Sign Up
Newsletter Signup
Free Fodor's Newsletter

Subscribe today for weekly travel inspiration, tips, and special offers.

Fodor's Weekly: Your expert travel wrap-up
Today's Departure: Your daily dose of travel inspiration (coming soon)

County Clare, Galway, and the Aran Islands Hotels

Dromoland Castle Hotel and Country Estate

  • Courtesy of Dromoland Castle Hotel and Country Estate

  • Courtesy of Dromoland Castle Hotel and Country Estate

  • Courtesy of Dromoland Castle Hotel and Country Estate

  • Courtesy of Dromoland Castle Hotel and Country Estate

  • Courtesy of Dromoland Castle Hotel and Country Estate

  • Courtesy of Dromoland Castle Hotel and Country Estate

  • Courtesy of Dromoland Castle Hotel and Country Estate

  • Courtesy of Dromoland Castle Hotel and Country Estate

  • Courtesy of Dromoland Castle Hotel and Country Estate

  • Courtesy of Dromoland Castle Hotel and Country Estate

2014 Hotel
Award Winner 2014

Pros

  • Old-fashioned luxury
  • Friendly, helpful staff
  • Some rooms have been recently refurbished
  • Beautiful grounds

Cons

  • Golfers can spoil the romantic idyll
  • You'll want to stay much longer than you can afford

Updated 04/09/2014

Fodor's Review

With structures that date back to the 11th and 16th centuries, and now one of Ireland's grandest hotels, Dromoland bristles with towers rising up over a picture-perfect lake like a storybook illustration from King Arthur. A massive neo-Gothic castle, it was, in fact, the ancestral home of the O'Briens, descendants of Brian Bórú, High King of Ireland. Inside, Dromoland provides all the creature comforts any king would expect: oak paneling, ancestral portraits, crystal

chandeliers, and Irish-Georgian antiques. Bedrooms (suites, in fact) in the main wing are the most elaborate, with four-poster beds and genuine Hepplewhite armoires. Guest rooms in the newer wings are more hotel-like, with Regency-style furniture. Rooms with a lake view are the most sought after. For dining, the Fig Tree Restaurant in the golf clubhouse offers a casual option while the neo-Gothic, oak-wainscoted Earl of Thomond Restaurant is the place for a chandeliered European feast. For activities, the 450-acre estate offers a golf course, tennis, fishing, spa, falconry, and woodlands perfect for jogging and cycling.

Read More

Hotel Award Winner | 2012

Hotel Information

Address:

5 km (3 miles) west of Newmarket-on-Fergus, signposted from N18, Newmarket-on-Fergus, Co. Clare, Ireland

Phone:

061-368–144

Website: www.dromoland.ie

Hotel Details:

  • Credit cards accepted
  • 99 rooms

Updated 04/09/2014

Book A Hotel

Advertisement

Fodorite Reviews

Average Rating

By drzone

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jun 9, 2012

Dromoland Castle Hotel and Country Estate Review

This property is everything Fodor's claims. Outstanding service, great food and the rooms are smashing. By all means, reserve a lake-view room and bask in luxury all the way. Leave the kiddies at home.

By Deb

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jun 19, 2003

Dismal Dromoland

About everything that could go wrong did during our one-night stay, from not receiving the hotel services pre-booked, to a rodent in our hotel room, to extremely poor service and food quality at the highly touted restaurant, to my missing frock later found hidden in the housekeeper's cart, to a hotel-wide power failure, and an incorrect bill. On a positive note, the spa services were wonderful. But that the hotel desk clerk and manager were argumentative

and unempathetic regarding our situation when we politely brought the circumstances to their attention was truly unexpected. Reluctantly and after much protest, the manager agreed to a slightly reduced bill for those services not provided to us yet the full charges were then later billed to my credit card. After several international phone calls, the bill correction was made. To say that we were disappointed in our overall experience, especially after the glowing write-ups that we read is an understatement.

Read More

By Eric

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Apr 21, 2003

Oak fires, single malt scotches, and deluxe rooms.

I've been all over Ireland, usually doing my Wandering American impersonation, meandering in my rental car with no reservations lined up. I called Dromoland on a whim, showing up in my muddy little Mondeo, with me filthy from hillwalking. Despite my appearance and lack of reservation, it was the off-season, and they had a standard room available, at a discount. My room was far nicer and better equipped than similar stays at the W Hotel in Manhattan

or many other posh, pricey retreats for the well-heeled. A decanter of mead is included, along with Penhaligon soaps and shampoos (which will always remind me of this very memorable stay), and the bed is simply the most comfortable hotel bed in Ireland. The main hall, with its oak fireplace and drawing room, are a wonderful place to unwind with a single malt scotch and play a game of chess, or just hang out and enjoy the very regal ambience. Jacket and tie are required in the bar in the evening, but the bartender, extremely knowledgeable about his products, turned us on to a lot of new drinks I'd never had, and always with a wee joke thrown in for fun. I'm surprised to read reports of bad treatment here on Fodor's... I've never experienced anything less than a very pleasant welcome, courtesy and friendliness from the staff. If the traditional B&B route is not for you, and you want a deluxe room within driving distance of a lot of Western Ireland, this is a very very nice place to make your home away from home.

Read More
  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Mar 22, 2003

Disappointed in Dromoland

The hotel and the grounds of this 5-star property are very impressive. I was not, however, happy with my treatment here. The woman at the reception desk was not friendly at all. In addition, I paid extra for an upgrade, but my deluxe room was no bigger than a usual standard room.

By Mike

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

May 17, 2002

Surprisingly Family-friendly

Our entire family (three-generations, ranging in age from 3 to 70+) fell in love with Dromoland Castle. While we expected luxurious rooms and a impressive setting, we didn’t expect the staff to be so child-friendly and generally accommodating. No task was to great all small – from a ride in a golf cart for those too young or old to stroll down to the pool to special meals for the kids who found nothing they liked on the menu. The grounds are

splendid, the buildings well maintained, and the rooms plush without feeling stuffy. But it was the winning attitude of the staff that really won us over. Expensive, but worth it!

Read More

By Michael

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

May 10, 2002

Living Like Royalty

Our family of 4 stayed at Dromoland at the end of March for 2 nights while on spring break. This simply may be one of the best hotels in the world to stay. The staff at Dromoland were outstanding,the rooms were spacious and the grounds exquisite. Our only regret was that we did not spend more days at Dromoland while on our vacation.

By Dottie

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Mar 24, 2002

A Wonderful Castle Experience

Maybe the reason this hotel impressed us much is that we usually stay in three star hotels and this is a five star. The concierge, dressed in suit and tie, met us as we pulled to the door; he shook our hands, introducting himself and asking our names. He then instructed us to proceed inside and he would have our luggage brought to our room and someone park our car. He then said if we were going out for dinner to call the front desk telling them what

time we were leaving and he would bring our car around. (And it happened just like that) We had to look for him the next morning to tip him as we never saw him except when he first met us. Our room was wonderful with real art on the walls and not nailed down :-) LOL! It was a large room with wing back chairs, a music center with CD's and a crystal decanter filled with cognac and two crystal glasses. The housekeepers kept the decanter filled at all times (for the price of the room) no extra charge. The bath was huge with two sinks, a tub and two showeres and a heated towel rack. There were slippers and bathrobes laid out on our beds. Like I said, we have never stayed at a 5 star hotel before so maybe they are all like that, but we felt so pampered and enjoyed the spacious gardens and grounds so very much! --------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Read More

Show All

Add Your Own Review

When did you stay?

Minimum 200 character count

How many stars would you give?

Room

Décor

Service

Value

Advertisement