Sign Up
Newsletter Signup
Free Fodor's Newsletter

Subscribe today for weekly travel inspiration, tips, and special offers.

Fodor's Weekly: Your expert travel wrap-up
Today's Departure: Your daily dose of travel inspiration (coming soon)

Dublin Hotels

Ariel Guest House

Pros

  • Four-poster beds in larger rooms
  • Fantastic collection of Victoriana throughout the house
  • Good price for smaller rooms

Cons

  • No elevator
  • A good walk to the city center

Updated 04/29/2014

Fodor's Review

The homemade preserves and oven-warm scones are reason enough to stay at this redbrick 1850 Victorian guesthouse, in one of Dublin's poshest tree-lined suburbs and a 15-minute walk from St. Stephen's Green. Restored rooms in the main house are lovingly decorated with Georgian antiques, Victoriana, and period wallpaper and drapes. The 13 rooms at the back of the house are less luxurious, but all are immaculate. A Waterford-crystal chandelier hangs over the comfortable leather

and mahogany furniture in the gracious, fireplace-warmed drawing room where afternoon tea is served.

Read More

Hotel Information

Address:

52 Lansdowne Rd., Dublin, Co. Dublin, Dublin 4, Ireland

Map It

Phone:

01-668–5512

Hotel Details:

  • Credit cards accepted
  • 37 rooms
  • Breakfast

Updated 04/29/2014

Book A Hotel

Advertisement

Map View

Map of



What's Nearby

  • Hotels
  • Restaurants

Fodorite Reviews

Average Rating

By Paul

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

May 6, 2005

Starting to feel neglected

Room a double/double was in basement. Very spacious..seemed clean but felt neglected,dark, dowdy....antique look (prob real antiques) to try and make feel luxurious but felt like room was old dusty dark. It felt grubby. Carpet was uughh ! Bathroom had some rusty fittings, floor looked unwashed ( for some time)...definitley not a luxury proposition that it could have been,. Breakfast room was nice and bright and service was good

By Peter

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Aug 22, 2004

Ariel House A real Dublin Gem

My wife and I and our daughter and her husband stayed in the Ariel House Agust 16 through August 18. This house ranks up with the Wm. Kehoe House in Savannah Ga. USA. (kehoehouse.com if you'd care to check it out). Deirdre and the staff at the Ariel House were professional and saw to satisfying our needs and answering our questions. The location is convenient and QUIET. Deirdre's suggestions for places to eat led us to some excellant restaurants

near the US Embassy (about 1/2 mile away). The breakfast staff were efficient and courteous. The directions to drive to the airport were clear and accurate. The off street private parking was secure and ample. We highly recommend the Ariel House. We wonder if the person who made the one negative comment in the comments below actually stayed in the Ariel House. We have stayed in many top B&B's all over the US and Europe and the Ariel House is one of the very best. Good value, great service, and a relaxing and elegant ambiance. A great Dublin House!

Read More

By Richard

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Aug 4, 2004

Good value and location

My wife, son and I stayed 3 nights at Ariel House 7/30/04 to 8/1/04. Hotel is in a quiet neiborhood, a 20-25 minute walk into the center, but DART train station is half a block away and is 2-3 quick stops to downtown (RT costs EUR2.25). Room we stayed in is showing its age, but was clean and quite acceptable. Staff are EXCEPTIONALLY PLEASANT AND HELPFUL (Deirdre, Kathryn and others). They took a real interest in us and went above and beyond to

help us with our stay. Good breakfast in sunny conservatory. Guest comment book full of recent, highly favorable reviews, including mine.

Read More

By Craig

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jun 3, 2004

What a dump!

I thought Ariel guest house would be a nice finish to our stay in Ireland. The photos of the hotel and the rooms looked wonderful on their web site. The hotel gave us directions to the hotel that were impossible to follow. The rooms were dirty. The tables in the rooms have water stains on them. There were cob webs in the rooms and mildew in the bathroom. We asked the clerk for directions to the airport when we left. Given our trip in, we decided

to check them at the hotel down the street and found that they would take us no where near the airport. Other hotels in Dublin had much better value and a better location. Ariel in not in a good location. The best part was leaving.

Read More

By Mike

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Mar 4, 2002

Mini suite is nice.

DART is close by, easy to get to city center or up/down the coast. RDS is short walk. Breakfast only 1 hr last time I stayed. Very friendly.

Show All

Add Your Own Review

When did you stay?

Minimum 200 character count

How many stars would you give?

Room

Décor

Service

Value

Advertisement