Sign Up
Newsletter Signup
Free Fodor's Newsletter

Subscribe today for weekly travel inspiration, tips, and special offers.

Passport: Your weekly travel wrap-up
Today's Departure: Your daily dose of travel inspiration

Dublin Sights

Guinness Storehouse

  • Fodor's Choice

Updated 04/29/2014

Fodor's Review

Ireland's all-dominating brewery—founded by Arthur Guinness in 1759 and at one time the largest stout-producing brewery in the world—spans a 60-acre spread west of Christ Church Cathedral. Not surprisingly, it's the most popular tourist destination in town—after all, the Irish national drink is Guinness stout, a dark brew made with roasted malt. The brewery itself is closed to the public, but the Guinness Storehouse is a spectacular attraction, designed to woo—some

might say brainwash—you with the wonders of the "dark stuff." In a 1904 cast-iron-and-brick warehouse, the museum display covers six floors built around a huge, central glass atrium which is shaped like a giant pint glass. Beneath the glass floor of the lobby you can see Arthur Guinness's original lease on the site, for a whopping 9,000 years. The exhibition elucidates the brewing process and its history, with antique presses and vats, a look at bottle and can design through the ages, a history of the Guinness family, a fascinating archive of Guinness advertisements, and a chance to pull your own perfect pint. The star attraction is undoubtedly the top-floor Gravity Bar, with 360-degree floor-to-ceiling glass walls that offer a nonpareil view out over the city at sunset while you sip your free pint. One of the bar's first clients was one William Jefferson Clinton. You'll find the Guinness logo on everything from piggy banks to underpants in the Guinness Store on the ground floor.

Read More

Sight Information

Address:

St. James' Gate, Dublin, Co. Dublin, Dublin 8, Ireland

Phone:

01-408–4800

Sight Details:

  • €16.50
  • July and Aug., daily 9:30–7; Sept.–June, daily 9:30–5

Updated 04/29/2014

Advertisement

What's Nearby

  • Hotels
  • Restaurants
  • Sights

See all sights in Dublin

Fodorite Reviews

Average Rating

By poloso

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Oct 13, 2007

An 'attraction' worth avoiding

Apart from the 'free' pint at the top, and the view, a visit here is a waste of time. I find it incomprehensible why you give it a high rating.

By Matt

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Nov 7, 2006

Better things to do with the money

I visited the brewery although I had been advised not to because it's a waste of money. So now i can also acknowledge: Why waste a lot of money on visiting a factory of liver poison, while you can get much of great nature in ireland, and for free. The queues were long, low interest, value for money was extremely bad. There is a lot of green in ireland - better to watch it.

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Apr 4, 2005

It's All About The Guinness

The Guinness Storehouse is extremely informative, I never knew you could make a whole museum so interesting based on one drink. Not sure if it is deliberate but the smell of the brewing process while you are making your way up the levels makes that free pint you know is waiting for you at the top taste like the best pint you've ever had!

By Jason

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jun 23, 2004

Great time if you enjoy Guinness

Hi had a great time at this place, but I am also a huge guiness fan. The tour was somewhat reasonable (13 euro i think), and the view from the Gravity Bar at the top is probably the best view you could get of Dublin. This view is almost worth going just so you can check it out. Didn't go to the restaurant. The Tour takes about an hour or two and is a self guided tour. You can do it at your own pace.

By CML

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jun 1, 2004

Restaurant not accessible without the tour

We did not go to the Storehouse for the tour. We went because Fodor's Ireland 2004 guide states that it has one of the best lunches in town. The guide failed to mention that the restaurant is only accessible with a paid ticket for the Storehouse tour. The Storehouse is located in an industrial neighborhood that takes about 30 minutes to walk from Trinity College area, and there are no other restaurants in the immediate area. At least the gift

shop is accessible without paying for the tour.

Read More

By John

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Mar 13, 2004

Guinness Heaven

A can't miss for visitors to Dublin. The bar on top of the brewery offers a 360 view of Dublin, something I couldn't find elsewhere.

Show All

Add Your Own Review

When did you go?

Minimum 200 character count

How many stars would you give?

Experience

Ease

Value

Don't Miss

Advertisement