Florence Restaurants

Advertisement

La Giostra

Fodorite Reviews

Average Rating:  

La Giostra Review

This clubby spot, whose name means "carousel" in Italian, was created by the late Prince Dimitri Kunz d'Asburgo Lorena, and is now expertly run by his handsome twin sons. In perfect English they will describe favorite dishes, such as the taglierini con tartufo bianco, a decadently rich pasta with white truffles. The constantly changing menu has terrific vegetarian and vegan options, and any meal that does not include truffles is significantly less expensive than those that do. For dessert, this might be the only show in town with a sublime tiramisù and a wonderfully gooey Sacher torte.

    Restaurant Details

  • Reservations essential
  • Credit cards accepted.
  • No lunch weekends.
Updated: 12-04-2013

Fodorite Reviews

Average Rating:  
  • Food  
    Décor  
    Service  
    Value  

    Emotion

    This year I visited the wonderful city of Florence and I ate in many restaurants until I discovered "La Giostra". It's a small distinctive restaurant frequented especially by florentine people but also by international famous cinema actors. The prices are not cheap but proportioned to the quality of the food and to the originality of the place. The owner is a very original and charme guy who is really able to give emotions with his dishes. The food is amazing and experience unforgettable!!

    by Julia_Langley, 11/23/06
  • Service  
    Décor  
    Value  
    Food  

    Wonderful Dining Experience

    My husband and I had a great dinner here a few weeks ago while vacationing in Italy. I read an excellent review in the Fodor's "talk" section and also saw it recommended on Zagat and Eye Witness' "Top Ten Tuscany" book so decided we must try it. We were not disappointed! The son was our waiter and explained the menu perfectly. For the main entrée he recommended the goat which I loved. One of the best dishes I had our whole trip in Italy. The fried zucchini flowers were fabulous. We told him we wanted pasta with artichokes so he brought us a dish that wasn't on the menu but oh so wonderful. I also had the shrimp salad with avocado and kiwi. The shrimps were huge, the flavors fantastic. The portions are not small and they also start you off with the complementary hors d'oeuvres so take that into consideration when ordering. The wine decanting is a bit overboard but the whole dining experience was really fun, special and delicious. I would highly recommend this restaurant and I look forward to going again someday. It was one of the highlights of our trip.

    by TerryLFred, 5/10/07
  • Décor  
    Value  
    Service  
    Food  

    I always go here

    Every time I am in Florence I always have to go to this wonderful restaurant. I particularly like to go there during white truffle season. The beef Carpaccio with white truffles are perfect. However, any one whom does not understand the difference between real Tuscan food and the olive garden. Or to those who prefers their pasta smothered in an overdose of cheap tomato sauce, powdered garlic via American style then I recommend you do avoid.

    by DavidKar, 7/3/07
  • Food  
    Décor  
    Service  
    Value  

    overrated and pretentious

    No wine by the glass, overpriced wine list, the most unhelpful waiter I have ever had, without a doubt. He spent about 90 seconds with us..a server delivered the food.Menu is in Italian only, which is fine if you don't have a snob for a waiter who was rude and dismissive despite the fact that he spoke English quite well as was evidenced by his fake Italian accent ( I wonder where in the states he is from). The hostess was also rude. How dissapointing. Food is not that great and and exepensive. I have never reviewed a restaurant before...I was truly inspired tonight.

    by helgen111, 3/20/08
  • Food  
    Décor  
    Service  
    Value  

    Interesting decor, but excellent food and wine

    Came here on a Friday night without a reservation and they were able to squeeze us in. Our server was patient while we struggled with Italian, then started speaking perfect English to explain some menu items. They bring every table an antipasto platter (for free) after you order that is to die for. My husband had the best osso bucco he has ever tasted here. I had a pear ravioli, which was one of the most unique dishes I have ever tasted. The flashing christmas lights on the ceiling were an interesting decor choice, but the good food made up for it.

    by Kyla_McD, 6/10/08
  • Food  
    Décor  
    Service  
    Value  

    Great food, but...

    This place came highly recommended by friends. We noticed that there were no Italian diners there, only tourists. The "free" (there's a cover charge) prosecco and antipasto were a nice touch, and the food was delicious. No wine by the glass, however. And no half bottles either. When I didn't order a bottle, the service died. I cannot recommend this place...even though the pasta with porcini was the best I've ever had.

    by barron81, 8/28/08
  • Food  
    Décor  
    Service  
    Value  

    La Giostra Review

    www.ristorantelagiostra.com Off Piazza Salvemini near Santa Croce. From behind the Duomo take Via dell' Oriuolo to Borgo Pinti. Go left to #12. We loved this place. You receive a slightly eccentric but warm welcome from the staff, and they are happy to make suggestions for your food and wine, or plan the meal for you. The service is friendly and casual, but efficient. The other patrons are a mix of locals and tourists, and everyone seems to be enjoying themselves. The honeymoon couple next to us were there for the second night in a row. We considered doing the same. Food portions were generous; don’t over-order, or, ask for advice.

    by elaine, 11/1/09

Add your own review

Advertisement

· Map of La Giostra

Map of



Travel Deals
Forums