Sign Up
Newsletter Signup
Free Fodor's Newsletter

Subscribe today for weekly travel inspiration, tips, and special offers.

Passport: Your weekly travel wrap-up
Today's Departure: Your daily dose of travel inspiration

Rome Hotels

Duca d'Alba

  • Via Leonina 14 Map It
  • Monti
  • Practical Base
Check Rates

Pros

  • Great breakfast selection
  • Fitness center
  • Deep discounts if you book directly on their site

Cons

  • Some rooms are cramped and worn around the edges
  • Late-night revelers from the Irish pub across the way. Via Leonina 14, Monti, Rome, 00184. 06/484471. www.hotelducadalba.com. 27 rooms, 1 suite. In-room: a/c, safe, kitchen (some), Internet, Wi-Fi. In-hotel: bar, gym, business center. Breakfast. Cavour

Updated 03/19/2014

Fodor's Review

Duca d'Alba. In Italy, it's all about the bella figura (making a good impression), so when you step into this lovely little boutique hotel near the Colosseum, you'll know you've hit the jackpot: between the marble decor and reproductions of antiquated paintings, the Duca d'Alba tells the traveler that their stay will be a clean and comfortable one, and the hotel's attentive staff and reasonable rates make it a good value to boot. The tasteful neoclassical-style

decor includes custom-designed furnishings and marble bathrooms. Guest rooms are styled in a modern motif with striped or plaid wallpaper, flat-screen TVs, and hardwood floors. The presence of fresh flowers around the hotel and in the rooms is also a nice touch. Breakfast consists of an ample buffet.

Read More

Hotel Information

Address:

Via Leonina 14, Rome, 00184, Italy

Map It

Phone:

06-484471

Hotel Details:

  • Credit cards accepted
  • 27 rooms, 1 suite
  • Rate includes Breakfast

Updated 03/19/2014

Book A Hotel

Advertisement

Map View

Map of



What's Nearby

  • Restaurants

Fodorite Reviews

Average Rating
  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Sep 24, 2012

Location, Location, Location

This hotel is located close to the Colosseum but tucked into a fairly residential neighbor. The rooms are updated, comfortable and quiet. After a long day of sightseeing it was nice to have several very good, authentic Roman restaurants within close walking distance of the hotel. The staff here could not have been more helpful and accommodating. Breakfast was provided with cappuccino available. Internet access was free which is a very nice amenity.

I wold definitely stay here again.

Read More
  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Nov 5, 2009

Duca d'Alba Review

After reading Fodor's review, I looked up the hotel on the web and made a reservation through their site for our visit in October 2007, and we were very pleased! The hotel is in a great location... tucked away off the main street, but within a 10-minute walk of the Colosseo and the Forum -- it is also near a subway stop (which was convenient when traveling to Vatican City), and there are several good restaurants nearby. It has very small, but very

clean and comfortable rooms, and the value is excellent. The breakfast was huge and tasty. The hotel staff was courteous and helpful. I recommend it!

Read More
  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Apr 3, 2009

Perfect Location at a great price

We stayed @ the Duca d' Alba and found the location great for exploring Rome on foot. You are just blocks from the ancient city ruins. The rooms were small, but very clean and nice.It reminded me of a cruise ship cabin. The staff was very Helpful and friendly. The neighborhood is quiet and there are restaurants, a Rx and a ATM just around the corner. The Metro stop is a stones throw away. (Just beware of taking a tour with the Greenline Tours. We

did, and got dropped off a couple of miles away from our hotel.)Breakfast is included in your room rate, and was plentiful with good coffee or espresso, fruit, juices, breads, eggs, ect. It was a great base for exploring Rome and at a reasonable price.

Read More
  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Nov 22, 2008

BEWARE!!!

BEWARE!!! The Duca d’Alba hotel makes money no matter what! I made reservation with the Duca d’Alba hotel with arrival on 08/27/2008 and departure on 08/28/2008, only for one night stay. On 08/26/2008 Tuesday afternoon I had a flight from Chicago to Philadelphia to make connection flight to Rome, Italy. My Chicago flight was delayed for 2,5 hours because there was a major outage in the computer flight network system. We arrived to Philadelphia

approximately 45 min later after my plane to Rome took already off. The only available flight to Rome was next day 08/27/2008. I could not possible be in Rome on 8/27/2008 to stay at the Duca d’Alba hotel! While in Philadelphia, I contacted the Duca d’Alba hotel asking them to cancel my reservation, explaining them my unfortunate situation. But they refused to do it for me. Their argument was that there is a 48 hours cancellation policy. My case was truly exceptional. This delay was something that I could not be in control of. They did not care that this was something that could not be canceled 48 hours prior to arrival to their hotel. And the Duca d’Alba hotel charged my credit card for $185.00 anyway. Because of this delay I had to cancel my other reservations and all other companies were very responsive to my situation. They did me a favor of either refunding money or not charging my credit card. Only the Duca d’Alba hotel took my money and kept it. So, beware, it could happen to you too!!!

Read More

Show All

Add Your Own Review

When did you stay?

Minimum 200 character count

How many stars would you give?

Room

Décor

Service

Value

Advertisement