Florence Restaurants

Advertisement

Guidebooks

Enoteca Pinchiorri

Fodorite Reviews

Average Rating:  

Enoteca Pinchiorri Review

A sumptuous Renaissance palace with high frescoed ceilings and bouquets in silver vases provides the backdrop for this restaurant, one of the most expensive in Italy. Some consider it one of the best, and others consider it a non-Italian rip-off, as the kitchen is presided over by a Frenchwoman with sophisticated, yet internationalist, leanings. Prices are high (think $100 for a plate of spaghetti) and portions are small; the vast holdings of the wine cellar (undoubtedly the best in Florence), as well as stellar service, dull the pain, however, when the bill is presented.

    Restaurant Details

  • Jacket required.
  • Reservations essential.
  • Credit cards accepted.
  • Closed Sun., Mon., and Aug. No lunch.
Updated: 12-04-2013

Fodorite Reviews

Average Rating:  
  • Food  
    Décor  
    Service  
    Value  

    Enoteca Pinchiorri Review

    I couldn't agree more with the other New Yorkers. I won't get into prices until later. For a three star Michelin, overall, I was very disappointed in the food. We did the 6 course tasting. The amuses and the desserts I thought were clever and quite good - in particular a basil bread with some interesting toppings and our raspberry and sesame dessert, but all the courses in between were over salted, lacked creativity and left no lasting impression. We had an amberjack tartar that was fine with a sprinkling of micro greens but no better than a standard tartar anywhere else; monkfish with foie gras was good, but the monkfish was a little dry, it was over salted and the proportion of this dish only gave you a small bite with the goose liver; I'll barely touch on the two pasta dishes as both were also completely over salted and underwhelming. And last before the dessert, a beef filet breaded in morels that I could barely finish despite it being such a small portion - the flavor of the morels did not come through and it just tasted like a piece of fried beef, a little greasy and not well balanced with the sauce.

    I don't have sour grapes at all, just as someone who used to cook professionally and has happily dropped large sums of money for amazing culinary experiences this just didn't match up.

    To touch on the expense of it, the cost for a seven course tasting at Noma, the number one restaurant in the world, is ten euros less. I just don't think this restaurant compares regardless of whether or not you can burden the cost.

    by mercott, 11/7/11
  • Food  
    Décor  
    Service  
    Value  

    Enoteca Pinchiorri Review

    What a ripoff! My husband was quite anxious to treat me to a three-star dinner on my first trip to Florence, but this restaurant did not live up to the expectations one would have of such an establishment. We later found out that the third star is granted based upon the size of the wine cellar. The concierge at our hotel told us (after it was too late) that the restaurant gets very mixed reviews. I was expecting waiters in the true European manner who worked their way up after a 20-year apprenticeship. Instead we had two young women who scolded us for not eating all the food on our plate! We discovered that the front room of the restuarant is reserved for "tourists", since the locals were in a different, finely decorated room. I couldn't find something I wanted to eat, and finally settle on Pigeon (!). We each had a glass of mediocre wine, served with great flourish as was each course. 75 Euros each! The final tab was over 600 Euros, the service was annoying, and we were still hungry! Skip this place with a vengeance.

    by quinault, 6/24/10
  • Food  
    Décor  
    Service  
    Value  

    Foodies should detour to EP

    These reviews are all over the map but after visiting the restaurant I think the two extremes can be reconciled...

    Without a doubt, EP has earned its place on the list of Top 50 restaurants in the world. It is not difficult to appreciate what is involved in delivering a meal worthy of more exuberant praise than I have time to write. And, the service is exceptional. Flawless even, though I hesitate to use that word.

    That being said, there are a couple of things you have to get over. First, yes -- the price. Which is more these days because of the weak dollar. But it is worth every euro you will pay. However, don't make the mistake of ordering individual courses from the menu. If you are going to venture into EP, it is only worth your time if you are willing to spend the extra euro for one of the tasting menus. Makes no sense to go a la carte. The difference in price is small compared to the difference in what they will deliver. Some of the dishes are unforgettable, the rest superb. To limit yourself to just two or three courses does not give this chef ample opportunity to impress and, will leave you feeling dissatisfied when it comes to bang for your buck.

    Also, the wine list looks pricey. But, I had the wine flight that was 175 euro with the meal -- and it was all you can drink. Not just one glass of five different wines but all I wanted from five different bottles. That was a steal. There are other more expensive flights to choose from. If you don't want to purchase a pricey bottle of wine, this is the way to go.

    Now -- the decor. People, this is Europe...old Europe...and this restaurant has been successful for DECADES. During this time they have invested very little energy and money into the interior decorating. Get over it. EP is about inventive dishes that will knock your socks off. I don't think they much care that the rooms could use a facelift and if you are looking for modern or chic or trendy, you will be disappointed. They care more about the cuisine and if you are going to spend 500 euro per person to eat, I recommend that be your priority too.

    Also, it is a FRENCH restaurant with Italian influences. I know -- you are in Italy so you are expecting the best Italian food. Well, it is the best food you are going to get in Italy but, hey, the best food you get in New York is French too. I don't understand the criticisms that this isn't Italian food.

    I think the most important thing is to have appropriate expectations when dining at a restaurant of this caliber. Hopefully this review will put in perspective some of the criticisms so you are not dissuaded from enjoying one of the best meals in Europe. And, combined with the very friendly and accommodating staff, it was one of the best dining experiences I've ever had.

    by Vitela, 1/31/09
  • Food  
    Décor  
    Service  
    Value  

    Simply the Best!

    OK look. If you want one of the best meals in the world it's going to cost you... say... two car payments on your BMW... or two hours of New York lawyer time... or the price of an average suit. Deal with it. If you're not willing to pay, go eat at a trattoria and save your money. But if you love fine cuisine, Enoteca Pinchiori is, if not the best, one of the best restaurants in Europe. The mere presentation of desert is enough to elicit tears of joy. Also, ask for a tour of the wine cellar!

    by Csdemos, 3/26/08
  • Food  
    Décor  
    Service  
    Value  

    An outrageously good meal!

    I just finished a meal at Enoteca Pinchiorri, and let me say that it was fantastic. I was a little worried after reading the other reviews here, but Michelin got it right -- 3 stars all the way. You'll never leave hungry if you order the tasting menu, plus it's a MUCH better deal than ordering a la carte. There are two tasting menus, the modern one is better in my opinion. Have an open mind, this isn't the place where you expect the tagliatelle with pomodoro and basil to be 10x better than the trattoria down the street -- it's modern, creative, delicious french/italian fusion. It's food as art and theater, which unfortunately is something Americans usually don't understand. If you like Alain Ducasse, then you'll love this place. Sure, it's expensive, but the same price as other 3-star restaurants in Paris. They haven't raised their prices in euros much in the past 5 years, but the dollar's value has decreased, so meals are consequently 50% more expensive. The wine is expensive, but a great deal if you love wine. And if you know French and Italian wines, you'll have no problem recognizing the names. The wine tastings are not by the glass -- it's all you can drink, 4-5 different bottles from 175 euros per person and up, which makes it a good deal considering what you can get and how much. Or just order a bottle -- we did. Our meal included white truffles from Alba, but not prepared in the normal way (plainly sliced over pasta). Instead, it was used as a flavoring enhancer for fondue, a pasta dish and even tiramisu! Definitely the highlight of our 4-hour meal.

    by fooddigger1, 1/3/08
  • Food  
    Décor  
    Service  
    Value  

    not just ridiculously expensive, the food is bad

    my husband and I were so appalled at the quality of the food, the choices available, and the prices that we ended up laughing through dinner. I have eaten in some of the best restaurants in the world - and this is not one of them, The service was fine, but c'mon, a menu for bottled water? As we were sitting there we watched other diners' reactions and they ranged from shocked bemusement to one young, american couple, maybe on their honeymoon, who when the wife finally saw the prices (women receive a no price menu) realized they had to leave. Her husband would have stuck it out, but she called the maitre'd over, said she had to leave because she didn't eat meat or fish, when she was told they could come up with soething she said she had to leave, and did, her husband following. It was very sad, but I wish I had her courage. We ended up paying $800.00 for a sub par meal.

    by krmmahr, 12/28/07
  • Food  
    Décor  
    Service  
    Value  

    DO NOT GO - subpar food at ridiculous prices!

    Just got back from a one month trip to Europe and this was the most expensive meal I had! Service: Maitre d' was rude and gave us attitude. The servers insisted that my father kept his jacket on the entire meal even though the room was hot. Decor: They sat us in a room upstairs with cheap decor (not like the pictures u see on their homepage) - cheap 80s disco lights hanging above our tables. Food: Each course was very small and about 100Euros each. The tasting menu is better value (around 250) but problem is the dishes weren't original or superb in quality. I live in NYC and am used to fine dining (per se, gordom ramsey) and Enoteca was far below my expectations. I would pay no more than $60 in NYC for what I got there. The only reason we stayed was because they had a 200euro per person cancellation/no show fee if we had left. Other people sitting around us had equally appalled expressions when they realized how expensive it was and what they were being served. BE WARNED!!!

    by carmensandiego, 7/16/07

Add your own review

Advertisement

Travel Deals in Florence

View all travel deals
* Some taxes, fees additional

View more trip reports

View more travel discussions

· News & Features

View more blog stories