Sign Up
Newsletter Signup
Free Fodor's Newsletter

Subscribe today for weekly travel inspiration, tips, and special offers.

Fodor's Weekly: Your expert travel wrap-up
Today's Departure: Your daily dose of travel inspiration (coming soon)

Florence Restaurants

Enoteca Pinchiorri

  • Via Ghibellina 87 Map It
  • Italian

Updated 12/04/2013

Fodor's Review

A sumptuous Renaissance palace with high frescoed ceilings and bouquets in silver vases provides the backdrop for this restaurant, one of the most expensive in Italy. Some consider it one of the best, and others consider it a non-Italian rip-off, as the kitchen is presided over by a Frenchwoman with sophisticated, yet internationalist, leanings. Prices are high (think $100 for a plate of spaghetti) and portions are small; the vast holdings of the wine cellar (undoubtedly

the best in Florence), as well as stellar service, dull the pain, however, when the bill is presented.

Read More

Restaurant Information

Address:

Via Ghibellina 87, Florence, 50122, Italy

Map It

Phone:

055-242777

Restaurant Details:

  • Credit cards accepted
  • Closed Sun., Mon., and Aug. No lunch.
  • Reservations essential

Updated 12/04/2013

Advertisement

Map View

Map of



What's Nearby

  • Hotels
  • Restaurants
  • Sights

See all restaurants in Florence

Fodorite Reviews

Average Rating

By mercott

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Nov 7, 2011

Enoteca Pinchiorri Review

I couldn't agree more with the other New Yorkers. I won't get into prices until later. For a three star Michelin, overall, I was very disappointed in the food. We did the 6 course tasting. The amuses and the desserts I thought were clever and quite good - in particular a basil bread with some interesting toppings and our raspberry and sesame dessert, but all the courses in between were over salted, lacked creativity and left no lasting impression.

We had an amberjack tartar that was fine with a sprinkling of micro greens but no better than a standard tartar anywhere else; monkfish with foie gras was good, but the monkfish was a little dry, it was over salted and the proportion of this dish only gave you a small bite with the goose liver; I'll barely touch on the two pasta dishes as both were also completely over salted and underwhelming. And last before the dessert, a beef filet breaded in morels that I could barely finish despite it being such a small portion - the flavor of the morels did not come through and it just tasted like a piece of fried beef, a little greasy and not well balanced with the sauce. I don't have sour grapes at all, just as someone who used to cook professionally and has happily dropped large sums of money for amazing culinary experiences this just didn't match up. To touch on the expense of it, the cost for a seven course tasting at Noma, the number one restaurant in the world, is ten euros less. I just don't think this restaurant compares regardless of whether or not you can burden the cost.

Read More
  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jun 24, 2010

Enoteca Pinchiorri Review

What a ripoff! My husband was quite anxious to treat me to a three-star dinner on my first trip to Florence, but this restaurant did not live up to the expectations one would have of such an establishment. We later found out that the third star is granted based upon the size of the wine cellar. The concierge at our hotel told us (after it was too late) that the restaurant gets very mixed reviews. I was expecting waiters in the true European manner

who worked their way up after a 20-year apprenticeship. Instead we had two young women who scolded us for not eating all the food on our plate! We discovered that the front room of the restuarant is reserved for "tourists", since the locals were in a different, finely decorated room. I couldn't find something I wanted to eat, and finally settle on Pigeon (!). We each had a glass of mediocre wine, served with great flourish as was each course. 75 Euros each! The final tab was over 600 Euros, the service was annoying, and we were still hungry! Skip this place with a vengeance.

Read More

By Vitela

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jan 31, 2009

Foodies should detour to EP

These reviews are all over the map but after visiting the restaurant I think the two extremes can be reconciled... Without a doubt, EP has earned its place on the list of Top 50 restaurants in the world. It is not difficult to appreciate what is involved in delivering a meal worthy of more exuberant praise than I have time to write. And, the service is exceptional. Flawless even, though I hesitate to use that word. That being said, there

are a couple of things you have to get over. First, yes -- the price. Which is more these days because of the weak dollar. But it is worth every euro you will pay. However, don't make the mistake of ordering individual courses from the menu. If you are going to venture into EP, it is only worth your time if you are willing to spend the extra euro for one of the tasting menus. Makes no sense to go a la carte. The difference in price is small compared to the difference in what they will deliver. Some of the dishes are unforgettable, the rest superb. To limit yourself to just two or three courses does not give this chef ample opportunity to impress and, will leave you feeling dissatisfied when it comes to bang for your buck. Also, the wine list looks pricey. But, I had the wine flight that was 175 euro with the meal -- and it was all you can drink. Not just one glass of five different wines but all I wanted from five different bottles. That was a steal. There are other more expensive flights to choose from. If you don't want to purchase a pricey bottle of wine, this is the way to go. Now -- the decor. People, this is Europe...old Europe...and this restaurant has been successful for DECADES. During this time they have invested very little energy and money into the interior decorating. Get over it. EP is about inventive dishes that will knock your socks off. I don't think they much care that the rooms could use a facelift and if you are looking for modern or chic or trendy, you will be disappointed. They care more about the cuisine and if you are going to spend 500 euro per person to eat, I recommend that be your priority too. Also, it is a FRENCH restaurant with Italian influences. I know -- you are in Italy so you are expecting the best Italian food. Well, it is the best food you are going to get in Italy but, hey, the best food you get in New York is French too. I don't understand the criticisms that this isn't Italian food. I think the most important thing is to have appropriate expectations when dining at a restaurant of this caliber. Hopefully this review will put in perspective some of the criticisms so you are not dissuaded from enjoying one of the best meals in Europe. And, combined with the very friendly and accommodating staff, it was one of the best dining experiences I've ever had.

Read More

By Csdemos

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Mar 26, 2008

Simply the Best!

OK look. If you want one of the best meals in the world it's going to cost you... say... two car payments on your BMW... or two hours of New York lawyer time... or the price of an average suit. Deal with it. If you're not willing to pay, go eat at a trattoria and save your money. But if you love fine cuisine, Enoteca Pinchiori is, if not the best, one of the best restaurants in Europe. The mere presentation of desert is enough to elicit tears

of joy. Also, ask for a tour of the wine cellar!

Read More
  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jan 3, 2008

An outrageously good meal!

I just finished a meal at Enoteca Pinchiorri, and let me say that it was fantastic. I was a little worried after reading the other reviews here, but Michelin got it right -- 3 stars all the way. You'll never leave hungry if you order the tasting menu, plus it's a MUCH better deal than ordering a la carte. There are two tasting menus, the modern one is better in my opinion. Have an open mind, this isn't the place where you expect the tagliatelle

with pomodoro and basil to be 10x better than the trattoria down the street -- it's modern, creative, delicious french/italian fusion. It's food as art and theater, which unfortunately is something Americans usually don't understand. If you like Alain Ducasse, then you'll love this place. Sure, it's expensive, but the same price as other 3-star restaurants in Paris. They haven't raised their prices in euros much in the past 5 years, but the dollar's value has decreased, so meals are consequently 50% more expensive. The wine is expensive, but a great deal if you love wine. And if you know French and Italian wines, you'll have no problem recognizing the names. The wine tastings are not by the glass -- it's all you can drink, 4-5 different bottles from 175 euros per person and up, which makes it a good deal considering what you can get and how much. Or just order a bottle -- we did. Our meal included white truffles from Alba, but not prepared in the normal way (plainly sliced over pasta). Instead, it was used as a flavoring enhancer for fondue, a pasta dish and even tiramisu! Definitely the highlight of our 4-hour meal.

Read More

By krmmahr

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Dec 28, 2007

not just ridiculously expensive, the food is bad

my husband and I were so appalled at the quality of the food, the choices available, and the prices that we ended up laughing through dinner. I have eaten in some of the best restaurants in the world - and this is not one of them, The service was fine, but c'mon, a menu for bottled water? As we were sitting there we watched other diners' reactions and they ranged from shocked bemusement to one young, american couple, maybe on their honeymoon, who

when the wife finally saw the prices (women receive a no price menu) realized they had to leave. Her husband would have stuck it out, but she called the maitre'd over, said she had to leave because she didn't eat meat or fish, when she was told they could come up with soething she said she had to leave, and did, her husband following. It was very sad, but I wish I had her courage. We ended up paying $800.00 for a sub par meal.

Read More
  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jul 16, 2007

DO NOT GO - subpar food at ridiculous prices!

Just got back from a one month trip to Europe and this was the most expensive meal I had! Service: Maitre d' was rude and gave us attitude. The servers insisted that my father kept his jacket on the entire meal even though the room was hot. Decor: They sat us in a room upstairs with cheap decor (not like the pictures u see on their homepage) - cheap 80s disco lights hanging above our tables. Food: Each course was very small and about 100Euros

each. The tasting menu is better value (around 250) but problem is the dishes weren't original or superb in quality. I live in NYC and am used to fine dining (per se, gordom ramsey) and Enoteca was far below my expectations. I would pay no more than $60 in NYC for what I got there. The only reason we stayed was because they had a 200euro per person cancellation/no show fee if we had left. Other people sitting around us had equally appalled expressions when they realized how expensive it was and what they were being served. BE WARNED!!!

Read More

By Robert

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Oct 22, 2006

Beware of mafiosi claiming your table

My experience at this establishment was very 'special' to say the least. When we (party of four) were to start our main courses, a duo of locals walked in, straight to our table, and remained standing there, gesturing and snapping fingers to the staff. Were were then asked (or told, really, but they were very apologetic about it) to move to a different table, as the 'local businessmen' were very good clients who demanded their regular table.

Normally one would be seriously annoyed, but in this case it added an interesting touch of (stereo-typical) authenticity. I came to this restaurant by invitation - fortunately, because the prices are outrageous. Even for three-star restaurants this is pushing it too far, but Enoteca Pinchiorri, while serving great food, is not up there with the other three-star greats. One star, absolutely. Our bill was outrageous, even with a 'moderately priced' wine, at EUR 780 a head (USD 950), dinner is not something to recommend to just anyone. For this money you can have three exquisite meals in for example the great Sonnora (Germany) or Parkheuvel (Holland), and then you will have a true three-star meal. Enoteca is, unfortunately, missable.

Read More

By Brian

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Oct 5, 2006

shockingly high prices - wine pairing rip-off

We had a party of 8 at this restaurant and the tab per couple was Euro 1,077. The wine pairing at Euro 200 per person was a joke - not one recognizable fine wine served, alot of this is a great wine but you can't find it (table red, table white, etc.) Food courses kept coming but I wouldn't call it Italian cuisine at all. Not in as good as French Laundry, Charlie Trotter, Masa or Le Bernadine. You can pass on this restaurant.

By Marcia

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Aug 7, 2006

Wouldn't go back if it was the last place to eat on earth!

I thought the food was very submarginal...particularly for the price! There was only one course out of 8 that I thought was decent food. The service was OK if rather "stiff" and arrogant. As for value, there was none. The cheapest anyone can expect to get out of the place is about 250E/person which is absurd. They require a credit card with your reservation so they can charge it a minimum if you decide not to eat. Beware, appetizers start at

90E each.

Read More

By Sophia

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jan 7, 2006

best restaurant in the world!

beautiful romantic setting high wait staff to diner ratio, about 1:1. someone different for your water, your bread, your server, your wine, etc. we challenged them by bringing a vegetarian at the last minute and required them to whip up a 9 course menu for her and she wasn't really a vegetarian but was vegetarian temporarily and she loved it! which means that if they can make a 9 course vegetarian meal taste great to a non-vegetarian, that's an

accomplishment cheese tray is the most extensive I have seen, In fact it was 3 separate large trays which required 3 people to bring it in. each style (cow, goat, sheep) cheese paired with a different condiment e.g. chutney, honey, etc. you can't go wrong here. 100% non-smoking.

Read More
  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Oct 10, 2005

Unrecognisable dishes at rip off prices

Like so many before (and certainly also after)us wewere totally disappointed. The interiors is more than stiff and overdone, though we may life with this, however from the reception we did not feel like kings and well received guests but rather as people to push around and from whom to take the money. If it is the wine list and 'our freedom' to decide which one of these overpriced wines (though some are really very rare and exclusive), if we wish

to go to table or to the toilet, do we need a bunch of stiff and rather rejecting staff to accompany us ? If we count the time the staff and the masters / patrons took with the italian guests we felt totally ignored. One does not feel spoiled as expected and the rule at such top spots. Over the prices and the quality is little to say. The menu shows attractive dishes and combinations, but on the plates you can not recognize any of them. All ingredients and parts seem to have been manipulated so much and by intention that all tastes are perverted, unnaturally falsed (and this in Italy !!)eie Spitze der Kopchkunst sein ,wenn . Should this be the top of italian culinary Art , then we gladly go to trattorias and the other top spots in the world of cuisine. We never left a 2 and 3 * restaurant all over the world in such bad mood. Is this all because of the Tokyo influence ??

Read More

By Ellen

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Aug 3, 2005

Pinchiorri Disappoints the Second Time Around

This was our second visit to this restaurant in 2 years. We planned a stop in Florence specifically so that we could return to the restaurant since our first experience was outstanding. This time we were disappointed. While the food was excellent, creative, well-executed and beautifully presented, the overall experience left us cold. Our seating was in a room that seemed to have mostly other Americans and we got the impression that perhaps the

restaurant assumed that we wouldn't understand what the restaurant was all about and decided to "tuck us away". Our waitstaff (including the sommelier) while professional, was largely detached and by the end of a very long evening (4 hours and we were a party of 2) only one other table in the room had guests and the waitstaff were joking with them quite loudly while we were roundly ignored. At times the service was condescending. For all this, the bill was extremely high. We are willing to pay a lot for a fine dining experience, but at a top notch place such as this and certainly the way in which the restaurant touts itself, the bill definitely did not match the experience. There is a lot more to a spectacular meal than simply the food. Sadly, we do not plan to return to this restaurant anytime in the near future.

Read More

By Ian

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jul 22, 2005

Almost peerless

Quite simply one of the finest restaurants on Earth. Beautiful surroundings, perfect service and amazingly imaginative food.

By m

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jul 12, 2005

Superb!

A superb restaurant with an outstanding wine list. We enjoyed dining outside in the little courtyard, which although can be warm in summer offers a nice atmosphere. The degustation menu is a great option which we enjoyed. Yes it is expensive but worth it for a special occasion.

By David

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Oct 22, 2004

best there is just know it costs

the best meal i have ever had. the flights on the wine list allows to taste various wine without buying the bottle. Just be prepared to pay and if your not DON'T GO!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

By Letah

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Sep 20, 2004

How did this ever earn a star?

We love to travel and splurge on really great restaurants. This was very disappointing and a huge waste of money. The decor is beautiful but not unique to Florence. In fact,it does not really fit in to the charm of the city. The food was not very unusual or prepared in such a way to warrant the prices. The service is overly stuffy and not genuine. You know they are always there because they make a point of you knowing it. We had one bottle of their

least expensive bottle of wine for 50 euros, two courses for me, three for my husband, and did not order dessert. We asked for one glass of red wine and was chargeds 50 euros, which also must have included sparkling wine they deliver when you are sitted. I don't like being charged for things not ordered. Our bill was 490 euros.This restaurant is not of the quality of a French Laundry, Tour D'Argent..etc. I don't know how they earned a star.

Read More

By Charles

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Sep 29, 2003

Way overrated, ridiculously overpriced!

We know food and wine. We've dined at some of the best restaurants in the world, and we felt totally taken advantage of...felt like it would appeal to wanna be nouveau-riche types who are out to impress with how much money they can blow. Food was average--my lobster was undercooked! Skip this one and search out any number of authentic Tuscan eateries.

By Donald

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

May 6, 2002

World Class Dining....Just Be Prepared to Pay for It!

My wife and I dined at EP two evenings ago, capping off a week in Tuscany followed by 2 nights in Florence. Our expectations were high, and they were rewarded as well. The service was first rate from the moment we were escorted from our taxi to the door............ We chose one of the two seven course prix fix menus, which actually represent a value relative to the price of the entrees! Each course was a joy. The wine list is exhaustive. But

our dining experience was enhanced by our choice of one of the 15 or so wine flights, which range from 120 euros to 4000+ for a selection of wines. Be prepared to spend 600 euros(that will allow you to dfing super tuscans but not the Gaja's of the world) for a meal that you will never forget.

Read More

By Ruth

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Oct 29, 2001

Best Restaurant???

Really, the best food? How? The "free" appetizer was a bacon-rapped scallop in what tasted like Campells Cream of Mushroom soup. The entire meal was medicore - had the bill been only $150, I would have merely been disappointed - at $350, it was a crime.

Show All

Add Your Own Review

When did you go?

Minimum 200 character count

How many stars would you give?

Food

Décor

Service

Value

Advertisement