When Ireland's first public library was founded and endowed in 1701 by Narcissus Marsh, the Archbishop of Dublin, it was made open to "All Graduates and Gentlemen." The two-story brick Georgian building has remained virtually the same since then. It houses a priceless collection of 250 manuscripts and 25,000 15th- to 18th-century books. Many of these rare volumes were locked inside cages, as were the readers who wished to peruse them. The cages were to discourage the often
impecunious students, who may have been tempted to make the books their own. The library has been restored with great attention to its original architectural details, especially in the book stacks. It's a short walk west from St. Stephen's Green and is accessed through a charming little cottage garden.
St. Patrick's Close off Patrick St., Dublin, Co. Dublin, Dublin 8, Ireland
Nov 11, 2008
Evocative old building with plenty of interesting detail work. Has exhibits of rare books, usually based on a common theme (maps, etc.). A must-see for book lovers.