Sign Up
Newsletter Signup
Free Fodor's Newsletter

Subscribe today for weekly travel inspiration, tips, and special offers.

Fodor's Weekly: Your expert travel wrap-up
Today's Departure: Your daily dose of travel inspiration (coming soon)

Florence Hotels

Morandi alla Crocetta

Pros

  • Interesting, offbeat location near the sights
  • Terrific staff
  • Great value

Cons

  • Two flights of stairs to reach reception and rooms

Updated 12/04/2013

Fodor's Review

You're made to feel like privileged friends of the family at this charming and distinguished residence, furnished comfortably in the classic style of a gracious Florentine home. The former convent, near Piazza Santissima Annunziata, has been in the hands of the Antuono family for more than 100 years. One room retains original 17th-century fresco fragments, and two others have small private terraces. The Morandi is not only an exceptional hotel, but also a good value. It's

very small, so book well in advance.

Read More

Hotel Information

Address:

Via Laura 50, Florence, 50121, Italy

Map It

Phone:

055-2344747

Hotel Details:

  • Credit cards accepted
  • 10 rooms

Updated 12/04/2013

Book A Hotel

Advertisement

Map View

Map of



What's Nearby

  • Hotels
  • Restaurants
  • Sights

See all hotels in Florence

Fodorite Reviews

Average Rating
  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jul 27, 2007

Charm and atmosphere

The Morandi alla crocetta is a beautiful hotel, full of charm and character. The staff were all friendly and very helpful, and all spoke english. The hotel has lovely antique furniture, and our room had a lovely terrace where we could sit out. The hotel is situated down a quite street right in the heart of Florence. I would highly recommend the Morandi and I will definetly go back for another visit.

By Linda

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Sep 1, 2006

Good value for a somewhat special place

The Morandi alla Crocetta turned out to be the perfect place for our 7 night stay in August. Gracious and competent staff, we were welcomed by a joyful smile and all of the staff members were attentive and helpful all along during our stay. We had a room that I would consider above a 3 star hotel standard. It was of adequate size and it had beautiful antique furnishing, a good spotless modern bathroom and all we could need to relax after a long day

of walking from place to place. The internet connected computer was not free, but at a charge comparable to any internet café. Breakfast was extra, but worth the 11.00 Euro when we had the time to linger on in the morning. Some times we just had coffee taken to our room, so to be out and going in good time. There is no night porter and you let yourself in at night with your room key. However there must be some what of an on-call service since phone calls at night were switched to our room and a person was available once that we had problems in placing a long distance call at midnight. All in all, our stay was more than pleasant and at times a little special ( chocolate at evening bed turn down, fresh flowers in our room, the general feeling of being away from the crowds of tourists). I would recommend this hotel (not for international chain lovers) and will certainly return on a future visit to Florence.

Read More

By Angela

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jun 19, 2006

Great Value, Special place

Definitely a place I wish to recommend. Clean, efficient and with a staff ever so helpful and a joy to deal with. My room was not large, but more than adequate, very quiet, thought on the street, and with all the amenities I would expect only in much more expensive hotels. Great ambience, just like an old gentile home. Not the place for international hotel chains lovers. Location is a bit on one side of everything, still really close to all the places

we wanted to go to, with lots of restaurants and cafes just a few steps away.. Being on a side residential street (not very well kept, I must say) with no shops, makes this place really quiet, something extremely difficult to find in Florence. All the details have a personal touch. Fresh flowers in your room, reading material on you bed side table etc. Breakfast (optional and we opted to stay in for breakfast) is good, though not a cooked one. We met other guests during our 5 nights stay and we all shared our enthusiasm for this place. Some were recurrent guests and I too I will be one, as I know I want to go back to Florence, knowing I can stay at the Morandi alla Crocetta.

Read More

By Michael

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Feb 21, 2006

Pleased with choice

We were in Florence during January 2006, and were looking for a more boutique-type place, close enough to walk everywhere, but a bit off the beaten path. This place was exactly what we wanted. We stayed in a charming double, rather spacious espby European standards, and clean, cozy, and comfortable. It had a private terrace, though it was a bit too cold to enjoy. Easy walks as far as the Arno, pretty close to Piazza S. Lorenzo and the Duomo.

The service was mostly very good, though we had a hiccup with our dry cleaning (they send it out to a service that apparently decided to dry clean all of our clothes, including t-shirts, etc.). The only downsides as far as I could see, and as has been noted, are the stairs one must climb to get into the place, particularly given the absence of help with the luggage. All in all, though, easily worth it.

Read More
  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Mar 9, 2005

This hotel made the difference

This small hotel turned out to be my favourite in Italy. More like an elegant home than a commercial hotel. Intimate, cosy, filled with wonderful antiques and attentive staff. The room, though facing the street was very quiet. Very comfortable and well equipped bathroom and room. Good heating and hot water An in n room internet connected computer was a great bonus. Excellent location, on a small (not so appealing) residential street, just round

the corner from some major sites or a very short walk to everywhere else, yet off the commercial hustle. At the end of the day it was a joy coming back home to this exceptional and restful establishment. I would definitely recommend this place and I will do all possible o stay there on a next trip to Florence.

Read More

By Roger

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Dec 8, 2004

Truly a special place

My wife and I stayed at the Moandi alla Crocetta in November an will unconditionally recommend this small hotel. The street is quite unappealing, but it is much safer and has more of a local feeling than the larger squares and streets. The location is good: off the hustle and bustle of the city, but very close to all museums and shops and an easy walk to all the restaurants we anted to go to. We walked up to easy flights of steps to the second floor

to enter what appeared to be more of a gentile 19th century home than a business. The room we were given (#28) was of a good size and very well appointed and it even had a computer with internet connection for a small fee. It looked over the street which made me feel it would be noisy, but it turned out to be very quiet indeed, day and night. The bathroom was more than adequate with a proper shower stall, plenty of hot water and all was impeccably clean. We did not have breakfast, but we had coffee taken to our room (the best coffee in our trip to Europe) the mornings we were in Florence. For breakfast, it is better to stop in a bar/pastry shop for a cappuccino and pastry on you way to visiting the sites. Furniture throughout the hotel is antique and the atmosphere pleasantly takes you back in time so that this hotel turned out to be a vacation within our vacation. The staff was very nice, attentive, competent and ready to respond efficiently to all our requests. We left, both with the strong desire to be back. Our rate was 177.00 Euro, which made it by far the best value for money in our research and visits to other similar and higher category hotels in Florence.

Read More

By Johan

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Dec 1, 2004

Great small hotel

Great small hotel. I just feel they should be complimented for best service, best atmosphere, best rooms, best prices.

By Robert

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Sep 10, 2004

This is the Hotel I would consider my 1st choice

I will definitely recommend this very small hotel. Our room was more than adequate in size, tastefully furnished, and it had all the amenities of a much higher ranked and more expensive hotel. It is very well run, very clean and you are surrounded by beautiful original antiques. The staff (English speaking) was courteous and friendly, but not intruding, and willing to respond to our requests for help on restaurant and train reservations and all sorts

of info. The hotel lies on a second floor of a residential building right in the centre of town, but on a pedestrian side street, which made it very close to everything and just that little bit off the noise and hustle of the city. Not to mention the 19th century aura and charm that makes it a place I will certainly want to go back to. All the good reviews Ive read on this hotel are tur. Very much like being a guest in a Tuscan home. Exceptionally good value, specially in Winter when, I was told, special rates apply.

Read More

By Timothy

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

May 21, 2004

What a find!

I had actually stayed at the Morandi alla Crocetta a few years ago only overnight and left with a strong desire to spend some time there. I returned in March 2004 and spent the best five nights of any vacation time ever. The hotel is absolutely charming, the efficient and courteous staff (all English speaking) provided the assistance and the attention I never had, even in luxury hotels. My room was impeccably clean, with unique antique furnishings,

very quiet, although it overlooked the street, and the atmosphere serene. The hotel has the feeling of a true Italian home. I will certainly return and recommend it to friends.

Read More

By Alan

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Dec 27, 2003

Location paitence

Stayed here in October 2003, and a nice place close to all - 5 min walk to Ufizzi, 2 min to David. Only regret was finding this place. If you drive in, be prepared for a good hunt. Have breakfast (which is extra)elsewhere. Friendly, helpful staff.

By Mary

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jan 17, 2003

A Hotel so mediocre it is breath taking!

Probably one of the worst hotel experiences I've had in five years of travel to Europe. Our bathroom hadn't been cleaned (for the amount of mildew in the shower...it looked like it hadn't been cleaned in some time) When we mentioned it to the hotel staff, their behavior was scandalous! Besides having to remove someone else's hair clog from our shower, the hotel is not at all in a convienient location. Many rooms over look a charmless graffitti

sprayed alley that does not smell very well. Out of the many choices for accomodation in Florence... I would recommend this only if your only other choice was to sleep at the train station.

Read More

By Gordon

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

May 10, 2002

Watch out for the Dark Alley

The hotel is very distinguished. The room was pristine and furnished with antiques. Although it is located near the Academy and the Duomo, it is a 15 minute walk from the real active part of town. It is also in a dark, secluded alley way that can be very spooky at night.

By Lee

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Oct 20, 2001

A Change in Atmosphere

While the architecture of the rooms is still charming, there is a new chilly atmosphere. The lovely lady who owned the place is gone, as is her portrait, and the staff is less than welcoming. I would not recommend it.

By John

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Aug 7, 2001

A Great Escape

Small, quiet hotel with friendly staff. Comfortable, clean room. A great escape from the tourist crowds in Florence. I might recommend skipping breakfast there. I will definitely return to this hotel.

By David

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jul 26, 2001

A true gem

Without a doubt my favorite hotel in Florence. Central location yet on a quiet street. Our room, which had its own patio, was simply beautiful. All other hotels on our trip were disappointing in comparison.

By Jim

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jul 17, 2001

True Oasis

On a quiet street, through a barely marked door, and yes, up a flight of 24 steps is a great place to sleep as well as retreat from the massive crowds of Florence. The room was spotless and the employees intent on making your stay an enjoyable. Please note that this is a small hotel and does not have any front desk help after 9:00 p.m. A true find!

By Donna

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Mar 21, 2001

An Oasis

Very refined and comfortable. Our room was clean and quiet, our bathroom was small but had very good modern plumbing. The people working at the front desk are courteous and helpful and do make you feel like a welcomed guest. The location is close to everything. A place to return to.

Show All

Add Your Own Review

When did you stay?

Minimum 200 character count

How many stars would you give?

Room

Décor

Service

Value

Advertisement