Sign Up
Newsletter Signup
Free Fodor's Newsletter

Subscribe today for weekly travel inspiration, tips, and special offers.

Fodor's Weekly: Your expert travel wrap-up
Today's Departure: Your daily dose of travel inspiration (coming soon)

Florence Restaurants

Osteria de'Benci

  • Via de' Benci 11–13/r Map It
  • $$
  • Italian
  • Fodor's Choice

Updated 12/04/2013

Fodor's Review

A few minutes from Santa Croce, this charming osteria serves some of the most eclectic food in Florence. Try the spaghetti degli eretici (in tomato sauce with fresh herbs). The grilled meats are justifiably famous; the carbonata is a succulent piece of grilled beef served rare. Weekly specials complement what's happening in the market, and all of the food pairs beautifully with their wine list, which is heavy on things Tuscan. When it's warm, you can dine

outside with a view of the 13th-century tower belonging to the prestigious Alberti family.

Read More

Restaurant Information

Address:

Via de' Benci 11–13/r, Florence, 50121, Italy

Map It

Phone:

055-2344923

Restaurant Details:

  • Credit cards accepted
  • Closed 2 wks in Aug.
  • Reservations essential

Updated 12/04/2013

Advertisement

Map View

Map of



What's Nearby

  • Hotels
  • Restaurants
  • Sights

See all restaurants in Florence

Fodorite Reviews

Average Rating
  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jun 10, 2008

Good food in a funky atmosphere

Excellent tuscan food that is not overpriced. This place has a very college feel to it with loud music and hippy type servers.

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

May 20, 2008

Less (money) is more (taste)

Delicious and inexpensive, what more is there to say? Young staff was blasting 1980s American music, which detracted from the atmosphere, but I forgot all about it when the food came out. Great Tuscan cooking.

By Bill

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Apr 23, 2006

Great place

We have eaten here twice; Spring and summer. The outside saeting was nicer. A little crowded inside in Spring. However, great food with nice service. We will go a third time.

By Doris

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Apr 15, 2004

Ask for Vanni and tell him Doris and Sol sent you!

An incredible place with food you will enjoy. Try the Smoked Mozzeralla with olive pate. Whether you are a carb person or a protein person they have both and plenty of it. The have a dish called "Drunken pasta" because it is cooked in red wine. Remember you are in Italy so the custom for meat is medium rare. You want wine they have it all. Get used to the history lesson because they love to tell you where the wine comes from. It helps if you have

a reservation because they get very busy. The menu is in Italian but they speak English so enjoy and ask for Vanni.

Read More

By Colleen

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Sep 23, 2001

Our favorite place in Florence!

We stumbled upon this place and loved it so much that we made a reservation to sit outside the next night. There is no English menu but the wait staff is happy to translate everything for you. Portions are big so an appetizer and pasta is plenty. They have all different types of brushetta which are excellent - our favorite was the one with white beans. So simple but so delicious. And the prices are very very reasonable.

By John

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jul 5, 2001

Malo Fromaggio - Good Food but "Beware of Cheese"

Good food at the right price. Waitress was a bit grumpy (maybe a bad day or maybe just a bit down in the duomo). Tortellini soup and the crostinis were tasty (par for the course in Italy) and the prices were reasonable. Portions were huge so still with one or two courses. We had the cheese antipasto and enjoyed it until we got one (white with brown crust) that tasted like cat poop. Now I'm no cat poop connoisseur, in fact I have yet to taste

cat poop but if I had, I'm certain that it would have tasted exactly like that cheese. Aside from that however, it was a decent meal at a reasonable price. I wouldn't let that piece of cheese deter me from going back but I would certainly avoid it.

Read More

By Theresa

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Apr 30, 2001

Plenty of local character

Seating is tight, and you may have to work your way down some stairs into the basement, but thankfully even the basement is air conditioned.My husband and I dined here our first night in Florence (July 2000) and we enjoyed it very much. We sat with a couple from Slovenia who told us they dine there everytime they are in Florence. We had our first Florentine Steak here. Good value.

By Martin

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Nov 22, 2000

Bring an extra stomach if you plan on eating your main course!

The portions are huge and by the time you get to your main course you will be quite full - My wife and I went to Italy on our honeymoon and found this restaurant by accident (it was around the corner from our Hotel) - excellent pumpkin risotto and a grilled steak that was larger than the plate (and it was a big plate) and covered in olive oil, garlic and rosemary. Awesome! We were so full that I asked for a "doggie bag" - apparently not an Italian

custom, because after some explaining our waitress brought out an aluminum tray covered with seran wrap! The ambiance is terrific too - sit downstairs if you can.

Read More

Show All

Add Your Own Review

When did you go?

Minimum 200 character count

How many stars would you give?

Food

Décor

Service

Value

Advertisement