Sign Up
Newsletter Signup
Free Fodor's Newsletter

Subscribe today for weekly travel inspiration, tips, and special offers.

Fodor's Weekly: Your expert travel wrap-up
Today's Departure: Your daily dose of travel inspiration (coming soon)

Florence Restaurants

La Casalinga

Updated 12/04/2013

Fodor's Review

Casalinga means "housewife," and this place has the nostalgic charm of a 1950s kitchen with Tuscan comfort food to match. If you eat ribollita anywhere in Florence, eat it here—it couldn't be more authentic. Mediocre paintings clutter the semipaneled walls, tables are set close together, and the place is usually jammed. The menu is long, portions are plentiful, and service is prompt and friendly. For dessert, the lemon sorbet perfectly caps off the meal.

Restaurant Information

Address:

Via Michelozzi 9/r, Florence, 50125, Italy

Map It

Phone:

055-218624

Restaurant Details:

  • Credit cards accepted
  • Closed Sun., 1 wk at Christmas, and 3 wks in Aug.

Updated 12/04/2013

Advertisement

Map View

Map of



What's Nearby

  • Hotels
  • Restaurants
  • Sights

See all restaurants in Florence

Fodorite Reviews

Average Rating

By trizzo

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

May 18, 2009

no pretense

I used to eat here daily while in college. It was a treat to come back years (decades???) later to find this place still vibrant and authentic. Just good, home-cooked meals with friendly, yet somewhat abrupt, service. Buon appetito!

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Feb 18, 2007

Home cooking

Ate there twice on my last visit,once at lunch and once at night. The service is somewhat gruff they serve great food you might expect from someones grandmother. Basic fare but quite tasty!You will probably need a reservation.

By opie

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Apr 13, 2004

Easy on the pocketbook, but choose carefully

After a week in Italy and the wallet getting a little thin, we ate here out of necessity as well as checking out it's reputation. The severely chic waitress was efficient to the point of striking fear in us, but we appreciated her direct honesty when describing the dishes. My spaghetti bolognese was greasy and overcooked, but a companion's roast chicken and potatoes were excellent. It was very crowded and suggest reservations on weekend nights. Prices

are reasonable (a rarity in Florence). Stick with the recommended dishes.

Read More

By Steven

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Oct 28, 2001

Where the locals are, but they accept tourists too!

We ate at this restaurant twice while in Florence. Once, we ordered like Americans and on the second trip, we ordered like an Italian with so many courses, but never felt overly stuffed. The food is simple and good with no pretensions. The atmosphere is like a town diner. Every town, village, street in the US should have one.

By Dean

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Oct 25, 2001

Dine with painters and royalty

On the day we dined here there were construction workers and bejeweled Tuscan ladies both hapily eating the hearty and rustic fare. The rpice for a meal for 2 was under $35.00 and would be under $30 at today's exchange rates. Not gourmet, but large portions of salumi, fresh vegetables raw or over cooked, roast chicken adn boiled tongue and the like. The house wine is only remotely related to wine and more closely related to rust remover, but somehow

it worked with the food. Come hungry!

Read More

By Jim

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Oct 15, 2001

This is the real deal!

This little restaurant just off the Piazza San Spirito is a must if you make it across the Arno while in Florence. It seems they seat the tourists n the smaller front room while locals stream past the line of tourists into a bigger back room, but maybe that is where you site with reservations. Whatever you do, this down-to-earth Tuscan eatery was a highlight of our meals in Italy. I started with "Bruschetta Toscana"--to large pieces of toasted Italian

bread--one with tomatoes, one with white beans. Fagioli Fantastico! The waitress took our order while serving the entire front room and never wrote a thing down until she sat at our table and computed the bill right on the tabletop's paper. Don't miss this place!

Read More

By Diane

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jun 1, 2001

Great Lunch with Local Flair

Busy, noisy, friendly and very local. We had lunch here before a 3:15 Ufizzi reservation. House wine was excellent. I had roast chicken that really was comfort food (following a morning with a queasy stomach!). We watched as tables full of Italians on lunch break ordered giant Tuscan steaks, and platters of antipasti. (One table of six men were happy to slice off their generous portions of a beautifully grilled steak). Well fortified, we were off

to overdose on the Medici's astounding collection!

Read More

Show All

Add Your Own Review

When did you go?

Minimum 200 character count

How many stars would you give?

Food

Décor

Service

Value

Advertisement