Sign Up
Newsletter Signup
Free Fodor's Newsletter

Subscribe today for weekly travel inspiration, tips, and special offers.

Fodor's Weekly: Your expert travel wrap-up
Today's Departure: Your daily dose of travel inspiration (coming soon)

Rome Hotels

Scalinata di Spagna

Pros

  • Friendly and helpful concierge
  • Fresh fruit in the rooms
  • Free Wi-Fi throughout

Cons

  • It's a hike up the hill to the hotel
  • No porter and no elevator

Updated 03/19/2014

Fodor's Review

Perched atop the Spanish Steps, this charming boutique hotel makes guests fall in love over and over again—in fact, it's often booked far in advance. If you're lucky enough to find vacancy here, you'll enjoy stylish rooms accentuated with cheery turquoise and yellow decor. The extravagant rooftop garden is a wonderful spot for breakfast or a glass of wine.

Hotel Information

Address:

Piazza Trinità dei Monti 17, Rome, 00187, Italy

Map It

Phone:

06-45686150

Hotel Details:

  • Credit cards accepted
  • 16 rooms
  • Breakfast

Updated 03/19/2014

Book A Hotel

Advertisement

Map View

Map of



What's Nearby

  • Hotels
  • Restaurants
  • Sights

See all hotels in Rome

Fodorite Reviews

Average Rating
  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jul 17, 2008

Disappointing!!!!

We booked a stay at the hotel based on the Fodors star recommendation. honestly, it really makes us question who at Fodors is evaluating the hotel. The Staff at hotel were lovely, however the accodations were simply awful, dirty, old, not at all refurbished like the review suggesgted. carpet filthy, in the hallways,laundry, toilet paper rolls on the floor. Breakfast, yes a nice terrace, but if you condsider bread, fruit and boiled hotdogs breakfast

then it is the perfect place to stay. so expensive for what you are not getting. the only features this hotel has going for it is the nice people and location. we immediately checked out out lost 3 nights worth of hotel fees and went accross to the InterContiental. save yourself and your vacation DO NOT STAY HERE!!!!!!!!!!!

Read More

By tea

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jun 3, 2006

Great position, friendly staff

I have stayed with my husband at this beautiful hotel in April 2006.The position in the best there is.Everything you need to see in Rome can be reached by foot.The staff helps you plan every tour,gives you advice on the best restaurants. They even have a wireless broadband connection in all the rooms and even on the terrace. The rooms aren't very big, but they are very quiet. We recommended this hotel to all our friends.

By Elisa

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

May 24, 2003

Good and bad -- don't book 2 rooms!

We have both good things and bad things to say about our experience at Scalinata di Spagna. We had reserved 2 rooms for 7 nights, one for us and one for our teenager. When we got there, we were told they were overbooked and that we would have to share a room for a few days. This room was not meant for 3 beds and we were crawling over each other for a few days. This would not have been so bad but THEY CHARGED US THE SAME RATES agreed upon for 2

rooms for the full 7 days (this was not explained to us when they told us we would have to share -- we just assumed the final bill would reflect that we had been in only one room the first few days). Their excuse was that our crowded room was especially nice, which was our compensation for not having the 2 rooms that had been reserved. We don't agree -- we would rather have had 2 standard rooms. Otherwise, the place was pretty, the location is great, the breakfasts were good, and the staff was nice. However, we are never coming back here again because we feel ripped off.

Read More

By Denise

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jun 24, 2002

Great Location in Rome

We have stayed at the Scalinata Di Spagna twice, and found it to be a wonderful hotel. The rooms were spacious and the second time we were there we had a private terrace on the roof. The rooms with the views are the best, and the location can't be beat as it's right near all the great shopping streets around the steps. The staff recommended some fabulous restaurants, and we continue to go back to them every time we're in Rome. The prices have gone

up considerably over the years, but given the location, the Scalinata is still a good value.

Read More

By leo

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Apr 25, 2002

Take the elevator!

We did walk everywhere, but there is an elevator in the subway station at the bottom of the Spanish steps that will let you off at the top of the Spanish Steps. The elevator does come in handy when you are exhausted and it's 90 degrees. The hotel was nice. Breakfast on the terrace was beautiful and we also enjoyed sunsets up there. The staff was a little too unhelpful on some matters, but suggested great resturants.

By Rachel

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Feb 26, 2002

Very Cute Hotel with TINY Rooms

Be prepared. The rooms here are small, very small. The bathroom is small, too. Other than that, it is a delightful hotel. The rooms itself is charming and nicely furnished. The staff is wonderful. They were all very friendly and provided us with great restaurant recommendations. The location can't be beat at the top of the Spanish Steps. One last thing, it is a long climb up those steps. If you stay here, you will be climbing them quite a

bit.

Read More

By Brian

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Feb 21, 2002

Huh?

I must have missed something. I had high expectations based on everything I've read about this hotel, but it was outright average. I have travelled extensively in Europe and this place is nothing special. And the view from the terrace? What view from the terrace? Disappointing.

Show All

Add Your Own Review

When did you stay?

Minimum 200 character count

How many stars would you give?

Room

Décor

Service

Value

Advertisement