's 1-Star Michelin restaurant.

By Jane

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Aug 10, 2000

Rude, Rude, Rude

I was very disappointed with this hotels attitude to its guests.

Show All

Add Your Own Review

When did you stay?

Minimum 200 character count

How many stars would you give?

Room

Décor

Service

Value

Advertisement