Sign Up
Newsletter Signup
Free Fodor's Newsletter

Subscribe today for weekly travel inspiration, tips, and special offers.

Fodor's Weekly: Your expert travel wrap-up
Today's Departure: Your daily dose of travel inspiration (coming soon)

Rome Hotels

Duca d'Alba

  • Via Leonina 14 Map It
  • Practical Base

Pros

  • Great breakfast selection
  • Fitness center
  • Deep discounts if you book directly on their site

Cons

  • Some rooms are cramped and worn around the edges
  • Late-night revelers from the Irish pub across the way. Via Leonina 14, Monti, Rome, 00184. 06/484471. www.hotelducadalba.com. 27 rooms, 1 suite. In-room: a/c, safe, kitchen (some), Internet, Wi-Fi. In-hotel: bar, gym, business center. Breakfast. Cavour

Updated 03/19/2014

Fodor's Review

Duca d'Alba. In Italy, it's all about the bella figura (making a good impression), so when you step into this lovely little boutique hotel near the Colosseum, you'll know you've hit the jackpot: between the marble decor and reproductions of antiquated paintings, the Duca d'Alba tells the traveler that their stay will be a clean and comfortable one, and the hotel's attentive staff and reasonable rates make it a good value to boot. The tasteful neoclassical-style

decor includes custom-designed furnishings and marble bathrooms. Guest rooms are styled in a modern motif with striped or plaid wallpaper, flat-screen TVs, and hardwood floors. The presence of fresh flowers around the hotel and in the rooms is also a nice touch. Breakfast consists of an ample buffet.

Read More

Hotel Information

Address:

Via Leonina 14, Rome, 00184, Italy

Map It

Phone:

06-484471

Hotel Details:

  • Credit cards accepted
  • 27 rooms, 1 suite
  • Breakfast

Updated 03/19/2014

Book A Hotel

Advertisement

Map View

Map of



What's Nearby

  • Restaurants

Fodorite Reviews

Average Rating
  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Sep 24, 2012

Location, Location, Location

This hotel is located close to the Colosseum but tucked into a fairly residential neighbor. The rooms are updated, comfortable and quiet. After a long day of sightseeing it was nice to have several very good, authentic Roman restaurants within close walking distance of the hotel. The staff here could not have been more helpful and accommodating. Breakfast was provided with cappuccino available. Internet access was free which is a very nice amenity.

I wold definitely stay here again.

Read More
  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Nov 5, 2009

Duca d'Alba Review

After reading Fodor's review, I looked up the hotel on the web and made a reservation through their site for our visit in October 2007, and we were very pleased! The hotel is in a great location... tucked away off the main street, but within a 10-minute walk of the Colosseo and the Forum -- it is also near a subway stop (which was convenient when traveling to Vatican City), and there are several good restaurants nearby. It has very small, but very

clean and comfortable rooms, and the value is excellent. The breakfast was huge and tasty. The hotel staff was courteous and helpful. I recommend it!

Read More
  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Apr 3, 2009

Perfect Location at a great price

We stayed @ the Duca d' Alba and found the location great for exploring Rome on foot. You are just blocks from the ancient city ruins. The rooms were small, but very clean and nice.It reminded me of a cruise ship cabin. The staff was very Helpful and friendly. The neighborhood is quiet and there are restaurants, a Rx and a ATM just around the corner. The Metro stop is a stones throw away. (Just beware of taking a tour with the Greenline Tours. We

did, and got dropped off a couple of miles away from our hotel.)Breakfast is included in your room rate, and was plentiful with good coffee or espresso, fruit, juices, breads, eggs, ect. It was a great base for exploring Rome and at a reasonable price.

Read More
  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Nov 22, 2008

BEWARE!!!

BEWARE!!! The Duca d’Alba hotel makes money no matter what! I made reservation with the Duca d’Alba hotel with arrival on 08/27/2008 and departure on 08/28/2008, only for one night stay. On 08/26/2008 Tuesday afternoon I had a flight from Chicago to Philadelphia to make connection flight to Rome, Italy. My Chicago flight was delayed for 2,5 hours because there was a major outage in the computer flight network system. We arrived to Philadelphia

approximately 45 min later after my plane to Rome took already off. The only available flight to Rome was next day 08/27/2008. I could not possible be in Rome on 8/27/2008 to stay at the Duca d’Alba hotel! While in Philadelphia, I contacted the Duca d’Alba hotel asking them to cancel my reservation, explaining them my unfortunate situation. But they refused to do it for me. Their argument was that there is a 48 hours cancellation policy. My case was truly exceptional. This delay was something that I could not be in control of. They did not care that this was something that could not be canceled 48 hours prior to arrival to their hotel. And the Duca d’Alba hotel charged my credit card for $185.00 anyway. Because of this delay I had to cancel my other reservations and all other companies were very responsive to my situation. They did me a favor of either refunding money or not charging my credit card. Only the Duca d’Alba hotel took my money and kept it. So, beware, it could happen to you too!!!

Read More

By Rachel

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jun 2, 2004

Great Location, Near the Metro and the Colleseum

Clean, comfortable and small. By European standards are great room. The staff was friendly and helpful (one evening desk clerk left something to be desired but he was the exception). Great neighborhood restaurants, inexpensive for the most part. I highly recommend. Great value for the price.

By Liz

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jul 16, 2003

Great service

Despite accidentally cancelling the reservation for one of our rooms for 1 night, the service at this hotel was excellent. They immediately found a room around the corner for the same rate. Breakfast was hearty and delicious. The location is good for a first-time traveler to Rome. Our room was small, but our friends stayed in a "family suite" which was much larger. Overall: a good value.

By Sharon

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

May 6, 2003

A Good Find

Have just returned from 4 nights at the Duca D'Alba, which we booked following the reviews on this site. It's centrally located in a relatively quiet back-road (which took a bit of finding first time!) 5 minutes from the Colesseum. The room was small but spotlessly clean and perfectly adequate with en-suite shower and cable tv - and we had a terrace which was perfect for those hot evenings relaxing with a bottle of wine al-fresco. The staff couldn't

do enough to help and the front desk spoke perfect English. The breakfast was adequate, the usual cakes, breads, cereals and egg&bacon. However my one complaint would be that they did not replenish the fresh strawberries, and by 8.30am they were gone! Overall a nice little hotel which is perfect if you want to be centrally located, without paying over the odds, and are looking for accommodation which is clean and functional rather than luxurious.

Read More

By Jeff

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Feb 23, 2003

Very good hotel in a great location

We spent three weeks in Italy this summer, and this was one of the nicest hotels we visited. The room was small (but well within European norms), but very nice and clean. They serve a very good breakfast. The location is superb: in the heart of "ancient" Rome, but still quiet.

By Ruth

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Dec 16, 2002

Wonderful Roman Experience

Just got back from a wonderful one week stay at the Duca D'Alba. The room was a little small and shabby, but well within european standards. The front desk team was outstanding!

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Dec 1, 2002

Location, location, location

We've just returned from a five day trip to Rome, and booked the hotel as a result of feedback from this website. Yes, our room at the back of the hotel was small but spotlessly clean and fine for the time of year (I imagine it would be unbearably hot in summer). Staff were pleasant and helpful; breakfasts adequate and welcome. But the location was truly excellent. I'd stay here again no problem and have already recommended it to friends.

By Kay

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Oct 29, 2002

Delight at Duca D'Alba

This is a wonderful hotel in a very quaint area. Off the busy streets it was a little haven after a busy day. The staff was very friendly and helpful. Great location with the Metro station so close. I would return again! Thanks Max and Angelo.

By Carol

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jan 28, 2002

Quad Room ?????

We enjoyed our stay at Duca D'Alba once we were moved into two double rooms. Our family (2A/2C) stayed at the Duca D'Alba in late December 2001. I had reserved a quad room, but when we arrived, they put us in room 101 (which according to the rate sheet located in the room has an occupancy of 2+1). To say that this room was crowded is an understatement - it was a fire hazard. After I went down to the lobby twice to discuss this issue, they agred

to move us to two other rooms, but it ended up costing me $500 more than I had planned. My advice is that if you are booking a quad room at the Duca D'Alba, get written confirmation from the hotel that your room can legally hold 4 people.

Read More

By Rick

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

May 1, 2001

What a great little place!

My wife and I were very pleased with this property! The employees were cheerful and very helpful. The free breakfast was a nice little perk, as well. The room was pretty small, but it was also very clean and comfortable. As for convenience, it's two blocks from the Coleseum, and walking distance to most everything else in Central Rome. $160.00/night seems high to me, but that was the average of all similar properties that time of year. Highly

recommended!

Read More

By Linda

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jul 9, 2000

Great Value

We stayed at the Duca d'Alba and found the rooms, staff, location, and price so fabulous that we've sent friends there and will return ourselves someday. This is a very charming hotel.

Show All

Add Your Own Review

When did you stay?

Minimum 200 character count

How many stars would you give?

Room

Décor

Service

Value

Advertisement