Sign Up
Newsletter Signup
Free Fodor's Newsletter

Subscribe today for weekly travel inspiration, tips, and special offers.

Fodor's Weekly: Your expert travel wrap-up
Today's Departure: Your daily dose of travel inspiration (coming soon)

Dublin Hotels

Four Seasons Hotel Dublin

  • $$$$
  • Trusted Brand
  • Fodor's Choice

Pros

  • One of the country's top spas
  • Full range of facilities
  • Lobby Lounge great for afternoon tea

Cons

  • A bit of an architectural mishmash
  • Room design not the most inventive

Updated 04/29/2014

Fodor's Review

Set within the show grounds of the Royal Dublin Society, this Victorian-Georgian hybrid—topped by gigantic eaves and a lovely cupola—looks like the real McCoy but was in fact built during the boomtime excesses of the brash Celtic Tiger era. The impressive landscaping—it has 4 acres of gardens—aims to make the hotel seem like an oasis; a big effort has been made to ensure that a bit of greenery can be seen from most rooms. Once you enter the six-floor building,

you see pre-20th-century design mixes luxuriously with modern glass and concrete and lends the place a warm touch. Guest rooms are spacious, with large windows that allow light to flood in. The lower-level antiques-adorned spa is one of the finest in the country, with a naturally lit lap pool.

Read More

Hotel Information

Address:

Simmonscourt Rd., Dublin, Co. Dublin, Dublin 4, Ireland

Phone:

01-665–4000

Hotel Details:

  • Credit cards accepted
  • 157 rooms, 40 suites

Updated 04/29/2014

Advertisement

What's Nearby

  • Hotels
  • Restaurants

Fodorite Reviews

Average Rating

By cb

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Nov 16, 2004

better off at bewley's

Very corporate atmosphere and very little of the legendary four seasons service. The rooms(we stayed in an executive suite) are fairly basic-- you'd be better off at one of dublin's other 5 stars. if you are going to the rugby you'd certainly be better off downscaling and sleeping at Bewley's across the street and drinking at the four seasons-- 4 seasons for whatever the reason is still the in place for Dubliners.

By Tonya

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Oct 22, 2004

Wouldn't Stay Anywhere Else

We just returned from Dublin and stayed two nights at the FS. We had purchased their luxury package that included a massage for each of us and an aromatherapy facial for one. Our massages were so relaxing. Our package also included breakfast and one dinner in the Seasons Restaurant. We found the food to be absolutely outstanding. We had a wonderful three course dinner and the only thing we paid for was our wine. Our 18-month son with us and he was

treated like a little prince (they sent him a lovely bath basket and cookies and milk at night). While the decor of the hotel is not to my taste (very grand, but country) it is still a lovely hotel. We had tea and drinks often in the Lobby Lounge which was always bustling with guests, but still quite relaxing. The hotel was full to capacity and we noticed several large tour groups. Also, the big screen version of the Honeymooners is being filmed in Dublin and several of the cast and crew were registered guest at the hotel (we saw Eric Stoltz twice in the Spa/gym). The hotel is about 21/2 miles from the center of Dublin. There is a free shuttle bus you can take if you are not up to the 25-30 minute walk. We knew this when we booked our package, but we love the consistency of the Four Seasons group. We stayed in FS Maui in May and the new FS in Budapest in August. The service is always wonderful and we appreciate that even more now that we are parents.

Read More

By L

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Sep 23, 2004

Generic Four Seasons...

Standard Four Seasons --spacious, well-appointed rooms, excellent service and ammenities. However, if your looking for the true 'Dublin' experience, look elsewhere. The hotel has very little character, and feels very isolated b/c it is situated outside the city.

By Miles

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Mar 6, 2004

Dublins finest

Stayed in an executive suite for just about a week and over a weekend, when I flew over the kids and family for the weekend, thus having both the business and family experiance. On both counts the hotel exceeded any expectations. The service, as everyone agrees, is possibly the best I have experianced in any Four Seasons, sublime and subtle for a business visit and friendly and creative for the kids. The decor is a little too 'Irish Country Home'

for my taste, and given the modern feel of the rest of the hotel, I think they should have be bolder and gone for a contemporary decor, but I suppose the US visitors (which must be a big income source) would feel a little cheated. The pool was a little small, and yes, it is a 10 min cab journey from the city centre, but these are minor faults for a hotel that has clearly decided that the guest is king!

Read More

By Dave

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Aug 2, 2003

Simply Flawless!

Stayed a week in an executive suite. Suite was huge (about 1000 sq ft), beautiful views, exquisite furnishings, and fabulous (& very friendly) service - even the room service menu was reasonable! Treated us like royalty, yet not at all stuffy. The complimentary coffee service and business center with broadband access is great, and the new spa (& pool) is fabulous. Even at top-tier hotels like Four Seasons, it is very rare for me to have nothing

to complain about, but this is the cream of the crop! Some might consider the location a drawback, but we preferred to return to the posh suburban location after a day of touring.

Read More

By Bruno

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jul 19, 2003

Watch your Euros...

Hotel is beautiful and classy. Upon registration, we were told that the room rate has changed since the room only included breakfast for one and not two ( even though the reservation clearly said breakfast included for Mr. & Mrs.). They tried to charge us an additional E25 . Room was close to the elevators and could feel its vibrations and noise throughout the night. Room was comfortable and nice- not fabulous- a bit worn. Location of the hotel

not the best either- far from everything, you really can not walk anywhere from the hotel. The only great advantage to the location is a beautiful DUCK POND located nearby filled with beautiful duck families. The concierge only recommends tours for one company- if the tour for that day is fully booked, they will tell you they have exhausted their sources- we found many other companies available for touring.

Read More

By Robbie

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Nov 27, 2002

Best Service in Dublin and Great Staff !

(Only drawback - it could be a little closer to the city centre)

By John

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Aug 2, 2002

Mary Poppins couldn't have served you better

Great service at this hotel. The concierge was unbelievable at recommending places. Everything was in mint condition, and everyone very friendly. The atmosphere was definitely a bit grand, and the restaurant overpriced...but what luxury hotel isn't? I'd come back in a heart-beat.

By Mike

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Feb 21, 2002

Great!

Great hotel. Expensive, but worth it. Stayed at the hotel in May, 2001. We were upgraded to a premier room, which was huge! Room and public areas decor is great. Service was outstanding. Tea was excellent. Restaurant was very good. Only minus is that the hotel is a bit out of the city center, but only offers a shuttle to the financial center.

Show All

Add Your Own Review

When did you stay?

Minimum 200 character count

How many stars would you give?

Room

Décor

Service

Value

Advertisement