Sign Up
Newsletter Signup
Free Fodor's Newsletter

Subscribe today for weekly travel inspiration, tips, and special offers.

Fodor's Weekly: Your expert travel wrap-up
Today's Departure: Your daily dose of travel inspiration (coming soon)

Florence Restaurants

Il Latini

Updated 12/04/2013

Fodor's Review

It may be the noisiest, most crowded trattoria in Florence, but it's also one of the most fun. The genial host, Torello ("little bull") Latini, presides over his four big dining rooms, and somehow it feels as if you're dining in his home. Ample portions of ribollita prepare the palate for the hearty meat dishes that follow. Both Florentines and tourists alike tuck into the agnello fritto (fried lamb) with aplomb. There's almost always a wait, even with a

reservation.

Read More

Restaurant Information

Address:

Via dei Palchetti 6/r, Florence, 50123, Italy

Map It

Phone:

055-210916

Restaurant Details:

  • Credit cards accepted
  • Closed Mon. and 15 days at Christmas

Updated 12/04/2013

Advertisement

Map View

Map of



What's Nearby

  • Hotels
  • Restaurants
  • Sights

See all restaurants in Florence

Fodorite Reviews

Average Rating

By Mickmc

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Sep 17, 2009

Open mind open food!

This place is a true gem! Have been too a number of restaurants on this trip and this was one of the standouts. Like most places the food was simple and down too earth. There was no need for a menu, we went with the waiters set menu. They are more than happy to change options around. For 50 euro(incl tip) each we had 5 courses and half a ltr of wine!!!! We shared a table for 6 with 3 others and enjoyed a great night-being willing to do this will

add to the experience!!! If you only have one night and want something differant to the normal quite dining experience you got to give il latini a go!!!

Read More

By trizzo

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

May 18, 2009

family style

Upscale family style best descibes this Florentine 'must do'. Food is terrific but the ambiance and service are better (yummy and fun). Let the waiter tell you what you want for dinner. Trust me...trust him!!! Family's vintage is in a bottle table-side...enjoy it!

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Nov 28, 2007

A Must-do while in Florence

Just back from a month long trip to Italy which included 5 days in Florence. If you only have time for one dinner, it absolutely must be at Il Latini. Enjoyed by locals and tourists, the food is authentic and plentiful, the atmosphere is fun and just all around a great night out! Amazingly enough prices are also very fair (about EU 50 per person including house wine). Try to get a reservation but if you can't, take your chances as they will try

to get you in. Can't recommend this place enough!!!

Read More

By Vidmon

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Apr 27, 2007

A must go

My family has been going to this resturant for years. It is one of the best places to dine in florence. I 1st went there when i was 11 and most recently at 25. I recomend getting reservations at one of the 2 settings. The waiters are great and the food is better. I have eaten there 4 different trips so it is a must go. They can accomedate big parties or you can meet new people. Its like eating in the owners house. he is great takes care of you and

welcomes you like family. Its like 40 a person but that includes the whole gambit.

Read More

By Pauline

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Sep 11, 2006

A Must in Florence

We picked this out of our guide book and were so glad we did. We didnt realise they had two sittings but managed to turn up just at the right time, would suggest booking. Had no idea that you didnt get a menu; the food arrived and just kept flowing! It was all fantastic quality - ravioli excellent, fillet steak huge and cooked to perfection. Were sat with a couple from San Fran on honeymoon and we all had a great time then went out to drink some

cocktails after. A must if you go to Florence - ¬85 for two of us for a fantastic meal and lots of good house wine which was great value!

Read More

By James

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jun 19, 2006

The Best

I have eaten at the best restaurants in the world and this is my favorite. Preparation of the food is superb!!!! So it's noisy and rowdy,if you negative complainers don't like that go somewhere else for inferior foood at higher prices. And the waiters and thier generoisity are sincere. I would never go to Florence without eating here.

By Linda

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Apr 26, 2006

Tourist trap rip-off with subpar food!

We had dinner at Il latini with our 2 children. We asked for a menu to no avail and the arrogant waiter insisted that we leave it to him. The food was flowing all night but very mediocre and when the bill came we were shocked. 180euro for 2 adults and 2 kids that barely finished the first course. Never again!!

By Bill

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Apr 23, 2006

A lot of fun and great food

We were a bit concerned when we had to wait in a crowd at the door. But, once seated, it was awesome. If you want a quiet, candle light dinner, go somewhere else. I am guessing the complainers wanted pampering. This is a lot of great food. It is like eating at a friends house; a lot of socializing and the menu is a surprise. Who needs a menu when the 5 plus courses (with options) are incredible? I read a veggie didnt like the choices. Lets

be fair, Italy isnt a veggie's paradise. Dont blame Il Latini. The price was very fair for the quality and amount.

Read More

By Monica

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Oct 4, 2005

Touristy yes, but good food and lots of fun!

May 2004: Very good meal in a busy and noisy but fun place. We had arrived to the restaurant about 45 minutes prior to opening (they have 2 seatings). Already several people were waiting at the door. By the time the door opened, there were about 25 people waiting to get in. We didn't have reservations, but the place is huge and could accommodate many hungery customers. There were plenty of tourist, but Italians as well. My cousin and I shared

a melon and proscuitto appetizer, followed by Riboletto, and we shared the Florentine steak (1 kilo for 36 Euros). The steak was very good! House red wine, water; Tiramisu for dessert (shared); Vin Santo with Cantucci compliments of the restaurant. $84.

Read More

By George

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Sep 18, 2005

Tourist hot spot

Over rated touirist hot spot Push then through fast type of service, there is an other lot to get through in two hours atmosphear

By Chad

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Mar 9, 2005

Go for the Atmosphere, Not the Food

The communal tables either make or break this place. We were lucky enough to be seated next to two sisters who were a lot of fun. We had a great time talking about our trips, sharing our recommendations, and drinking a bit too much wine. Getting the menu is a bit of a challenge. We allowed the waiter to make suggestions for us. The two sisters, were able to get a menu only by asking a couple of times. At the waiter's suggestion, we each started

with proscuitto (the waiter brought out an assortment of sausage as a "bonus"). After the huge assortment of meat, we each had a large bowl of soup. It was okay, not nearly as good as what we had eaten at Cinghiale Bianco the night before. We were pretty full from all of that, so skipped straight to dessert. The waiter brought another bonus a bottle of very sweet spumante. For the two of us, the total was 50E. We're really glad we went to Il Latini. It was a fun experience. But, I doubt we would return.

Read More

By Amy

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Mar 31, 2004

Your fellow diners (and the prosciutto) are the best part!

We had heard much about Il Latini as well and had to try it. We could not make reservations either on our own or through the hotel, but were told to "show up early". So we got there at 7:10 for a 7:30 opening and there were already 50 or so people waiting. Then more Americans came and butted in line, then those with RESERVATIONS butted in line. They were seated first, then the staff took one party at a time to quell the mob in front of the restaurant.

Everything before the main course was really good. None of the main courses really struck me as great. We never got dessert before we were hustled out. Truly, the best part of the meal are the people you eat with and get to know. The food wasn't worth the pushing and shoving to get in but it is a night of warmth and smiles we will remember because of our dinner mates.

Read More

By Bob

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Feb 11, 2004

A cross cultural experience

A most enjoyable dining experience. Shared dining tables with fellow diners from Italy, Asia, USA, and elsewhere was a pleasure as the food and wine flowed. We all spoke one language by the end of the meal. Great value!

By Aine

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Oct 22, 2003

First Night In Florence Winner

Il Latini is a surefire destresser after a long flight. We went on our first night and you will just melt into the atmosphere there. Do NOT believe the negative comments about this place. Anybody can dine in the "best" restaurants in the world and experience fine dining for a few hundred $$ - special sometimes - but even that gets a little tired. This is pure fun and warmth. An unforgettable experience that I will treasure and would not hesitate

to recommend. It is excellent in what it intends to be - a Trattoria! Despite the bright lights, I think it definitely could be romantic - depends who you are with I guess! I thought it was just lovely.

Read More

By Peter

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Apr 25, 2003

Prices determined by amount of wine left in Pitcher

Completely friendly, waiters will choose your meal if you cannot decide, every wish is granted, and the staff will draw you a map of entertaining nightlife upon request. My group left a tip larger than usual and received complementaly bottles of house wine while exiting.

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Apr 13, 2003

I Hate to Admit..

I hate to admit it but I really liked this place. I was put off by the throng of tourists waiting to get in and was worried that it would be a tourist trap with lousy food. It is a tourist trap but the food was great and the atmosphere was lively - perfect for our party as we were celebrating three birthdays. They owners have a farm and grow or raise most of what they serve. The prosciutto was one of the best I had in Italy. My only complaint

- they served way too fast.

Read More

By Paul

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jul 23, 2002

Tourist Trap

The food is quite poor, but it's a fun restaurant with a good mix of locals and tourists. Glad we went, but I wouldn't recommend.

By Michael

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

May 18, 2002

Vulgar tourist trap

Idiotic Americans, like me, line up and literally fight and push their way in for the "privilege" of dining with other moronic tourists in a noisy, vulgar setting. Yes, there are huge quantities of mediocre food, mainly meat of one kind or another. There are countless places in Florence where you can do far, far better. Avoid this unless you want a low class cruise ship atmosphere in Florence.

By chris

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Apr 3, 2002

Nothing to get excited about.

I could not see what the big deal is about this place. Average, traditional "everyday" tuscan food and obviously very popular with the locals.

By Donna

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Mar 21, 2001

Lively!

Not for a quiet, romantic evening ... but for a unique and fun Florentine dining experience. Mob scene to get in but worth it (almost circus like). Great service, and very good food (my veal chop was enormous and I ate it because it was tender and delicious). Not the best choice for vegetarians.

By Louise

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jan 18, 2001

Overrated!

While an interesting experience, I feel this restaurant is highly overrated. The thing most people like is the QUANTITY of the food, not the quality. It was more food than most in my party wanted to eat. The serves were friendly and pleasant, but it's very noisy, and I found other restaurants that were more enjoyable and cared more about QUALITY.

By Diane

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Oct 1, 2000

Worth the Wait

We had reservations but that didn't matter...You just have to push yourself to the head of the line and what a line there was...The food was excellent as was the wine....They seat you with other diners and the experience was great...You can't be picky here, just eat what they bring...

Show All

Add Your Own Review

When did you go?

Minimum 200 character count

How many stars would you give?

Food

Décor

Service

Value

Advertisement