Sign Up
Newsletter Signup
Free Fodor's Newsletter

Subscribe today for weekly travel inspiration, tips, and special offers.

Fodor's Weekly: Your expert travel wrap-up
Today's Departure: Your daily dose of travel inspiration (coming soon)

Florence Hotels

Albergo Firenze

Pros

  • For the location, a great bargain

Cons

  • No-frills public areas

Updated 12/04/2013

Fodor's Review

A block from the Duomo, this hotel is on one of the oldest piazzas in Florence. Though the reception area and hallways have all the charm of a college dormitory, the similarity ends upon entering the spotlessly clean rooms. A good number of triple and quadruple rooms make this a good choice for families.

$

Hotel Information

Address:

Piazza Donati 4, Florence, 50122, Italy

Map It

Phone:

055-214203

Hotel Details:

  • Credit cards accepted
  • 58 rooms
  • Breakfast

Updated 12/04/2013

Advertisement

Map View

Map of



What's Nearby

  • Hotels
  • Restaurants
  • Sights

See all hotels in Florence

Fodorite Reviews

Average Rating

By yip66

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Sep 10, 2012

All around good.

Pros: EXCELLENT LOCATION - in the center of town, right across from a church with daily concerts, friendly staff, Air conditioning, quick response to room concerns/problems Cons: Thin walls, wifi only available in the lobby and parts of the 1st floor

By Claudia

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jan 12, 2003

Location, Location, Location

Too bad the rating system does not include a score for location, because that is what makes this property shine--along with the very reasonable room rate. It was an absolute joy to walk out of the hotel and be right in the very heart of Florence. Being out late at night, walking to the hotel, was a delight. The price can hardly be beat. However, all that said--it is definitely a 1-star hotel. Quite institutional in decor, particularly in our room.

All the staff we dealt with were quite friendly--and always accessible. The worst part for me were the mosquito bites I would get during the night while asleep. It really was too warm to sleep with the windows closed, but there was no A/C in our room. So....I suffered with angry, red blotches on my face, neck, and arms for the rest of my trip. We are going back this year--and are trying the Abaco Hotel this time. However, if we had had difficulty finding another inexpensive hotel--we would have gone back to Hotel Firenze with bug spray in hand.

Read More

By Carol

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Apr 19, 2001

If you like to party til 4a.m.......

We stayed her in March 2001. The location is fantastic,price great;even the desk clerks were ok (Barbara was very kind),but.....we got little sleep here because college students partied until 4 a.m. each day.Staff didn't try to keep order. Room and baths clean.

By Sal

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Nov 19, 2000

Best value

Good value, clean rooms, kind staff for cleaning and breakfast, some accommodating desk clerks, but unpleasant brusk, sometimes downright nasty, management. Noisy street and cafes nearby.

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Oct 11, 2000

For that hospital stay experience

The hotel is a great value and in the heart of Florence. The only major drawback was the actual room. The walls were white, the floor was white linoleum, the towels were rough tea towels that were worthless to use to dry off, the shower curtain was mildewed, etc. The hotel also does not provide a secure place for your luggage. You have to keep it in the lobby away from sight of the desk staff.

Show All

Add Your Own Review

When did you stay?

Minimum 200 character count

How many stars would you give?

Room

Décor

Service

Value

Advertisement