Sign Up
Newsletter Signup
Free Fodor's Newsletter

Subscribe today for weekly travel inspiration, tips, and special offers.

Fodor's Weekly: Your expert travel wrap-up
Today's Departure: Your daily dose of travel inspiration (coming soon)

The Cyclades Hotels

Vedema

  • Luxurious Retreat

Pros

  • Vedema is not cheap, but you'll get what you're paying for all the room, food, and service, luxuries

Cons

  • Isolated from island life, although a handy shuttle service ferries you to other parts of the island

Updated 09/08/2014

Fodor's Review

This distant and deluxe black-lava outpost is a world unto itself; 42 villas have been built around a beautiful 15th-century winery, almost like a gated community in Florida, all done in a minimalism-meets-Mediterranean leitmotif. SoHo stone tables are set below vintage island-style mirrors, and some guest rooms are done in such shocking blues and pinks that you may soon be reaching for your Visine; all units have lovely outdoor spaces, some with private pools, and enjoy

restful vineyard and sea views. The old vaulted dining room is one of the prettiest on Santorini, and the wine cellar, with its many valuable wines, is worth exploration (there are wine tastings nightly). The spacious suites all have marble bathrooms and terraces.

Read More

Hotel Information

Address:

Megalochori, Santorini, 84700, Greece

Phone:

22860-81796

Website: www.vedema.gr

Hotel Details:

  • Credit cards accepted
  • Closed Nov.–Mar.
  • 35 rooms, 7 suites
  • Breakfast

Updated 09/08/2014

Advertisement

What's Nearby

  • Hotels
  • Restaurants

Fodorite Reviews

Average Rating
  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jul 12, 2010

Vedema Review

My wife and I traveled from the US to Greece for a romantic vacation. The pictures and description of this hotel on the website made it look like like an oasis that we looked forward to. When we got there, we realized that the hotel's public relations department hired an excellent photographer as the hotel was TERRIBLE. The descriptions of the suites are misleading, and unless you are staying in an Olympian Villa or the Presidential Suite (the most

expensive rooms in this hotel) you will be extremely disappointed. Even the Olympian Villas had problems with jacuzzi not working, pool being ice cold, and a view of nothing. When you think about visiting Santorini - this is NOT the view that you want to have. We would NEVER go back here. We felt trapped and claustrophobic and could not believed we spent >12 hours to get to this hotel. DO NOT COME TO VEDEMA AND DO NOT BE DECEIVED BY PHOTOS OR DESCRIPTIONS ON THE WEBSITE!!!!!

Read More

By Janice

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jul 14, 2006

The most expensive motel 8 I have ever been to

Wow was this place awful at best. If you have a reservation here I would cancel it. Their staff is extremely rude, the owner of the hotel kicked out another guest at the pool (if you could call it that) for complaining about things. The front desk person yelled at my husband. This place also needs a good cleaning.

By Jerome

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Aug 20, 2005

Overrated, staff completely out of their depth

The first impression is fantastic, with a portion of the village of Megalokhori having been transformed into the hotel...the rooms fall short of qualifying as "luxury" (unless noisy a/c units are what makes this work for you), the pool is tiny and there is virtually nowhere to sit unless you're up at dawn to put your towel out (which has got to be the most obnoxious thing one can do on holiday), and the service comes with such an attitude that you'll

want to slug them all after 24 hours - they won't do anything for you if it requires an effort. Finally you'll need a car as the so-called shuttle service works on their schedule, not yours -- and in any event you'll want to be able to explore the island away from the crowded beaches where the hotels send their guests. My advice -- stay in Oia!

Read More

By Karl

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jul 3, 2005

A Good Experience

We did have a suite with a far view of the ocean (Thalassa); the service was outstanding, the food (dinner at the Vino Santo just OK), but breakfast very nice. Most units have two bedrooms (some with one upstairs); wound up with a single bedroom, with a sitting room and a nice balcony.We would revisit if we do go back to the island.

By g

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jul 1, 2005

Poor Service

Poor and slow service (with certain exceptions), unknowledgeable staff, inconvenient location. Exceedingly noisy rooms. Can hear each step in room above, construction starting at 7:30am on a Saturday next door, loud guests checking out at 5:30am across the walkway ....

By Nicole

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Mar 18, 2004

If only it had a view...

We split a week in Santorini between this hotel and Katikies in Oia, so I really saw the contrast between a luxury hotel with a view and one without. While Vedema rated a perfect score in my book for service and value (we split a two bedroom villa with another couple, so the value was great), it scores low on atmosphere because it really is a self contained resort that could be anywhere. One really has no sense of being on Santorini at this hotel-

there is no quaint village with shops and restaurants (like you find in Oia and Fira), and no view of the famous caldera. The service and quality of the resort made up for this shortcoming until we got to our second hotel, where we really came to appreciate the importance of staying on the edge of the caldera. Santorini has the most dramatic and beautiful scenery- it is a shame to visit and not stay where you can take full advantage of this. That said, this is a top notch resort which is well aware that it must try harder in other ways to make up for the setting. Therefore, the restaurant is great, the pool and grounds are nice and the staff can't do enough for you. This is a great place to be pampered, but not a place to soak up the serene atmosphere that makes Santorini so special.

Read More

By Thomas

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Oct 8, 2001

The World Luxury Collection Hotel Ever Visted!

First the hotel limo driver turns up late, then blames us for arriving early (our flight was a half-hour late), then we were disappointed to discover that there was no view of the caldera, which is the main reason to visit Santorini. Service was abysmal. Gym closed, pool filthy, phones broken, dank smelly rooms, broken furniture. Room service was a joke-- it seems you need to specify that you will require a napkin, silverware, bread and butter,

and salt and pepper when you order your breakfast! Don't know how this one made it into the Luxury Collection.

Read More

Show All

Add Your Own Review

When did you stay?

Minimum 200 character count

How many stars would you give?

Room

Décor

Service

Value

Advertisement