Sign Up
Newsletter Signup
Free Fodor's Newsletter

Subscribe today for weekly travel inspiration, tips, and special offers.

Fodor's Weekly: Your expert travel wrap-up
Today's Departure: Your daily dose of travel inspiration (coming soon)

Reykjavik Hotels

Hotel Leifur Eiríksson

  • Skólavörðustígur 45 Map It
  • $$
  • Local Flavor

Pros

  • Good location
  • Quiet area
  • Friendly staff

Cons

  • Rooms and bathrooms can be small and charmless
  • No elevator
  • Faded furnishings

Updated 12/12/2012

Fodor's Review

Across the street from the hilltop church of Hallgrímskirkja, this hotel is a short walk from most of Reykjavík's major attractions. Some guest rooms have balconies.

Hotel Information

Address:

Skólavörðustígur 45, Reykjavík, IS-101, Iceland

Map It

Phone:

/562–0800;

Hotel Details:

  • Credit cards accepted
  • 47 rooms
  • Breakfast

Updated 12/12/2012

Book A Hotel

Advertisement

Map View

Map of



What's Nearby

  • Hotels
  • Restaurants
  • Sights

See all hotels in Reykjavik

Fodorite Reviews

Average Rating
  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Aug 22, 2009

Clean, Friendly, Inexpensive

We really liked this hotel. The location was great, directly across the street for The Church, which is visible (a landmark) from anywhere in Reykavik. Relatively speaking, the price is right. Our rooms were clean and very small. Mine was in the underground level and had a musty smell. The views from the windows were quite nice. There was a great little store a few meters away. And we were within walking distance of the downtown area--shopping,

restaurants, and sites. The best part was the staff. They were incredibly helpful and friendly. If you are used to luxury, this would not be the right place for you. Leifur is best suited for the traveler who is willing to trade space for convenience and genuine kindness.

Read More

By Paul

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

May 22, 2005

LEIFUR EIRÍKSSON would be proud

I stayed at this hotel for 3 nights very recently and it was very nice!, the only gripe being that the room was a little on the small side but other than that it was absolutely excelent. the staff are very friendly and helpfull especially when it comes to arainging tours and getting information. a very nice place to stay

By Julie

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Sep 17, 2004

Truly depressing

This hotel has a fantastic location. This is really the only positive thing I can find to say about it. I could, however, wax lyrical on the poky basement room and the miniscule bathroom with miniature washbasin (only room for one hand at a time). Similarly the sheet which was smaller than the bed and the truly nasty processed sliced bread, and chemical alternative to orange juice at breakfast. I might recommend this hotel to my worst enemy, but

I would probably feel a bit guilty for doing it.

Read More
  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Dec 9, 2003

Great Everything!

I found the hotel on this website. It was in a perfect location and central to everything. The staff was very friendly, and extremely helpful. They even hooked us up with massages! We were upgraded to an Efficiency Apt when we got there. It was a couple buildings down, but was really great. True Icelandic ambiance. Price was comparable to most European cities for similar hotels. I would definitely stay here again.

By Larry

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Nov 11, 2002

Does The TV Get Anything in English?

We stayed here at the end of October 2002 for 3 nights. It was great, especially being able to chat with other guests, the owners, and desk staff. The room was nice, although the sheets have shrunk from washing and don't tuck in as well as we would have liked. We accidentally got picked up by the wrong tour bus one morning. The desk clerk, Sean, figured out what happened and went way out of his way to track us down and get us transferred to the

correct one - we are so glad he did, the IE golden circle tour was fantastic. We plan on returning to Iceland and will absolutely stay here again. It is a somewhat small tourist hotel and beats the daylights out of the chain hotels. The TV gets one Icelandic channel, and the BBC World Service (which repeats every 2 hours). The Icelandic channel has some English programs in the evening (we watched he Sopranos!)

Read More

Show All

Add Your Own Review

When did you stay?

Minimum 200 character count

How many stars would you give?

Room

Décor

Service

Value

Advertisement