Sign Up
Newsletter Signup
Free Fodor's Newsletter

Subscribe today for weekly travel inspiration, tips, and special offers.

Fodor's Weekly: Your expert travel wrap-up
Today's Departure: Your daily dose of travel inspiration (coming soon)

Florence Hotels

Lungarno

Pros

  • Upscale without being stuffy

Cons

  • Rooms without Arno views feel less special

Updated 12/04/2013

Fodor's Review

Many rooms and suites here have private terraces that jut out right over the Arno, granting stunning views of the Palazzo Vecchio and the Lungarno. Four suites in a 13th-century tower preserve details like exposed stone walls and old archways, and look over a little square with a medieval tower covered in jasmine. The chic interiors approximate breezily elegant homes, with lots of crisp, white fabrics with blue trim. A wall of windows and a sea of white couches make the

lobby bar one of the most relaxing places in the city to stop for a drink. Inquire about the Lungarno Suites, across the river; they include kitchens, making them attractive if you're planning a longer stay.

Read More

Hotel Information

Address:

Borgo San Jacopo 14, Florence, 50125, Italy

Map It

Phone:

055-27261

Hotel Details:

  • Credit cards accepted
  • 59 rooms, 14 suites
  • Breakfast

Updated 12/04/2013

Book A Hotel

Advertisement

Map View

Map of



What's Nearby

  • Hotels
  • Restaurants
  • Sights

See all hotels in Florence

Fodorite Reviews

Average Rating

By Andrew

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jun 3, 2006

You can stop looking for your perfect Florence hotel

There isn't a better hotel experience in town, provided you choose the right room. Those with balconies overlooking the Arno, with views of the Ponte Vecchio and Duomo, are unsurpassed. Sit outside over espresso in the morning, or cocktails in the evening, and enjoy the soft light and the swallows swooping up and down the river. You are walking distance to most of the treasures in Florence, yet the riverside rooms are quiet and private. The service

is understated, friendly and always accomodating. The lobby overlooks the river, and is decorated in crisp white and blue for a relaxed feeling--perfect for a leisurely drink in the afternoon, or for quietly reading the paper in the morning. The included breakfast is uncomononly good, and is served in the attached restaurant, which is an equally attractive space. The rooms are not huge, but are comfortable and decorated in the same white and blue palette. One warnbing...you'll pay only 15% less or so for interior rooms that overlook the street, but the experience is nowhere near the same. Don't bother staying here unless you are willing to pay the premium for a room with a terrace on the river.

Read More

By Mike

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Mar 26, 2005

Perfect Location - Gracious Warm Service

Can't say enough about the staff - helpful, warm and friendly. Rooms and bathrooms large by European standards, esp for Florence - views of the Arno and Pt. Vechio awesome. Might try Lungarno Suites on the other side of the Arno for a more contemporary feel. Expensive but would stay here or their other property next time in a heartbeat. After all, this is Florence!

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jul 24, 2004

Don't Look Any Further

This is the perfect Florence hotel. Request a room with a balcony overlooking the river...and enjoy relaxing evenings watching the swallows fly over the Ponte Vecchio. Quiet rooms, attentive but never obsequious service, PHENOMENAL breakfast included in room rate, and a great location that is an enjoyable walk to everything. This is IT...what you've been looking for. Only drawback was room rate that ended up being about $600/night...but what can

you do, especially in a time of terrible exchange rates.

Read More

By Jill

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Oct 17, 2003

Lungarno Suites Made our Honeymoon

We just returned from our 2 week honeymoon in Italy and the Lungarno Suites was one of our favorites. The staff was very friendly and even sent us champagne when they learned it was our honeymoon. We also loved the many amenities the room had to offer (robes, slippers, jacuzzi bath and cd player). Breakfast was served in our room which was also terrific. The location was within close walking distance to the Uffizi museum, duomo, Boboli Gardens,

etc. We hope to return someday soon.

Read More
  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Sep 22, 2002

The Lungarno / Lovely

We enjoyed our stay here, the room was spacious and soothing and we had a wonderful terrace overlooking the Arno River. Love the blue and white color scheme. The front desk staff could have been friendlier, but the dining room and bar staff were great! Considering the high price of the room, I was surprised to find the slippers were cheap paper ones that fell apart! But that's a minor detail; I would stay here again. The location is great.

By Maria

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Feb 3, 2002

Place to go!!!!

Position, rooms, service, view...all perfect!!!A place to go!!!

By David

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Nov 12, 2001

Great Location

Loved the view off the balcony of our room. We stayed in a junior suite (#654) which had a great view of the city, the Arno and the Ponte Veechio. The location of the hotel made it within easy walking distance of all the major sights (although the major sights are all located close enough in Florence that you could probably say this for most hotels located near the center of the city). The staff did seems a little indifferent at times, but never rude.

The lounge is a great place to relax at the end of the day. The Lungarno is worth checking out. I would stay here again in a second.

Read More

By Paula

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jun 5, 2001

The Lovely Lungarno

My husband and I had a terrific stay here where all of the staff were most pleasant and helpful. Our room had a fantastic view of the Arno and Ponte Vecchio. We had dinner in the restaurant to celebrate our 30th anniversary. The location is just steps away from all the Florence sights. We can't wait to return!

By Amy

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Sep 10, 2000

Pampered Perfection!

What a treasure tucked away from the busy, noisy streets of Florence! From the lavish marble baths to the robes and slippers, the Hotel Lungarno was a little slice of heaven. Excellent location, a gracious and attentive staff, no details were missed here.

Show All

Add Your Own Review

When did you stay?

Minimum 200 character count

How many stars would you give?

Room

Décor

Service

Value

Advertisement