Sign Up
Newsletter Signup
Free Fodor's Newsletter

Subscribe today for weekly travel inspiration, tips, and special offers.

Fodor's Weekly: Your expert travel wrap-up
Today's Departure: Your daily dose of travel inspiration (coming soon)

Rome Hotels

Locarno

Pros

  • Luxurious (you might feel like you're in a movie)
  • Spacious rooms
  • Free bicycles

Cons

  • Some rooms are dark
  • The annex doesn't compare to the main hotel
  • Staff may not go out of their way to help you. Via della Penna 22, Piazza del Popolo, Rome, 00186. 06/3610841. www.hotellocarno.com. 64 rooms, 2 suites. In-room: a/c, safe, Wi-Fi. In-hotel: restaurant, bar, business center. Breakfast. Flaminio

Updated 03/19/2014

Fodor's Review

Locarno. This hotel has been a longtime choice for art and cinema aficionados (it even inspired Bernard Weber's 1978 film Hotel Locarno), but everyone can appreciate its charm, intimate feel, and central location off Piazza del Popolo. Exquisite wallpaper and fabric prints are coordinated in the rooms, and some rooms are decorated with antiques—the grandest residence looks like an art director's take on a Medici bedroom. Everything is lovingly supervised

by the owners, a mother-daughter duo. The buffet breakfast is ample, there's bar service on the panoramic roof garden, and complimentary bicycles are available if you feel like braving the traffic.

Read More

Hotel Information

Address:

Via della Penna 22, Rome, 00186, Italy

Map It

Phone:

06-3610841

Hotel Details:

  • Credit cards accepted
  • 64 rooms, 2 suites
  • Breakfast

Updated 03/19/2014

Book A Hotel

Advertisement

Map View

Map of



What's Nearby

  • Hotels
  • Restaurants
  • Sights

See all hotels in Rome

Fodorite Reviews

Average Rating

By jancam

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Oct 1, 2008

Charming hotel.

I love this charming hotel and felt I had to write a review to defend it in case people take ewellis's review too seriously. I've just returned from my second stay. My first was 10 years ago when I stayed in a single room. This time I came with my husband and we stayed in a "double superior" room for 260 Euros a night. Upon arrival I decided I didn't like the room assigned to us which was rather dark and on the first floor annex and had only an

armoire for storage. When I mentioned my displeasure to the lady at the front desk they insisted on switching my room as soon as another became available the following day. The room change made all the difference. Room 301 had more storage space--a small chest of drawers and built-in closet--and a more modern bathroom. We were very happy there for the duration of our stay. The breakfast available every morning is plentiful and can easily carry you through the late afternoon: fresh fruit salad, various cereals, pastries, several choices of fruit juice, scrambled eggs, bacon, cold cuts, cheeses, rolls...I could go on, but you get the idea. The English-speaking staff are friendly and helpful. The lounge, bar, patio, and roof garden are lovely with beautiful Art Deco touches. I have never seen stained carpeting or the banged up furniture that the previous reviewer mentioned. I am extremely picky when it comes to hotel rooms and I thought that the Locarno was immaculate. I do agree that the lighting in the rooms is rather poor, but then again I've never been able to get decent reading light in any American hotel I've stayed in either. The Locarno is a charming hotel and I wouldn't hesitate to stay there again or to recommend it to anyone.

Read More

By ewellis

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jul 26, 2007

Did not live up to the review -- at all!

Relying on Fodor's review, my family and I spent 3 nights at the Locarno recently. We found the hotel to be anything but charming or elegant. Where the review describes Art Deco glitz, we found an interior in serious need of fresh paint, new carpet (stairs were very stained) and improved lighting. Exposed pipes a tangle of ancient wiring cluttered the hallway ceilings, creating a dark and creepy environment. All three of our rooms were filled not

with antiques, but old and beaten up furniture. There was no chest of drawers in one room, and they were all so dark that reading (even in the day) was absolutely impossible. The staff was efficient, but not warm or welcoming. One of the worst places I've stayed since graduating from hostels in the early 80s....

Read More
  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Mar 9, 2007

Loved it, will return

We switched to the Locarno after a hideous exprience at another hotel. We managed 2 nights before moving on to the Locarno, which is a breath of fresh air. The room was VERY LARGE... even by American standards. It was clean, comfy and spacious with a large window looking onto the courtyard. The breakfast was lovely, with enough choice to please anyone. I might also add that the bar is a great place to relax with one of the better dirty martinis i've

ever had. This is a must stay in Rome with great location to the major attractions, some great near by restaurants, and a great hotel over all.

Read More

By Rafael

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jan 17, 2006

Leave your cares behind relax at th Locarno

We've been to Rome six times and have stayed at this Art Nouveau Hotel the last three times and now that we've discoverted this friendly relaxing place will continue to stay there everytime we retutn to Rome.Don't pay attention to those that have given the Locarno a bad review.My wife is very picky of where she stays and she loves the Locarno.It is not fancy or ornate but the rooms are comfortable,the bathrooms have been modernized, the rooms and

hotel in general very clean,and the staff friendly and very helpful.This trip with the family(including two grandchildren) we had four rooms;402,403 404 & 407 and had a great stay without anything to complain about.From this hotel just steps away from the Piazza del Poppolo,where the three main roads of central Rome originate,you can walk tothe Vatican, Sant'angelo,Spanish Steps ,Navona,Trevi and even the Colosseum.There's peace and quiet(as much as can be had in Rome)and you are buffered from the crouds and noisy tourists.Everyone I've recommemdedthis Hotel to has thanked me.You will too if you take my advice.Don't expect a Hyatt or Marriott it is tne "simpatico" Locarno with its european charm

Read More

By John

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

May 4, 2004

Inconsistent Dump

It seems that the reviews are for 2 different hotels. Hotel came highly recommended by a book but the service was atrocious, the room wet and moldy and the price even more atrocious. STAY AWAY.

By Adam

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Feb 10, 2004

Absolutely Spot On

I've just spent four delightful nights at this hotel. The room was gorgeous, the location perfect, and the staff unbelievably friendly and helpful. The negative reviewers must have got confused and reviewed a different hotel!

By Emily

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

May 19, 2003

A nice three star in a great location

We stayed at the Locarno for three nights on a recent trip to Rome (our first). I was quite pleased with our experience. For a rate of 200 Euros a night, we were given a spacious room in the new wing of the hotel. Not luxurious, but it felt like a good value to us. Particularly appealing was the modern and roomy bathroom. We also enjoyed breakfast -- a buffet of pastries, cold cuts and cheeses -- on the patio and the peaceful roof garden. The folks

at the front desk were helpful if a little aloof. We got two good restaurant recommendations from them and they also checked on my parents' flight for us. However, there were some problems. The "air conditioning" had basically no effect so our room was warm, and it was on the first floor, so the street noise was a problem at night. Location near the Piazza del Popolo is great! You can walk to several sights (Spanish Steps, Trevi Fountain), shops and restaurants and it is easy to pick up a cab at the Piazza. I would stay there again at the same price.

Read More

By steve

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jan 3, 2003

we liked it!!!!!

Very sad to see the comments posted after we stayed there in February 02. Staff was helpful, room was small and somewhat noisy, but more than adequate. Great location. would like to go again.

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Oct 3, 2002

What a dump!

Although the size of the room was larger than a few others we had stayed in- it was the most uncomfortable of all the hotels that we experienced on our 3 week trip. The linens were inferior, the shower leaked water all over the floor, the AC was broken and a chemical type of smell, that never went away, made me very ill. They refused to change our room without increasing the rate to over $300. We made multiple attempts to reserve the new wing that

went unheeded. In addition to a horrible room- we left something behind and returned to retrieve it 3 days later- but their "lost & found" is CLOSED on the weekends. What's up with that? Everytime I was in the lobby I heard guests complaining and a few of the desk staff were very unprofessional and rude. I would only recommend the expensive rooms in the new wing.

Read More

By Jane

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Oct 2, 2002

Watch Out for Bed Bugs

Bugs in bed and staff both bite!

By David

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Sep 23, 2002

Artsy means Rude and Dirty

If your idea of a cute, artsy hotel is moldy bathrooms, rude service, dirty linens and ceilings that cave in, then the Locarno is for you. We stayed there in August of 2002 and could not have been more disappointed especially because it came highly recommended by the hip hotel guide (subsequently tossed into the trash). Our nightmare began when after checking in and a wonderful dinner, we returned to find the bathroom ceiling caving in and our floor

flooded with an inch of water. Our first call downstairs was met with indifference and the night clerk reluctantly sent someone to check on it. When the ceiling would not stop leaking our second call downstairs to request a room change was rudely denied. When we finally did get the night manager, he was more polite, though he did seem to think that the ceiling leak was my problem, not the hotel's. No apology was ever offered but we did manage to get a new room. me will always be a memorable experience in spite (or because) of our nightmare experience at the Locarno. We will always have our photos of the mold and water to fondly remember Rome by.

Read More
  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Sep 17, 2002

Lovely hotel

We stayed here our last 2 nights in Rome. It's a great location and beautifully decorated. Room was small, but pretty. There's a nice roof garden where you can have drinks or your breakfast served. You can walk to most sites.

By Judith

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jul 14, 2002

Very Tourist Friendly

I am sitting at the internet point in the Hotel Locarno as I write this. I am at the end of a 14 day trip to Italy and the Locarno is the Hotel that I'm in for the last three days. It is very nice and clean. We are in the older part of the hotel which is considerably cheaper than the renovated side. THe section that we are in is still reasonably spacious and clean. aThe matresses are a little soft though and the air condition is a bit of a farce.

It keeps the room exactly 82 degrees F and does nothing to eliminate the humdity. The bathrooms are thoroughly modern with both shower and tub. The sink is large enough for two women to go through their morning routines at the same time. There is a small settee and two large windows that open. The breeze today is lovely. Oour room 403 opens on to the courtyard and is reasonably quiet. The room has hardwood floors and pretty wallpaper, as well as a TV (you only get CNN in English) and a refrigerator. On the whole, very comfortable. My only complaint is the air conditioning. The breakfast buffet is divine. They have bacon, sausage, eggs, croissant, pastry, fresh fruit, stewed fruit, every fruit juice that you can think of, cereal, and the usual breads and jams. It is the best breakfast buffet we have had in all of Italy. One last thing, they have this odd rule about not taking outside food back to your room....I guess that is what backpacks are made for! There is also a lovely bar that serves during the day, and the location cannot be beat...you are just two streets off of the Piazza del Popolo and a short walk to the Metro. If you are traveling anyother time of the year, other than July and August, I wouldn't hesitate to recommend this hotel!

Read More

By j

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jun 7, 2002

Great location, Great Breakfast

Stayed here May 15 - May 20 and really enjoyed it. Location is great, walking distance to just about everywhere of interest (Coliseum the only major site that is a long walk from Locarno). The shops and restaurants close by are terrific. The breakfast buffet is generous even by American standards and very good. While the staff in the breakfast room and bar were very helpful, the front desk staff need upgrading. It was a real burden for them to

deal with guests checking in and checking out. This is my only complaint about the Locarno. Our room was on the small side but the bed was comfortable and the bathroom was fine.

Read More

Show All

Add Your Own Review

When did you stay?

Minimum 200 character count

How many stars would you give?

Room

Décor

Service

Value

Advertisement