Sign Up
Newsletter Signup
Free Fodor's Newsletter

Subscribe today for weekly travel inspiration, tips, and special offers.

Fodor's Weekly: Your expert travel wrap-up
Today's Departure: Your daily dose of travel inspiration (coming soon)

Rome Hotels

Britannia

  • Via Napoli 64 Map It
  • Clubby Atmosphere
  • Fodor's Choice

Pros

  • Spacious
  • Comfortable rooms with free Wi-Fi
  • Some pets are allowed
  • Good service

Cons

  • Rooms can be noisy for light sleepers
  • Not very close to the city's main attractions. Via Napoli 64, Esquilino, Rome, 00184. 06/4883153. www.hotelbritannia.it. 33 rooms, 1 suite. In-room: safe, Wi-Fi. In-hotel: bar, business center, parking, some pets allowed. Breakfast. Repubblica

Updated 03/19/2014

Fodor's Review

Britannia. Situated in an elegant Art-Nouveau palazzo dating back to 1876, this charming hotel feels like a luxurious private home, with all the modern amenities. Located between the Quirinale and Viminale hills, the hotel, which was originally built as a residence for Prince Philip Don Orsini, is furnished with rich fabrics and original artwork. The attention to detail is evident in every corner, from the frescoed halls to the breakfast room. Guests also

enjoy modern comforts like satellite TV, free Wi-Fi, a free mini-bar replenished daily, and Jacuzzi tubs in handsome marble bathrooms. The attentive staff delivers English-language dailies and local weather to your room each morning.

Read More

Hotel Information

Address:

Via Napoli 64, Rome, 00184, Italy

Map It

Phone:

06-4883153

Hotel Details:

  • Credit cards accepted
  • 33 rooms, 1 suite
  • Breakfast

Updated 03/19/2014

Book A Hotel

Advertisement

Map View

Map of



What's Nearby

  • Hotels
  • Restaurants
  • Sights

See all hotels in Rome

Fodorite Reviews

Average Rating

By marcy

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Aug 15, 2005

we're lovin it!

we researche many hotel possibilities through our fodors guide and booked our stay at britannia based on the information we found there. we were quite pleased w/the accomodations, but more importantly, we were most impressed with the hotel staff. they went out of their way to be helpful, and did whatever possible to ensure our stay was a pleasant one. the staff helped w/dinner recommondations and reservations where needed, arranged an outstanding

private tour guide, and a smile upon our departure each day and return each evening. we did, of course, love the beautiful breakfast each morning...what a way to start the day. we highly recommend this hotel to any traveller.

Read More

By Peter

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jul 24, 2005

Very Disappointed

I have just returned from a 3 week holiday touring Italy. I stayed at the Brittania for 2 nights and was extremely disappointed. During the three weeks I stayed at 8 different hotels. All of the hotels I stayed at, I selected through Fodors and out of all of them Hotel Brittania offered the poorest facilities in terms of the price charged. The room was okay - but only okay. It was nothing special - and it was called the Junior Suite and cost

280 euros a night. The safe did not work, there was no ironing facilities, the air conditioning was inconsistant, the terrace was overlooked by offices, the trouser press did not work, the tv had poor reception and the remote didn't work properly,we had to wait for a table at breakfast because there wasn't enough clean tables, the food at breakfast was average. I spoke with other guests who also felt that they were being overcharged for what was being offered. All in all it was very poor value for money. I will not be staying at the Hotel Brittania again and wouldn't recommend it to anyone- whilst in Rome I looked in several other hotels - they all offered better facilities at a much lower price. I raised the issues when I checked out and was told that the hotel never receives complaints - well you have now. No offer was made to reduce the cost of the stay and no apology was made. I am also disappointed with Fodors and have concerns about the write up in their book for Hotel Brittania. I have used Fodors for several years and never been let down by their recommendations. Peter and Anne

Read More
  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Feb 8, 2005

OLD WORN OUT HOTEL

We were very unhappy here. First of all we lost our luggage at the airport and we were very frustrated with the help we got from the front desk. The location was not good as well as the rooms were very small and needed to be updated!! The only good thing about this hotel was the breakfast buffet. It was delicious. Oh, and one night we came in about 1:00 AM and we had a hard time waking the front deak up to let us in!!!! I would not stay here again!

By Phyllis

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Apr 3, 2003

English bathrooms, wallpaper and furniture

The bathroom and room were delightful. We had a shower and English tub, including a window in the bathroom and a bowl of live fish. We had turndown service each night with a candy placed on the bed. The breakfast buffet each day was quite good, even though the breakfast room has no view. The concierge, Mario, recommended a restaurant nearby, Il Barroco, which was poor. The street outside the hotel was quiet. The location near Piazza

della Republica was convenient to the Metro. The neighborhood on Via Nazionale is so-so.

Read More

By Jack

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Sep 15, 2002

Brittania-- we're still homesick for Rome!

While my countryman Scott from Atlanta has railed against the size and the doors at the Brittania, my wife and I (ironically also from Atlanta) found it to be an exceptional experience. From the first evening at the Brittania (in fact, from the first phone call) we were made to feel like honored guests. We felt like we were treated more like familiy than guests at a hotel. Mario and Maddelena were friendly and more than courteous-- they would chat

with us about our day, and help us with anything. They were also extremely thoughtful, and made our first anniversary a very special occasion. We ended up exchanging our emails, and offering them our house any time they are in the States. To me, this speaks clearly about the experince we had in Roma. If you are not used to Europe, the rooms and bathrooms may seem small. The bathrooms are definintely not designed for two people to shower together! But we found the place to be delightful. We walked to everywhere in Rome: the Colisseum, Forum, Villa Borghese, Via Veneto, Trevi Fountain, St. Peter's, etc. Our typical day involved setting out mid morning and returning at 11 or 12 PM. To us, Brittania seemed to be perfectly sited to reach anything. Definitely take Mario up on his restaurant recommendation. We ate at a simply fantastic family run trattoria. The food was unbelievable! If you are the kind of person who likes that "corporate feel" with the palatial lobby and the uniform service (efficient but somehow devoid of warmth), then Brittania is not for you. I'm not passing judgement-- that's fine if you're that kind of folks, and I'd like you to know up front. However, if you're the kind of person who values the experience and the flavor of your hotel, in addition to your experience in Rome, I'd highly recommend the Brittania. You'll feel like you're in Rome, but the staff will make you feel at home, at the same time. Jack and Tania

Read More

By Deb

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Apr 30, 2002

Mario is "the man" !

We stayed six nights in the Britannia in the middle of April... We had no complaints. We have certainly stayed in much more posh establishments, but the staff here made all the difference. They were warm and friendly. The first night we stayed in a regular double room. It was a bit small by American standards, but for a European city it was normal. Bath was a good size and very clean. The other five nights we were able to stay in the suite on

the top floor which was quite large by European city standards. It had a lovely roof top terrace, good sized bath, plenty of room to move about and a very comfortable bed. The price was a great deal for Rome. But the very best part of our stay was the help from the front desk staff. Their English was excellent and their advice priceless. Mario and Maddelina were terrific. Restaurant suggestions were excellent. All six nights, each in a different place, we had fine food at reasonable prices. Information on taxi service, car service to/from airport, sites to see and when, were all very useful. The staff made you feel very welcome. We'd stay there again.

Read More

By Don

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Aug 19, 2001

Service That Can't be Beat

The Britannia is a good value in one of the less traveled areas of Rome, near the Cathedral of Santa Maria Maggiore and Termini Station. Service here was excellent! Mario the manager can be counted on to arrange whatever you need. He arranged for a driver to meet us at the airport upon our arrival and he was on time and for a very reasonable price. Every restaurant recommendation of Mario's was worthwhile, too. When the AC in our room didn't quite

cool it in hot August, Mario brought an excellent fan to the room while we were at dinner. He will do whatever needed to make your stay better. Definitely consider the rooftop terraces; we had room 403. It had three single beds, jacuzzi, mini-fridge and extra space compared to smallish European hotel rooms. It was worth the extra lira!

Read More

By Donna

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Aug 7, 2001

Fabulous Find

We have stayed at the Britannia twice and found it to be a real gem. We like the location; approx 1 mile to the Spanish steps with a lovely gelati (sp?) stop, fountains, etc. on the way. As previously stated by other guests, the breakfast, decor, and service are excellent. Travel tip: We are VERY experienced travelers, and the gypsies got us! So believe me when I tell you that if you ride the buses, you have a very good chance of getting pickpocketed.

It's not worth it--take a taxi!

Read More

By John

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jul 5, 2001

Hail Britannia

We stayed at the Britannia for a week this Spring and thoroughly enjoyed it. For 450,000 Lira (~$200) we had a room on the top floor with a jacuzzi in the bathroom and a private balcony outside our room. The room itself small and nice but not elegant. The selling points were definately the balcony and the jacuzzi. The jacuzzi was wonderful after a full day of hiking around Rome. Our routine was to come back early, soak in the jacuzzi, take a

nap as time allowed and then hit a wonderful restaurant. There is no view from the balcony as it is enclosed by bushes but it made a wonderful place to enjoy a bottle of wine. The service was great. We e-mailed them with a list of places we wanted to eat and the days we wanted to go there and they had it all arranged when we arrived. The location is good, walking distance to the termini (nice for daytrips) but lacks the variety of good restaurants found in some of the other areas. Overall, a fine value in expensive Rome. It may not be the Eden and it's bathroom doors may not live up to some people's standards, but it is a great place for the money.

Read More

By Marilyn

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Mar 3, 2001

Good value for Rome

What on earth is Scott from Atlanta's problem? The pocket doors are cheap? Talk about looking hard for a crab to make! This hotel is lovely--small, good service, nice breakfast, fine furniture. Our room was small--but the appointments were great.

Show All

Add Your Own Review

When did you stay?

Minimum 200 character count

How many stars would you give?

Room

Décor

Service

Value

Advertisement