Rome Hotels

Advertisement

Guidebooks

Duca d'Alba

Exterior

At a Glance

    Pros

  • Ancient Rome is at your doorstep
  • great cappuccino for your morning pick-me-up
  • a fitness center with a treadmill and weights
  • near the metro

    Cons

  • rooms are a bit cramped
  • late-night revelers from the Irish pub across the way

Fodorite Reviews

Average Rating:  

Duca d'Alba Review

In Italy, it's all about the bella figura (making a good impression), so when you step into this lovely little boutique hotel near the Colosseum, you'll know you've hit the jackpot: between the marble decor and reproductions of antiquated paintings, the Duca d'Alba definitively tells the traveler that their stay will be a clean and comfortable one, and the hotel's attentive staff and reasonable rates make it a good value to boot. The tasteful neoclassical-style decor includes custom-designed furnishings and marble bathrooms. Guest rooms are styled in a modern motif with striped or plaid wallpaper, flat-screen TVs, and hardwood floors. The presence of fresh flowers around the hotel and in the rooms is also a nice touch. Breakfast consists of an ample buffet.

    Hotel Details

  • 27 rooms, 1 suite.
  • Rate includes breakfast.
  • Credit cards accepted.
Updated: 03-19-2014

Fodorite Reviews

Average Rating:  
  • Room  
    Décor  
    Service  
    Value  

    Location, Location, Location

    This hotel is located close to the Colosseum but tucked into a fairly residential neighbor. The rooms are updated, comfortable and quiet. After a long day of sightseeing it was nice to have several very good, authentic Roman restaurants within close walking distance of the hotel. The staff here could not have been more helpful and accommodating. Breakfast was provided with cappuccino available. Internet access was free which is a very nice amenity. I wold definitely stay here again.

    by shtravels, 9/24/12
  • Room  
    Décor  
    Service  
    Value  

    Duca d'Alba Review

    After reading Fodor's review, I looked up the hotel on the web and made a reservation through their site for our visit in October 2007, and we were very pleased! The hotel is in a great location... tucked away off the main street, but within a 10-minute walk of the Colosseo and the Forum -- it is also near a subway stop (which was convenient when traveling to Vatican City), and there are several good restaurants nearby. It has very small, but very clean and comfortable rooms, and the value is excellent. The breakfast was huge and tasty. The hotel staff was courteous and helpful. I recommend it!

    by janschwartz, 11/5/09
  • Room  
    Décor  
    Service  
    Value  

    Perfect Location at a great price

    We stayed @ the Duca d' Alba and found the location great for exploring Rome on foot. You are just blocks from the ancient city ruins. The rooms were small, but very clean and nice.It reminded me of a cruise ship cabin. The staff was very Helpful and friendly. The neighborhood is quiet and there are restaurants, a Rx and a ATM just around the corner. The Metro stop is a stones throw away. (Just beware of taking a tour with the Greenline Tours. We did, and got dropped off a couple of miles away from our hotel.)Breakfast is included in your room rate, and was plentiful with good coffee or espresso, fruit, juices, breads, eggs, ect. It was a great base for exploring Rome and at a reasonable price.

    by redroserazelle, 4/3/09
  • Room  
    Décor  
    Service  
    Value  

    BEWARE!!!

    BEWARE!!!
    The Duca d’Alba hotel makes money no matter what!
    I made reservation with the Duca d’Alba hotel with arrival on 08/27/2008 and departure on 08/28/2008, only for one night stay.
    On 08/26/2008 Tuesday afternoon I had a flight from Chicago to Philadelphia to make connection flight to Rome, Italy. My Chicago flight was delayed for 2,5 hours because there was a major outage in the computer flight network system. We arrived to Philadelphia approximately 45 min later after my plane to Rome took already off. The only available flight to Rome was next day 08/27/2008. I could not possible be in Rome on 8/27/2008 to stay at the Duca d’Alba hotel! While in Philadelphia, I contacted the Duca d’Alba hotel asking them to cancel my reservation, explaining them my unfortunate situation. But they refused to do it for me. Their argument was that there is a 48 hours cancellation policy. My case was truly exceptional. This delay was something that I could not be in control of.
    They did not care that this was something that could not be canceled 48 hours prior to arrival to their hotel. And the Duca d’Alba hotel charged my credit card for $185.00 anyway.
    Because of this delay I had to cancel my other reservations and all other companies were very responsive to my situation. They did me a favor of either refunding money or not charging my credit card.
    Only the Duca d’Alba hotel took my money and kept it.
    So, beware, it could happen to you too!!!

    by makryuch, 11/22/08

Add your own review

Advertisement

Travel Deals in Rome

View all travel deals
* Some taxes, fees additional

View more trip reports

  • What to wear

    We are spending three days in Amsterdam, five in Rome, two in Florence and three days in Venice the first 2 weeks of May. Read more

View more travel discussions

· News & Features

View more blog stories