Sign Up
Newsletter Signup
Free Fodor's Newsletter

Subscribe today for weekly travel inspiration, tips, and special offers.

Passport: Your weekly travel wrap-up
Today's Departure: Your daily dose of travel inspiration

Florence Restaurants

La Giostra

  • Borgo Pinti 12/r Map It
  • Santa Croce
  • Italian

Updated 04/03/2015

Fodor's Review

This clubby spot, whose name means "carousel" in Italian, was created by the late Prince Dimitri Kunz d'Asburgo Lorena, and is now expertly run by his handsome twin sons. In perfect English they will describe favorite dishes, such as the taglierini con tartufo bianco, a decadently rich pasta with white truffles. The constantly changing menu has terrific vegetarian and vegan options, and any meal that does not include truffles is significantly less expensive than those that do. For dessert, this might be the only show in town with a sublime tiramisù and a wonderfully gooey Sacher torte.

Restaurant Information

Address:

Borgo Pinti 12/r, Florence, 50121, Italy

Map It

Phone:

055-241341

Restaurant Details:

  • Credit cards accepted
  • No lunch weekends.
  • Reservations essential

Updated 04/03/2015

Advertisement

Map View

Map of



What's Nearby

  • Hotels
  • Restaurants
  • Sights

See all restaurants in Florence

Fodorite Reviews

Average Rating

By elaine

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Service

  • Value

Nov 1, 2009

La Giostra Review

www.ristorantelagiostra.com Off Piazza Salvemini near Santa Croce. From behind the Duomo take Via dell' Oriuolo to Borgo Pinti. Go left to #12. We loved this place. You receive a slightly eccentric but warm welcome from the staff, and they are happy to make suggestions for your food and wine, or plan the meal for you. The service is friendly and casual, but efficient. The other patrons are a mix of locals and tourists, and everyone seems

to be enjoying themselves. The honeymoon couple next to us were there for the second night in a row. We considered doing the same. Food portions were generous; don’t over-order, or, ask for advice.

Read More
  • Service

  • Décor

  • Value

  • Food

Aug 28, 2008

Great food, but...

This place came highly recommended by friends. We noticed that there were no Italian diners there, only tourists. The "free" (there's a cover charge) prosecco and antipasto were a nice touch, and the food was delicious. No wine by the glass, however. And no half bottles either. When I didn't order a bottle, the service died. I cannot recommend this place...even though the pasta with porcini was the best I've ever had.

  • Décor

  • Value

  • Service

  • Food

Jun 10, 2008

Interesting decor, but excellent food and wine

Came here on a Friday night without a reservation and they were able to squeeze us in. Our server was patient while we struggled with Italian, then started speaking perfect English to explain some menu items. They bring every table an antipasto platter (for free) after you order that is to die for. My husband had the best osso bucco he has ever tasted here. I had a pear ravioli, which was one of the most unique dishes I have ever tasted. The

flashing christmas lights on the ceiling were an interesting decor choice, but the good food made up for it.

Read More
  • Food

  • Décor

  • Service

  • Value

Mar 20, 2008

overrated and pretentious

No wine by the glass, overpriced wine list, the most unhelpful waiter I have ever had, without a doubt. He spent about 90 seconds with us..a server delivered the food.Menu is in Italian only, which is fine if you don't have a snob for a waiter who was rude and dismissive despite the fact that he spoke English quite well as was evidenced by his fake Italian accent ( I wonder where in the states he is from). The hostess was also rude. How dissapointing.

Food is not that great and and exepensive. I have never reviewed a restaurant before...I was truly inspired tonight.

Read More
  • Food

  • Décor

  • Service

  • Value

Jul 3, 2007

I always go here

Every time I am in Florence I always have to go to this wonderful restaurant. I particularly like to go there during white truffle season. The beef Carpaccio with white truffles are perfect. However, any one whom does not understand the difference between real Tuscan food and the olive garden. Or to those who prefers their pasta smothered in an overdose of cheap tomato sauce, powdered garlic via American style then I recommend you do avoid.

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Service

  • Value

May 10, 2007

Wonderful Dining Experience

My husband and I had a great dinner here a few weeks ago while vacationing in Italy. I read an excellent review in the Fodor's "talk" section and also saw it recommended on Zagat and Eye Witness' "Top Ten Tuscany" book so decided we must try it. We were not disappointed! The son was our waiter and explained the menu perfectly. For the main entrée he recommended the goat which I loved. One of the best dishes I had our whole trip in Italy. The fried

zucchini flowers were fabulous. We told him we wanted pasta with artichokes so he brought us a dish that wasn't on the menu but oh so wonderful. I also had the shrimp salad with avocado and kiwi. The shrimps were huge, the flavors fantastic. The portions are not small and they also start you off with the complementary hors d'oeuvres so take that into consideration when ordering. The wine decanting is a bit overboard but the whole dining experience was really fun, special and delicious. I would highly recommend this restaurant and I look forward to going again someday. It was one of the highlights of our trip.

Read More
  • Food

  • Décor

  • Service

  • Value

Nov 23, 2006

Emotion

This year I visited the wonderful city of Florence and I ate in many restaurants until I discovered "La Giostra". It's a small distinctive restaurant frequented especially by florentine people but also by international famous cinema actors. The prices are not cheap but proportioned to the quality of the food and to the originality of the place. The owner is a very original and charme guy who is really able to give emotions with his dishes. The

food is amazing and experience unforgettable!!

Read More

Show All

Add Your Own Review

When did you go?

Minimum 200 character count

How many stars would you give?

Food

Décor

Service

Value

Advertisement

Love To Travel?

Get FREE e-mail communications from Fodor's Travel, covering must-see travel destinations, expert trip planning advice, and travel inspiration to fuel your passion.

How we use your email

Thank You

Now sit back, relax, and check your inbox to start planning your next travel adventure.

Please tell us more about the type of travel you're interested in. Check all that apply.