Sign Up
Newsletter Signup
Free Fodor's Newsletter

Subscribe today for weekly travel inspiration, tips, and special offers.

Fodor's Weekly: Your expert travel wrap-up
Today's Departure: Your daily dose of travel inspiration (coming soon)

Florence Hotels

Monna Lisa

Pros

  • Lavish buffet breakfast
  • Cheerful staff
  • Garden

Cons

  • Rooms in annex are less charming than those in palazzo
  • Street noise in some rooms

Updated 12/04/2013

Fodor's Review

Though some rooms are small, they are tasteful, and best of all, housed in a 15th-century palazzo that retains some of its wood-coffered ceilings from the 1500s, as well as its original staircase. Some of the up-to-date bathrooms offer tubs as well as showers. The inviting public rooms, with gleaming terra-cotta floors and Oriental rugs, retain a 19th-century aura, and the pretty box-hedged garden offers a good place to unwind. Two annex buildings have elevators and lack

the sometimes challenging steps of the main hotel.

Read More

Hotel Information

Address:

Borgo Pinti 27, Florence, 50121, Italy

Map It

Phone:

055-2479751

Website: www.monnalisa.it

Hotel Details:

  • Credit cards accepted
  • 45 rooms
  • Breakfast

Updated 12/04/2013

Book A Hotel

Advertisement

Map View

Map of



What's Nearby

  • Hotels
  • Restaurants
  • Sights

See all hotels in Florence

Fodorite Reviews

Average Rating

By John

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jan 22, 2006

The Contessa

We recently stayed at the Hotel Mona Lisa. Nice location and very quite. Our room, in the older villa, was small and nothing special as was the long narrow bathroom. The included breakfast was very good and the staff in the dinning room were excellent! The front staff, which must take their lead from the owner, the Contessa were sultry and not very friendly. The one event that caused me to grade down this hotel was our interaction with the

Contessa. One evening my wife and I along with our travel companions were have an early evening snack of leftovers and a bottle of wine in one of the many common areas of the hotel. This happened to be just outside of the Contessas residence. We were involved in normal conversation and not at all loud or boisterous. The Contessa emerged out of her apartment, stopped and reviewed the situation and left without saying a word. However, shortly thereafter the bartender arrived demanding to know why we were consuming a bottle of wine that had not been purchased at the hotel. He related that the Contessa had sent him up to query us and also had admonished him on why we had not purchased the wine from the hotel bar. Needless to say we were taken back but politely thanked him for his time. This is not a cheap hotel and the audacity of the owner to make such a demand is beyond comprehension. I will never recommend this hotel or stay there again!

Read More

By mark

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Dec 18, 2005

server at breakfast had bad B.O.

good location but nothing to write home about

By Avi

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Aug 2, 2002

Somewhat charming but beware of nasty mgr

All of Fodors comments are true regarding the charm. We did stay in the main old building with a view of the pretty courtyard. But the room was kind of old and dated and the bathroom was TINY and as plain as a Motel 6. Breakfast is nice in a charming breakfast area. BUT my comment about the service would be...THERE IS NONE! The manager is a slimy, greasy fellow who is always nervous and on edge and seems to get more bothered and annoyed with each

question you might ask him. This bitter man clearly hates what he does and should not be in a service-oriented businees like a hotel.Bottom line, charming place, decent location(a bit off-center), but horrible staff! That they have attitude is an understatement!

Read More

By Deborah

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Apr 1, 2002

Be aware of the "annex" switch

Our family (4 rooms, 3 days) stayed at the Mona Lisa a few years ago. We asked for rooms overlooking the courtyard. The hotel put all of us in an annex building across the courtyard and beyond their parking lot...with windows overlooking the cars. When we complained about the location and not being in the hotel...he shrugged and said we could see the courtyard beyond the cars and that there were no other rooms available. The annex rooms were in

a much newer building, uninspired and dark. We needed to cross the parking area and yard to reach the actual hotel. There was no price adjustment for these rooms which were rather expensive. The location is at least a 10 minute walk from the centro area...which can feel long when you are tired from touring. Pass on the hotel, unless you can get "in writing" that you will be gaurenteed a room in the main hotel.

Read More

By Carroll

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Nov 20, 2001

We loved it!

The hotel is very charming, with several lovely sitting areas throughout the hotel. The location was perfect for us -- on a quiet street and about a 5 to 10 minute walk to most attractions. We had Room No. 53 which is in the "new" section, located behind the gardens. The room was spacious, nicely furnished, and had a large, modern bathroom. The staff was friendly and helpful. They made dinner and museum reservations for us. The breakfast room

is very attractive, and the breakfast is average. There is a small bar, with a great bartender.

Read More

By suzanne

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Sep 20, 2001

Monna Lisa Location Too Remote

I found the hotel charming and we stayed in a large, ground floor room that overlooked the sreet. It was very magical and the service and food wonderful, but I would never stay there again. It is way too far from the center of town and we got lost numerous times trying to find our way back. Also, the bathroom looked like a converted closet with no counter space and the shower was hand held, making the stay miserable. We asked to be moved but they

said all the rooms were like that. The TV set looked like something from the early 80's.

Read More

By Ellen

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Dec 27, 2000

I love you Monna Monna Monna

Loved it. Our room, #24 was huge. Jacuzzi tub, incredible antique furniture, cool, clean, comfortable. The hotel is charming. Location great. Not a bad word to say. But be warned, some of the other rooms we saw were little more than closets. Request #24.

By Julia

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jul 17, 2000

Like Staying at your Rich Relatives Villa

A charming, intimate hotel on a quiet street in Florence, but within walking distance of everything you need to get to in this city. Staff are gracious and accomodating...they soon knew us personally and recogonized us every time we walked in the door. The hotel is an old (1300?) convent but is like staying at a private home. There is a small bar and sitting rooms, and breakfast is served overlooking the gardens. All the rooms are different- mine

had a sitting area with the bed in a loft area above. Great rooms, service, location...can't be beat!

Read More

Show All

Add Your Own Review

When did you stay?

Minimum 200 character count

How many stars would you give?

Room

Décor

Service

Value

Advertisement