Sign Up
Newsletter Signup
Free Fodor's Newsletter

Subscribe today for weekly travel inspiration, tips, and special offers.

Fodor's Weekly: Your expert travel wrap-up
Today's Departure: Your daily dose of travel inspiration (coming soon)

Florence Hotels

Alessandra

  • Borgo Santi Apostoli 17 Map It
  • Local Flavor

Pros

  • Several rooms have views of the Arno
  • The spacious suite is a bargain

Cons

  • Stairs to elevator
  • Some rooms share bath

Updated 12/04/2013

Fodor's Review

An aura of grandeur pervades these clean, ample rooms a block from the Ponte Vecchio. The building, known as the Palazzo Roselli del Turco, was designed in 1507 by Baccio d'Agnolo, a contemporary of Michelangelo's. Friendly hosts Anna and Andrea Gennarini speak fluent English.

Hotel Information

Address:

Borgo Santi Apostoli 17, Florence, 50123, Italy

Map It

Phone:

055-283438

Hotel Details:

  • Credit cards accepted
  • Closed Dec. 10–26
  • 26 rooms, 19 with bath; 1 suite; 1 apartment
  • Breakfast

Updated 12/04/2013

Book A Hotel

Advertisement

Map View

Map of



What's Nearby

  • Hotels
  • Restaurants
  • Sights

See all hotels in Florence

Fodorite Reviews

Average Rating
  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jul 28, 2013

Right in the heart of Firenze

Monte greeted us with a smile and cheer. He immediately took care of us and showed us to our room. Made us so comfortable that we felt we were old friends. A/C already on and ready for us to refresh ourselves from our trip to Firenze. We asked about a place to eat (recommended by Fodor's) and found it was a favorite of his also. He immediately made reservations for us and told them it was a celebration. We stayed only three nights but we were

very comfortable. The included breakfast was fabulous. Even had "American" coffee as well as espresso prepared for you. When we return to Firenze (must rub the snout of the brass boar and put a coin in its mouth) we will be returning to Hotel Alessandra.

Read More
  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

May 20, 2008

Service good, bug bites bad

The service was excellent; all of the staff were friendly. The location was also ideal, as others have mentioned. We were a bit disappointed in the room. We were also plagued by mosquitos in our room. The stairs were not so bad after you got there, but climbing them with our suitcases after a hot walk from the train station was stressful. A lift will take you up the last two stories after you climb the first.

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Feb 1, 2008

Great 5 Night Stay in January

We spent 5 nights at the Alessandra arriving on December 30th. The staff was wonderful, making restaurant reservations and helping us with plans. The room was very comfortable and had a nice bathroom. The bed was comfy too! The location cannot be beat - we had no problem walking to all the sites in Florence. At breakfast just ask one of the attendants for a cappucino and you'll get one with a chocolate happy face on it - what a great way

to wake up!!

Read More

By valerie

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jun 20, 2006

Use the steps and eat more gelato!

a little gem! Great location, great staff, great value! Don't be daunted by the steps. We went up and down several times each day without the elevator. Definitely would stay there again!

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Mar 29, 2006

Fair, centrally located with helpful staff

This was my first trip to Italy and I counted on Fodor's recommendations, especially this "Rants & Raves" area. I was not disappointed about Hotel Alessandra. I actually had two rooms at this hotel. I spent 3 days in Florence, drived to Siena area for 5 days and then back to Florence for another 3 days. I stayed at the Alessandra both time. The rooms I stayed in were clean and adequate, the bed was great! Both room had TV and an adequate bathrooms

with showers. Breakfast was plentiful. The staff working in the reception area during my two stays was extremely nice and helpful. They kept part my bags while I was sightseeing Siena Area. The hotel is centrally located. Very easy to get to anyplace I wanted to go. I would definitely stay here again.

Read More

By Jane

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Feb 25, 2006

FANTASTIC service

GREAT service. They are so kind and helpful - gave us maps to everything, places to eat, help in finding things, and internet service (for a fee). We had room no. 7 which did not face the water, but it was a nice large room with a matrimonial bed - which was actually two beds pushed together. But it was fine and clean with a nice bathroom. Breakfast is good - cereal, yogurt, pastries, coffee and juice. As all the review say, there are stairs -

but once you get past them it is worth it. We will definately stay there next time in Florence.

Read More

By Julie

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

May 31, 2005

A home from home in the 'real' medieval Florence

What a fantastic find - I'm very grateful to the Fodor's ratings for recommending this hotel. The location is absolutely perfect - one block from the Ponte Vecchio, two from the Uffizi etc - but very quiet indeed. It's hard to believe there are so many manic tourists a few hundred yards from your window. We splashed out on the suite which was absolutely delightful and well worth the money. Nothing was too much trouble for Andrea and Andrea (confusing

but at least easy to remember), whether it was booking taxis, recommending restaurants or reserving tables for us. They recommended a fantastic restaurant for our last night - Giovanni's - only a few minutes' walk from the hotel and very welcoming with wonderful food. I can't recommend this hotel enough (except if you can't handle stairs, and by now you've probably got the message about those), and we will definitely be returning.

Read More

By Jim

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Apr 20, 2005

Great location

Once you get over the entry stairs upon arrival, you realize that it was indeed worth it. A great staff, great breakfasts and superb location.

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Apr 11, 2005

Best location in town!!!!!

Stayed here for 3 days last February. Be prepared to climb 2 flights of stairs with your luggage to reach the elevator. Friendly staff was great after flying for a day to get to Florence. Bathroom was big and room was big by Europe standards. Had a room not facing the river and it was fine. Breakfast is served every morning and the staff is helpful with changing $ or giving directions and tips. Location was so great! A+ for where it was. Woke up to

church bells from the church a few buildings over. Felt safe and it was clean.

Read More

By Nicole

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jan 17, 2005

Simply the best location in town!

Upon our arrival in town, our first couple of nights were spent in another hotel near Pitti Palace which was pretty grim, so when an Italian friend suggested the Alessandra for our last night in Florence, we took her up on the suggestion. This was such a lovely place!People at the front desk were welcoming and helpful on suggestion and site to visit, the view of rooftops from our window was charming! The location is the main thing, you really

can walk to most sights, and some great, reasonably priced tratorias nearby. I'd stay here again!

Read More

By Rae

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

May 12, 2004

FANTASTIC ALL AROUND!

What a fantastic hotel! The entrance is a bit strange (walking or riding a teeny-tiny elevator up a dark hallway to reach the hotel) but well worth it--FANTASTIC location (steps from the ponte vecchio, a few blocks from the Uffuzi), FANTASTIC service (thanks to Andre, for helping us get through a train and museum strike, and for recommending a fabuluous restaurant, "Nella", which you should definitely try!); the rooms are large and the bathrooms clean

and functional, and, the price was right--was the cheapest hotel on our itinerary, and turned out to be the best service, too. I would highly recommend it!

Read More

By Kyle

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

May 11, 2004

Wonderful Location and Service

We stayed here a few weeks ago and couldn't have been more pleased. With all the walking in Florence anyway, the stairs didn't bother us--and we only did them a couple of times a day. The location was perfect--right at the Ponte Vecchio and within walking distance to EVERYTHING, even the train station. The neighborhood was safe--we never felt the least bit uncomfortable. Finally, the service of the staff was wonderful. Very helpful with suggestions,

and we loved being able to check our bags after checking out for our last day of sighseeing.

Read More

By Amy

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Mar 31, 2004

We could not have been happier!

Our room, #26, opened out onto a spectacular view of the Arno. The location is excellent, right at the base of the Ponte Vecchio, 2 minutes to Pzza Signoria, about 10 to the Duomo, with all the shops and gelato you could want in between! Two women alone felt quite safe in and around the hotel. The room was massive, with two twin beds and plenty of room to move around and spread out luggage and shopping goods. Gorgeous moldings on the ceiling,

Italian art on the walls and a cavernous immaculate bathroom (really, 4 of my home bathrooms would fit in here) were a delight. The staff were most helpful, making reservations and giving recommendations. Breakfast was cereal, yogurt, fruit, juice, coffee and brioches/pastries. What more could you want? Only drawback is the 15 or so steps to the elevator, which then takes you to the 2nd floor reception. I would gladly return to Alessandra and plan to do so on my return trip to Florence!

Read More

By Robbie

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Mar 21, 2004

Too Many Stairs

After I made my reservation I found out that there are 25 stairs you have to climb to get to the lift. This is not a hotel I recommend for those with lots of luggage or tired feet. I traveled alone and at night the neighborhood was not the safest for women. Earlier in my trip I had stayed at the Paris Hotel near the Santa Maria Nouvella which was absolutely heavenly. For the same price it was a much better deal. My room at the Alessandra was

small in comparison for the same price. The Paris Hotel was not on your list of recommendations. I think you should consider it. The decor was fabulous. The ceiling in the dining area was painted beautifully and the breakfast was much better than at the Alessandra.

Read More

By Carol

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Oct 30, 2003

No river view, no reservation, no nothing

We made reservations at the Alessandra three months before our trip. We had a fax from the hotel with a reservation number, along with a credit card guarantee. We even called to confirm. Were told we were to have a river view. One week before we left on vacation we received a fax that it was all a mistake, and they had no room for us. They made reservations for us at a B and B. Guess someone wanted to stay longer than we were planning. Very inconvienient

to say the least!

Read More

By Linda

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Oct 23, 2003

I Am Returning

I am in love (sorry, hon). My girlfriend and I adore the Alessandra! After semi-grouchy hoteliers in Rome and Monterosso, the extremely welcoming, helpful and professional staff at the Alessandra were much appreciated. Our room was large, beautifully furnished, delightful. Large shutters opened onto the street below, and we toasted Florence with a glass of wine each evening, enjoying our street view. Two bathrooms were within easy reach, and we never

had to wait. A lovely neighbourhood, relatively quiet and near the Ponte de Vecchio without the crowds of tourists and noise level that accompany the River hotels. Florence is an easy walking city, and the Alessandra is ideally located for enjoying all of its sights. Paid E 108 for a room with twin beds, taxes and a great breakfast included. Would highly recommend this hotel.

Read More

By James

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Oct 14, 2003

Good location, lots of Stairs

Nice rooms, well equipt baths. Decent breakfast. We were there when the blackout hit and they still had a fully set up breakfast. Good staff. Just a lot of stairs and a tiny elevator that only goes from the second landing up to the first hotel level.

By Rick

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

May 22, 2003

Try it You'll Like it

We traveled with two couples. Our room, number 1 was very noisy. The other couple's room, number 20 was not. Other than the noise the rooms were large and very clean. Our bathroom had been recently remodeled. The breakfast was adequate but not quite as good as the other three hotels we stayed at in Italy. The location couldn't be better. We walked everywhere and it was usually convenient to stop back during the day if necessary. The staff was very

helpful and always friendly. This hotel was E 80 less than the other hotels we stayed at in Italy and was the bargain of the trip. Ate at Ristorante del Fagioli. Family run, Great food, reasonably priced, helpful English speaking waiters. Try it, you'll like it.

Read More

By Brent

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

May 14, 2003

Baccio Suite- Book it if you can

After reading the reviews on this room, we booked it three months in advance. This room has got to be the best value in all of Italy. It is a huge, beautiful three room suite with a balcony with a partial view of the Arno River. The bathroom itself is about as big as most of the other hotel rooms I've stayed in in Europe. The hotel is not far from most of the tourist spots in Florence. The hotel staff spoke english and was very friendly and helpful.

Breakfast comes with the room and is typical European fare. All of this for 200 Euros a night.

Read More

By Irene

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

May 2, 2003

A good Value in a Great Location!

The location of this 2 star hotel can't be beat. It is situated on the oldest street in Florence, within walking distance of many desireable sites, including the Ponte Vecchio, Piazza della Signoria, the Uffizi and upscale shopping. Our triple room (191 euros) was actually SPACIOUS, quiet and clean, with a large armoire to hold our things. The staff was very friendly and helpful. The bathroom was clean, but completely utilitarian, with no amenities

at all. Breakfast was simple, yet ample. The affordable, accessible internet connection was a huge plus to my 11 year old. I agree that there was not a very European feel, however, as the majority, if not all of the guests, were American. Still, a well located, good value with friendly staff.

Read More

By David

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Apr 27, 2003

Don't let first impressions fool you

We had been staying in 4 star hotels around Italy. This was our only 2 star mainly based on recommendations from this site. At first lugging the bags up to the first floor is a little offputting. And because the lift is so tiny you have to ride the luggage up in shifts, you start to worry. But once you get there it's fine, and by doing without a few creature comforts, I was happy to pay less for the room. We stayed in 16 'bis' which had a bathroom,

TV, safe but no fridge. The hotel has in-house internet which was great for email. I also agree that the breakfasts were more than adequate. We always found the staff happy to help us. I would also stay there again in Florence.

Read More

By John

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Mar 19, 2003

According to the Ratings I Must Have Stayed in a Different Hotel

I chose this hotel because of all the positive ratings on this site. Mistake! For the 191 Euros a night for a triple "dump" I felt I got ripped off. There was a sewer smell in the bathroom which was written off by the desk person. The windows didn't open properly. By the way, the room did not look anything like the pictures on their web site. Although it is not the hotel's fault, the jack hammers at 6:00 AM were a bit much. The food was nothing

to write home about. The breakfast hostess was a grump. My recommendation - find another hotel to stay in if you visit Florence.

Read More

By Mike

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Nov 22, 2002

Good, Simple Choice

Nice, quiet, simple hotel about 1/2 block back from the Arno and about a 1 minute walk to the Ponte Vecchio. Walkable to the main sites in the center of town and the Oltrarno neighborhood as well. Stayed in the "Suite Baccio". Very large, but modest in style and decoration. Could see the river from our windows and luckily the bell tower right outside didn't start ringing the bell until 9 a.m. If you are the official luggage hauler in your party,

be forewarned that you have to climb about 30 steps to get to the elevator which was so small that neither one of us could fit in it with our luggage so we just sent it up without us and walked up to the lobby level!). Would definitely stay there again.

Read More

By abbey

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Nov 10, 2002

unbeatable location

One block to Ponte Vecchio and Uffizi museum and great restaurants. Very safe location adjacent to the Arno. 15 min walk to train station or 7 Euro cab ride. Staff is super nice and helpful. Breakfast is included. Does not have a European feel though as almost all guests are American. Lots of fellow travelers who speak English though. Rooms are large and bathroom was very nice. Would definately stay there again.

By Alan

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Oct 12, 2002

Best value in Italy!

We stayed in the "Bacchio" - a kind of huge suite - bedroom, lounge, huge bathroom, terrace, and a little study area ideal for someone like myslef needing to work on a laptop while on vacation. It cost a bit more, but was really worth it. Staff, as all say, were wonderful - and the location is a dream.

By Kriss

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Sep 2, 2002

Way to go Andrea!

This was our first time to Italy. After a miserable train ride to the city, we arrived at the hotel long before check-in. The staff was very generous and allowed us to use the hotel restroom and stored our bags until our room was ready. Andrea was very helpful with emails, and making museum and restaurant reservations, as well as recommendations for places not to miss. The rest of the reservations staff were wonderful as well. Ask for room 2,

it is very large, good bathroom and a window looking onto the street below. What a nice hotel.

Read More

By Ruth

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Apr 30, 2002

Florence's hidden gem

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the Alessandra, though being up several flights of stairs could be a challenge to some people. Our room was enormous as was the bathroom (nice to have a bath after a long day's saight-seeing, rather than a shower). Contrary to another report on this site there was a safe in the room. Best of all, staff were helpful, producing gallons of hot chocolate for us most nights, giving information and booking tickets for museums

etc. We could also e-mail home from the lounge. The location would be difficult to improve on, literally two minutes from the Ponte Vecchio but away from the hordes of people.

Read More

By Artemis

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Feb 27, 2002

Nice, spacious room and great service

We truly enjoyed our stay at the Hotel (Pensione) Alessandra in late Feb. Room #16 was very quiet, large, and nicely decorated, with a comfortable king-size bed and a partial view of the tops of the Duomo and Palazzo Vecchio. Andreas (one of the owners) provided the very best concierge services, with information on restaurants and concerts, assistance in reserving museum tickets, and shopping advice. The curfew mentioned in a previous rating is actually

not until 12:30AM, but the night porter is available to let you in at all times of the night. We notified him that we would arrive after 2AM on two of the four nights, and he buzzed us in immediately upon our ringing the doorbell. The curfew is not a major problem, but it is not like a standard hotel. Also, there is no traditional hotel lobby and the elevator is small. You must climb two flights of stairs (with your luggage) before reaching the elevator. But it was an extremely pleasant environment and we will certainly stay there again.

Read More

By Dan

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jan 10, 2002

Wow! What a room!

This place is wonderful! The room we had was immaculate and our view was beautiful. Church bells in the tower outside woke us up at 9:00 every morning. I'm not sure if every room is as nice as ours (it had obviously just been renovated), but the hotel is quite nice and the staff is excellent.

Show All

Add Your Own Review

When did you stay?

Minimum 200 character count

How many stars would you give?

Room

Décor

Service

Value

Advertisement