Sign Up
Newsletter Signup
Free Fodor's Newsletter

Subscribe today for weekly travel inspiration, tips, and special offers.

Fodor's Weekly: Your expert travel wrap-up
Today's Departure: Your daily dose of travel inspiration (coming soon)

Florence Restaurants

La Giostra

Updated 12/04/2013

Fodor's Review

This clubby spot, whose name means "carousel" in Italian, was created by the late Prince Dimitri Kunz d'Asburgo Lorena, and is now expertly run by his handsome twin sons. In perfect English they will describe favorite dishes, such as the taglierini con tartufo bianco, a decadently rich pasta with white truffles. The constantly changing menu has terrific vegetarian and vegan options, and any meal that does not include truffles is significantly less expensive than

those that do. For dessert, this might be the only show in town with a sublime tiramisù and a wonderfully gooey Sacher torte.

Read More

Restaurant Information

Address:

Borgo Pinti 12/r, Florence, 50121, Italy

Map It

Phone:

055-241341

Restaurant Details:

  • Credit cards accepted
  • No lunch weekends.
  • Reservations essential

Updated 12/04/2013

Advertisement

Map View

Map of



What's Nearby

  • Hotels
  • Restaurants
  • Sights

See all restaurants in Florence

Fodorite Reviews

Average Rating

By elaine

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Nov 1, 2009

La Giostra Review

www.ristorantelagiostra.com Off Piazza Salvemini near Santa Croce. From behind the Duomo take Via dell' Oriuolo to Borgo Pinti. Go left to #12. We loved this place. You receive a slightly eccentric but warm welcome from the staff, and they are happy to make suggestions for your food and wine, or plan the meal for you. The service is friendly and casual, but efficient. The other patrons are a mix of locals and tourists, and everyone seems

to be enjoying themselves. The honeymoon couple next to us were there for the second night in a row. We considered doing the same. Food portions were generous; don’t over-order, or, ask for advice.

Read More
  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Aug 28, 2008

Great food, but...

This place came highly recommended by friends. We noticed that there were no Italian diners there, only tourists. The "free" (there's a cover charge) prosecco and antipasto were a nice touch, and the food was delicious. No wine by the glass, however. And no half bottles either. When I didn't order a bottle, the service died. I cannot recommend this place...even though the pasta with porcini was the best I've ever had.

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jun 10, 2008

Interesting decor, but excellent food and wine

Came here on a Friday night without a reservation and they were able to squeeze us in. Our server was patient while we struggled with Italian, then started speaking perfect English to explain some menu items. They bring every table an antipasto platter (for free) after you order that is to die for. My husband had the best osso bucco he has ever tasted here. I had a pear ravioli, which was one of the most unique dishes I have ever tasted. The

flashing christmas lights on the ceiling were an interesting decor choice, but the good food made up for it.

Read More
  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Mar 20, 2008

overrated and pretentious

No wine by the glass, overpriced wine list, the most unhelpful waiter I have ever had, without a doubt. He spent about 90 seconds with us..a server delivered the food.Menu is in Italian only, which is fine if you don't have a snob for a waiter who was rude and dismissive despite the fact that he spoke English quite well as was evidenced by his fake Italian accent ( I wonder where in the states he is from). The hostess was also rude. How dissapointing.

Food is not that great and and exepensive. I have never reviewed a restaurant before...I was truly inspired tonight.

Read More
  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jul 3, 2007

I always go here

Every time I am in Florence I always have to go to this wonderful restaurant. I particularly like to go there during white truffle season. The beef Carpaccio with white truffles are perfect. However, any one whom does not understand the difference between real Tuscan food and the olive garden. Or to those who prefers their pasta smothered in an overdose of cheap tomato sauce, powdered garlic via American style then I recommend you do avoid.

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

May 10, 2007

Wonderful Dining Experience

My husband and I had a great dinner here a few weeks ago while vacationing in Italy. I read an excellent review in the Fodor's "talk" section and also saw it recommended on Zagat and Eye Witness' "Top Ten Tuscany" book so decided we must try it. We were not disappointed! The son was our waiter and explained the menu perfectly. For the main entrée he recommended the goat which I loved. One of the best dishes I had our whole trip in Italy. The fried

zucchini flowers were fabulous. We told him we wanted pasta with artichokes so he brought us a dish that wasn't on the menu but oh so wonderful. I also had the shrimp salad with avocado and kiwi. The shrimps were huge, the flavors fantastic. The portions are not small and they also start you off with the complementary hors d'oeuvres so take that into consideration when ordering. The wine decanting is a bit overboard but the whole dining experience was really fun, special and delicious. I would highly recommend this restaurant and I look forward to going again someday. It was one of the highlights of our trip.

Read More
  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Nov 23, 2006

Emotion

This year I visited the wonderful city of Florence and I ate in many restaurants until I discovered "La Giostra". It's a small distinctive restaurant frequented especially by florentine people but also by international famous cinema actors. The prices are not cheap but proportioned to the quality of the food and to the originality of the place. The owner is a very original and charme guy who is really able to give emotions with his dishes. The

food is amazing and experience unforgettable!!

Read More

By Liz

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jun 18, 2006

Best restaurant in Firenze

I lived in Firenze for 4 months, and La Giostra consistently tops the other restaurants through service, style, and of course the best food. All of the pastas and risottos are to dive for and the complimentary prosecco and appetizer samplers set the mood.

By John

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jan 9, 2006

Romantic New Year's Eve

Based on recommendations from fellow fodorits, I booked a table at La Giostra for New Year's Eve at 9:30 pm. Easily found a few blocks behind the Duomo, we were quickly escorted to our table in the rear of the restaurant. On the table were glasses with strawberries over which champagne was poured as we sat. We each ordered an appetizer, first and second course. Each dish was sublime. And we were entertained by the "prince" as he made his way

to each table talking with the guest. We skipped dessert so we could be outside when the New Year was rung in. The food and service was excellent. I would highly recommend the restaurant to anyone looking for a special meal while in Florence. It is expensive (at least for us) with the total for two at ¬210 - we did not drink any wine.

Read More

By Charles

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Mar 24, 2005

Truffles are the best!!!!!

Being a regular visitor to Florence, I have been here many times and have sent untold people here and they have always been dazzled. I can particularly recommend the Pasta with White Truffles as being sublime. The atmosphere is funky, the wait staff are friendly and everyone has a good time. People talk to each other from table to table, ask what dish youre eating and it feels like home. If you want the best food in Florence go to Cibreo for one

night. If you want a place to relax, have great food, great wine and enjoy yourself, La Giostra is the place.

Read More

By Gordon

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Sep 8, 2003

Best Food Experience

Visted in July 2003, exceptional food,amazing flavour and taste served from an excentric but amusing owner. Went 3 nights as everywhere else in Italy was second best

By Kim

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jun 16, 2002

The waiters are as appealing as the food...

During my one month stay in Florence last summer, I dined at La Giostra at least once a week, sometimes twice. It's a toss up whether I returned because of the superb food or because of sexy Dimitri and Saldania (the prince's twin sons). The meal begins with a glass of asti spumani, and a complimentary plate of appetizers. Next I recommend the delicious, fresh caprese salad. My favorite pasta was the tagliatelle with tomato sauce and pine nute

- to die for. The ravioli is also excellent. Dimitri or Saldania will perform the wine decanting process - very entertaining. The atmosphere is dim, romantic, and relaxing. During my five day stay this Florence this summer, I will definetly be back to La Giostra. Most likely more than once.

Read More

By Michael

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

May 18, 2002

Pricey, Pretentious, and Pretty damn dark

For the money, you can do better. Very expensive with gimmicky items like white truffles. The food is very rich, more Swiss than Italian. Perhaps Swiss/Italian alpine would sum it up. The interior is very dark. You'll find it either romantic or dingy.

By Deborah

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Oct 18, 2001

Best Italian Restaurant By Far............

What a nice surprise! This restaurant was perhaps our best meal in Florence and I highly reccommend it. The food was absolutely wonderful, the wait staff superb and very quick and those twin sons were a dream (one was our waiter and I couldn't stop staring!!) The restaurant was packed with locals and tourists alike but the food and service was excellent to all. A visit to Florence would not be COMPLETE without a meal (or two) at La Giostra!!

By Paula

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Aug 30, 2001

Don't miss this one!

Everything about this place was excellent. And to describe the son's as "handsome" is a major understatement!(I'm surprised they haven't been given a movie contract yet--I tried to convince them to open a branch in Seattle, but they haven't yet. Darn.)

By Paul

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Dec 10, 2000

WoW!!

Fun and more Fun! Lots of People Watching in this little boutique restaurant that is definetly clubby. Dress to impress.. sit down at the table.. and watch the show. Food is excellent.. value great..

By Caragh

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Nov 21, 2000

La Giostra not Chinese!

I called La Giostra and it's not a Chinese restaurant. I believe the concierge may have been misinformed.

By Amy

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Nov 2, 2000

Chinese food??

I love La Giostra and had the concierge attempt to make reservations for us there last week. Unfortunately, He said that it is now a Chinese restaurant! Has anyone eaten there recently??

Show All

Add Your Own Review

When did you go?

Minimum 200 character count

How many stars would you give?

Food

Décor

Service

Value

Advertisement