Sign Up
Newsletter Signup
Free Fodor's Newsletter

Subscribe today for weekly travel inspiration, tips, and special offers.

Fodor's Weekly: Your expert travel wrap-up
Today's Departure: Your daily dose of travel inspiration (coming soon)

Florence Restaurants

Baldovino

  • Via San Giuseppe 22/r Map It
  • Italian

Updated 12/04/2013

Fodor's Review

David and Catherine Gardner, expat Scots, have created this lively, brightly colored restaurant down the street from the church of Santa Croce. From its humble beginnings as a pizzeria, it has evolved into something more. It's a happy thing that pizza is still on the menu, but now it shares billing with sophisticated primi and secondi. The menu changes monthly, and has such treats as filetto di manzo alla Bernaise (filet mignon with light béarnaise sauce). Baldovino

also serves pasta dishes and grilled meat until the wee hours.

Read More

Restaurant Information

Address:

Via San Giuseppe 22/r, Florence, 50122, Italy

Map It

Phone:

055-241773

Restaurant Details:

  • Credit cards accepted

Updated 12/04/2013

Advertisement

Map View

Map of



What's Nearby

  • Hotels
  • Restaurants
  • Sights

See all restaurants in Florence

Fodorite Reviews

Average Rating
  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jul 8, 2010

Baldovino Review

We had pre dinner drinks followed by an excellent 3 course meal for 4, with wine water & coffee with liquers included in price of E150. The food was delicious. The staff were friendly & attentive. We returned for lunch and ate delicious starters of arabic breads with dips followed by a selection of Pizzas. Again wine & coffee were included at approx. 10 Euros per head. Highly recommend for excellent quality food, great service & a relaxed ambience.

Will go back again on next visit. Check out the menu online.

Read More

By audacis

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Dec 9, 2008

perfect for light dinner

I've been going to Baldovino since it opened, and find it consistently solid for a light dinner and pleasing to Americans and British who(sometimes) crave salads. They also managed to seat us as a party of fifteen (when we had booked for twelve people) on a busy Saturday night without batting an eye. Elena is professional and friendly as is the rest of the staff.

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Oct 16, 2008

lost that charm

We've known Baldovino since it's beginnings when the pizzas were generously decked and delicious, and the ambiance was rather cosy. Now it's more of a tourist reunion with prices to match.

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

May 12, 2007

Can't lose

We just got back from Florence. Because of recommendations I had read prior to leaving for the trip - we ate lunch at Bandolino our first day there. It was a great experience, therefore we returned two more times during our week there. Each time the food was fresh and delicious and the service some of the best we experienced during our month in Italy. Outdoor seating as well as indoor - it's a sure bet either way.

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Feb 18, 2007

Not as good as I hoped

Ate with agroup of eight two years ago and everyone was fairly satisfied. Last visit with group of four was dissapointing. Nothing special although the place was packed as usual.

By Debra

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Sep 4, 2006

A New Type of Italian Restaurant

This very casual restaurant is trying to do something different in Italy: their menu was almost like a casual American restaurant; you could have a full meal, but also pizzas, sandwiches, and entree salads, the only time I saw that in in Italy. The staff is young and a little forgetful, but they were pleasant and helpful.The food was wonderful and fresh; I had an appetizer of grilled vegetables that took simple ingredients and made them even better.

By Joe

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

May 26, 2006

Bustling Bardolino best bet for blooming good bargain

I'm saddened by some of your other reviewers comments . Have just returned from Florence and found Baldovino providing it's usual good standard of tasty , imaginative fare and quick , friendly service - and who also have the common courtesy to respond affirmatively to e-mail requests for table bookings . [The Enoteca next door gives an equally good quality menu and service too ] .

By Liz

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Dec 31, 2004

So Sad to See this Trattoria Get This Rating!

We have eaten here at least three times on different trips. The first in August of 2001. Good food and service then. We ate here on 12/26/04 and it wasn't the same. Too many tourists? I guess. Waitress looked stoned, out of it. She even got the food order mixed up. Decent pizza margherita. Decent spaghetti with pignole, but nothing interesting to make a special trip for with all of the choices in Firenze. When we left, we got a hearty thank-you

from the guy at the desk--he sounded directly from the Midwest! Later that nite we walked by on our way to another restaurant and the place was packed by 8:00. I'd eat here again--only in a pinch!

Read More
  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

May 11, 2003

Very Good

Very good food at great prices. We had 1/2 liter of house white wine. My husband had an antipasto appetizer, then the skewer entree of veal, chicken & sausage. I had the caprese salad (avocado, mozzarella & tomato) then the clam risotto w/ peas & herbs. We split a plate of vegetables, bottle of water. Then 2 after dinner drinks. The bill was only 50.75 euro! Very good food at a great value.

By Lee

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jun 29, 2002

Major disappointment

Based on raves below, we expected a really good meal. A few of the dishes were quite good, but others most definitely were not -- steak so overcooked the waiter not only took it back but gave us free wine in compensation; a pasta dish that was quite mediocre (really hard to find that in Italy). We did enjoy the lively atmoshpere.

By Deborah

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Oct 18, 2001

Good Value For The Price

Had an 8:30pm reservation. Got there at 8:15 but didn't get seated until 8:45pm. Once seated food was very good and service was excellent. All in all this is a good choice but I wouldn't rate the food excellent, but very good, yes.

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Aug 24, 2001

Best GNOCCHI w/ artichokes

Enjoyed this trattoria for the past 3 visits. The service is warm & friendly. They love when you try to speak their language! It's our 1st place to visit when we get to Florence.

By Marsha

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Mar 1, 2001

Hostess sends over a bottle of champagne for our anniversary compliments of the house

We ate there two nights and had a very pleasantand delicious dinner each time. The waiters and waitresses really hustle and we were so surprised to receive the champagne(Prosecco), which was wonderful.

By Cara

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Dec 18, 2000

Delightful meal

Thanks for recommending it. Our waiter was delightful and funny. The decor was charming - we sat in the lavender room. The food was delicious!!

Show All

Add Your Own Review

When did you go?

Minimum 200 character count

How many stars would you give?

Food

Décor

Service

Value

Advertisement