Sign Up
Newsletter Signup
Free Fodor's Newsletter

Subscribe today for weekly travel inspiration, tips, and special offers.

Fodor's Weekly: Your expert travel wrap-up
Today's Departure: Your daily dose of travel inspiration (coming soon)

The Cyclades Hotels

Aigialos Hotel

  • $$$$
  • Luxurious Retreat
  • Fodor's Choice

Pros

  • Not a phony place set up for tourists
  • Quiet elegance
  • Friendly, discreet service

Cons

  • Some steps, but fewer than elsewhere
  • The pool is tiny

Updated 09/08/2014

Fodor's Review

A cluster of buildings from the 18th and 19th centuries comprises the most comfortable and discreetly luxurious—as well as the most poetic and serenely quiet—place to stay in Fira. This is an aristocratic haven of heavenly pastels, marble floors, beautiful antique furniture, 19th-century engravings, and sublime terraces and balconies overlooking the caldera. There's maid service twice daily, impeccable 24-hour service, fresh flowers, and a gourmet Mediterranean restaurant

that will serve you on your private terrace or in a deep, charmingly decorated cave house.

Read More

Hotel Information

Address:

South end of cliff-side walkway, Fira, Santorini, 84700, Greece

Phone:

22860-25191

Website: www.aigialos.gr

Hotel Details:

  • Credit cards accepted
  • Closed Nov.–Mar.
  • 17 rooms and suites
  • Breakfast

Updated 09/08/2014

Advertisement

What's Nearby

  • Hotels
  • Restaurants
  • Sights

See all hotels in The Cyclades

Fodorite Reviews

Average Rating
  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jun 17, 2010

Aigialos Review

We spent 4 nights at the Aigialos right after it opened for the season in May 2010. Because Aigalos is at the edge of Fira, it is very quiet and serene. It’s a picturesque 5- minute walk to restaurants and shopping. The caldera setting is dramatic day and night, with gorgeous volcano views and prime sunset viewing. Every morning and evening, we were delighted to hear the jingling of bells announcing the donkeys going down the path in front of

our house and back up at the end of the day. Eating breakfast on the lovely patio each morning was a complete delight. Through the welcoming red door, we had a view of the deep blue water and the volcano. Other tourists came by and took their holiday photos in front of Aiglialos. Our photos are so breathtaking that our friends can’t believe we came home. Our dinners, made by the outstanding, creative and humble chef were fabulous. Each warm and professional member of the staff greeted us by name and did something extra to make our stay comfortable, special and memorable. The staff performs like a high-functioning and caring family, and we felt like part the family. It was so hard to leave.

Read More
  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jul 23, 2009

Truly exceptional in everything - A Great Hotel!

I visited Aigialos with my husband in July and we had an absolutely unforgetable stay. We stayed at the beautiful Kaikias House, with its unique view to the Aegean Sea and the breathtaking Caldera - already a good reason to come back. But the hotel itself has enchanted us, with its dignified and tranquil aura, its serenity, the graceful architecture and decoration, starting from the lobby, which is furnished with rare antiques and tapestries, to

our rooms with the smooth marble floors and bathroom, the hand-curved bed poster, the antiques and the original paintings. My best description is being invited to a beautiful house, full of original and rare, well-cared pieces, combined with all modern hotel amenities. Definitely not something one encounters often, even at boutique hotels. This place is the original, clasy Santorini mansion. The hotel staff was fantastic, attentive, professional and friendly and they really go out of their way to make the stay exceptional - from restaurant suggestions to trip organization. Excellent chef - Aigialos' restaurant is really a hidden gem! Room service 24/7, maid service twice daily. Well done! The location is really superb, both in terms of view and proximity to the Fira city, as well as to some of the island's best gourmet restaurants and the cycladic museum. Truly exceptional in everything - looking forward to visiting it again soon!

Read More
  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

May 25, 2009

Wonderful Hotel, Fantastic Staff

My wife and I just ended a 3-night stay in the Evros Apartment and we cannot say anything bad about Aigialos (other than it's hard to pronounce or spell). Jean Pierre and his staff, who took over in April '09, did everything possible to make our stay comfortable. They picked us up and dropped us off at the airport, made reservations at other restaurants, had laundry done, and provided recommendations for activities, shops and restaurants (which

were inevitably good leads). Most of all, they provided attentive, polite and friendly service at every turn. We loved every second of our stay! The hotel is on the southern edge of Thira, away from the middle of town where the cruise ship passengers congregate during the day and early evening. The loudest noises are from the donkeys that occasionally clip-clop down the path, the Santorini version of UPS. Our view of the bay was amazing. Our large terrace provided the most incredible setting for the gourmet dinner made by the hotel's chef and served to us on our last night. The room was large and newly renovated. The marble bath was beautiful, with the sink and toilet separate. The pool and patio where meals are also served is very nice. They have free Wi-Fi, but it wasn't always working. Naturally, the staff immediately rebooted the system and got it working again. From what Jean Pierre told us, not all the rooms have been renovated yet, but the hotel is very responsive to emails and phone calls, so after you make your booking, contact them to ask for a specific room. All in all, Aigialos will always set the standard for us whenever we stay at a small hotel at a resort location.

Read More
  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Dec 15, 2008

It felt like home

Our stay in Aigialos Hotel was amazing and definitely unforgettable! The view from our balcony was unbelievable! The Aegean Sea and the volcano of Santorini were just in front of our eyes! The hotel has a traditional style and architecture, which is really interesting and –even more – remarkable. The house we stayed was amazing and very cozy. It really felt like home! The hotel staff was so friendly and very helpful with everything we needed.

They helped us to organize many activities, they informed us completely about the island and all of them had very gentle manners. All the services of Aigialos were just excellent! We had everything we needed before we even ask for it! It is totally a 5 star hotel but not “cold” and “strict” like other 5 star hotels. It is an intimate, homey deluxe hotel-and this combination is so difficult to find. We will definitely go back to Aigialos!

Read More

By harkou

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Mar 23, 2007

Excellent in all aspects.

Our holiday at Aigialos was an unforgettable experience. The accommodations were extremely comfortable, and beautifully and elegantly furnished with period pieces representing Greece's long history. The service and atmosphere were professional, and completely attentive to individual needs. Very highly recommended to all.

By Hal

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Aug 9, 2006

Quiet luxury in an inspiring setting

The location of the hotel, looking down at the bay and valcano,is worth the price in and of itself. However, the owner and staff are most gracious and charming. The rooms are wonderfully appointed and the proximity to the town is fantastic. A truly romantic and memorable hotel which rivals both large and small luxury hotels. You will be sorry you missed the Aigialos if you were on Santorini.

By Terry

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Mar 29, 2006

An amazing view

My husband and I were looking for a romantic island in Greece and were advised to go to Santorini and stay in a property that provided a memorable experience, classy yet not too showy . Having been told about Agialos, our decision was made right then and there. We were warmly welcomed, the view from our room was breathtaking, the pieces of furniture in the room were original and classy in their own right, not castle like but a genuine feeling of

being at a family home. We had a great time and added so many happy memories. It was worth it.

Read More

By Mary

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jun 22, 2004

Not my idea of luxury!

What a disappointment! Luxury is not a word that I would use to describe the Aigialos. It was VERY expensive, the rooms had swarms of ants, we were told to only turn on the switch for hot water 10 minutes before taking a shower, the water was not suitable for drinking, but we were charged for bottled water for the bathroom, the beds were uncomfortable, and the furnishings were anything but luxurious. Fodors: please return for another rating visit!

By Lori

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jun 20, 2003

Perfect Respite, Yet Close to The Buzz

The service is exceptional at this hotel. One can defintely find quiet and tranquility at this centrally located hotel with beautiful private views of the caldera. We appreciated the very short walk to restaurants, shops, and nightlife. We will definitely stay at Aigialos when we return to lovely Santorini.

By Nick

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Oct 1, 2002

The Perfect Site for People in Love

Simply M-A-G-N-I-F-E-C-E-N-T

By Richard

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jul 18, 2002

A bit of calm in stormy Thira

If you are looking for an oasis of quiet in Thira then you could do a lot worse than Aigialos. Very nice room, great views, pool is small but very relaxing and the service is EXCELLENT

By Laurie

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Apr 9, 2002

Sunset views from this hotel were amazing!!

We loved this place. Our room, called Zgfyros, had two balconies. Although our bathroom was very very small we loved the location and staff was very friendly. Our room was clean and room service good. Unlike any hotel ever stayed in. Make sure you request a room with a private balcony and a view of the sea. All marble floors throughout with a small refrigerator and CD player.

By David

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Oct 10, 2001

Big Disappointment

We had high expectations for this hotel, based their location, price per room (very expensive in comparison to other hotels on the island), and web site pictures. Unfortunately, it was a big disappointment. We had the second most expensive room in the hotel, and we were still let down. The points raised by the other writer (about the towels and shower) are accurate. One would think that a hotel that (as they told us) caters to Americans would

have more "American" conveniences, like shower curtains, iron facilities, comfortable beds, turndown service. Service was good, however, no pick/delivery to airport. For this kind of money, I recommend staying at Perivolas or Katikies. Although not in Fira, they definitely looked like better properties (I visited them both).

Read More

By Ross

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jul 7, 2001

A dream villa overlooking the caldera

Aigialos is a true delight to the senses: beautiful and comfortable rooms, fantastic caldera views and stunning architecture, located away from the noise and frenzy of Fira. Aigialo is an easy walk into Fira along the most scenic route and close to a supermarket for necessities. The staff is very attentive and friendly: they accommodated me with breakfast on my arrival and recommended excellent restaurants arranging for the best possible tables

for a view of Fira. The more expensive rooms have more privacy and the best views of the caldera and sunsets. Very highly recommended, a very professionally managed and friendly environment.

Read More

Show All

Add Your Own Review

When did you stay?

Minimum 200 character count

How many stars would you give?

Room

Décor

Service

Value

Advertisement