Sign Up
Newsletter Signup
Free Fodor's Newsletter

Subscribe today for weekly travel inspiration, tips, and special offers.

Fodor's Weekly: Your expert travel wrap-up
Today's Departure: Your daily dose of travel inspiration (coming soon)

Athens Hotels

Grande Bretagne

Pros

  • All-out luxury
  • Beautiful rooms
  • Excellent café, spa, and pool lounge
  • Central location

Cons

  • Pricey
  • No free Wi-Fi
  • Demonstrations sometimes take place right in front of the hotel

Updated 09/02/2014

Fodor's Review

With a guest list that includes more than a century's worth of royals, rock stars, and heads of state, the landmark Grande Bretagne remains the most exclusive hotel in Athens. As you marvel at one of the most eye-knocking views of the Acropolis from the terrace restaurant, or rest on custom-made silk ottomans in the lobby, or call your personal butler 24 hours a day from your room, you may very well think it is the very best. Built in 1842, the hotel still reflects its

original grandeur, with restored 19th-century oil paintings, antiques, and hand-carved details as they were more than a century ago. There's also a lovely spa where you can pamper yourself with indulgences such as salt and oil scrubs. As for amenities, there are none better in Athens—just a few of these are the laptop and mobile phone rentals, a technology help desk, and free daily newspapers.

Read More

Hotel Information

Address:

Vasileos Georgiou A'1 at Syntagma Sq., Athens, 10564, Greece

Map It

Phone:

210-333–0000; 210-331–5555-through 210/331–5559 reservations

Hotel Details:

  • Credit cards accepted
  • 321 rooms, 56 suites
  • Breakfast

Updated 09/02/2014

Book A Hotel

Advertisement

Map View

Map of



What's Nearby

  • Hotels
  • Restaurants

See all hotels in Athens

Fodorite Reviews

Average Rating
  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Sep 16, 2012

The Lap of Luxury

Everyone was terrific from check-in to housekeeping. Beautiful location with Acropolis view from Terrace restaurant where food was very good, especially breakfast. Gracious staff as we were allowed to check-in early and check-out a little late. Concierge was extra courteous and helpful in providing directions and mailing postcards for us.

By FuDeva

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Apr 1, 2008

Love This Hotel

Stayed here in March '07 and truly enjoyed it. The rooms are appropriately appointed for a luxury hotel, the spa was FABULOUS and the views from the rooftop restaurant are phenomenal. This is clearly the best hotel in Athens I agree with other posts that mention the smokiness of the lounge though.

By mjpbaf

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Oct 21, 2007

Grande Is More than Just the Name

We enjoyed our two stays at the Grande Bretagne very much (at the start and end of our Greek trip, after a visit to Santorini). The décor of this hotel is European elegance – old world to a tee, but it didn’t seem stuffy. Actually, it was surprisingly comfortable. Our first room was a large deluxe on the third floor with a view of the Acropolis. We enjoyed eating breakfast on the balcony with the wonderful view and looking out at the Acropolis

before going to sleep at night. The room had elegant, traditional furnishings and a beautiful crystal chandelier. The bathroom had two sinks, a separate shower and a large area in between that made it feel like a second full room all to itself. The rooftop bar is not to be missed if you’re going to be in Athens, even if you don’t stay at the hotel. The view of the Acropolis is incredible – particularly at night – and the drinks and food are top-notch. We also enjoyed the service in both the bar and restaurant: like the rest of the hotel it was consistently good. During our stay, we also tried the Winter Garden bar/restaurant and Alexander’s Bar adjacent to it and enjoyed both, although the smoking in both was heavier than we would have liked. We noticed that smokers were everywhere in Greece, even more so than in other European cities.

Read More
  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

May 5, 2007

The absolute best

This is the best hotel that I have ever stayed in. Luxury and service at it's finest. Perfect location, incredible food, great rooms. A must stay in Athens.

By Jamie

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Aug 28, 2006

Terrible service

We arrived at 2:00 p.m. and waited 30 minutes in line to learn that our rooms were not ready. We were told to check back after 5:00 p.m. Our luggage was sitting outside with hundreds of other bags unattended to until we went back and retrieved them. On the plus side, our room (when finally ready) was clean, cool and comfortable, but the service throughout our stay was aweful. We were awoken at 7:00 a.m. the following morning by a wakeup call telling

us to get ready for our cruise. When jet lagged I responded "we are not on a cruise" I was told by the reception that they had received our name from the cruise director and that it wasn't the hotels fault. I found fault with this logic, but was ignored by the general manager of the hotel when I spoke with him later. Other guests shared their stories of horrible service with my husband I during breakfast. Starwood needs to replace the management team at this property!

Read More

By Colleen

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Mar 27, 2006

Nothing is grander than the Grande Bretagne.

I admit it, I am a Starwood loyalist and a Luxury Collection junkie, but this hotel takes the cake. It is truly the finest hotel in the portfolio. I have stayed here twice and both times had a perfect experience. From the speedy room service to the breath-taking views of the Acropolis, there is nothing I can think to criticize. And that spa! Thank goodness we did not discover it until our last evening of our last stay. We would be hard pressed to

leave. Even if the massages are all booked, there are wondrous spa stations like the herb room or tropical shower to relax and rejuvenate.

Read More

By Robert

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Oct 2, 2005

Wonderful Hotel - Great Location

We loved our stay at this gorgeous hotel with its lovely rooms, beautiful public areas wonderfully furnished, and a roof top restaurant with spectacular views of acropolis. This landmark Hotel is the place to see and to be seen.

By Ross

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jul 7, 2005

You can't go wrong staying here.........

The hotel staff was very attentive & helpfull, expecially Despina one of the concierge staff. The accomodations were very nice (great job with the renovation). The Jr Suite was as large as a Deluxe room, however, it had a huge terrace with a fantastic view of the Acropolis which made it seem much larger. The restaurant was good- expensive, but you are paying for the view. I would definitely stay there again.

By Karl

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jul 3, 2005

What a sight, but what a disappointment

We ate on the roof top, what a great view of the Acropolis, but what a disappointment with the quality of the food - ate there twice (why ?) and were disappointed both times.

By Kay

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jun 18, 2005

Perfect Athens Hotel

We loved our stay at the Grande Bretagne this summer. We were in a small room but the furnishings were perfect. The location is absolutely the best. The Roof Top Bar has a fabulous view of the city. The Pool is not to be missed. It was difficult to get a reservation and not inexpensive, but worth every Euro that we spent to stay in this hotel. The Concierge was so helpful in making plans for dinner and sightseeing. The lobby is not to be missed.

Wouldn't stay anywhere else for my trip of a life time to Greece.

Read More

By MH

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Sep 25, 2003

Not Worth the Money

While the renovation of this hotel has most likely improved it immensely, we still didn't feel it lived up to the hype or the room rates. Plusses are its location close to the Plaka, shopping, metro, and chic Kolonaki district, renovated rooms and public areas. Minuses included staff with an extremely bad attitude, to rooms and that still don't have the glitches worked out. Some upper floor rooms with a view of the Acropolis are smaller than rooms

on a lower floor. Make sure you ask. Also as of this writing the pool was still not operating and construction still abounds next door.

Read More

By Amy

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Apr 23, 2003

One of classiest hotels in Europe

Wow! Their $70M renovation has transformed this into an amazing place from the last time I stayed. I loved the views of the Acropolis, the beautiful brand new rooms, the classy lobby...

By Laurie

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Apr 9, 2002

We loved our stay!

My husband and I had a very different experience than that of the other comments. We would definately recommend this hotel. Great location. Great staff. We walked everywhere and had a room with a balcony overlooking Syndagma Square. We stayed in room 704. Great room service and breakfasts! Based on the other places we saw, this was a great choice.

By Graeme

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Feb 1, 2002

Its all relative

Enjoyed our stay at the GB, its a bit like staying at one of the grand dames of the old days, has not been kept up. The rooms have an old look and feel but are still functional. Staff found to be friendly and quite attentive. Great location for Athens. As bad as the hotel maybe its all relative, the Hilton is also run down. A new Westin opens soon. But Athens provides little choice. Recommended for the locations, service in general and its history.

By Thomas

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Oct 8, 2001

Put this Grande Dame out of Her Misery!

Following an incident where the decrepit elevators "dropped" three stories and we were trapped in darkness for a time only to emerge to staff whose attitude seemed to suggest that this happens all the time, we were upgraded to one of the diplomatic suites. Definitely still not impressed. This hotel is so bad, even their top suite afforded little more than a dusty, faded remnant of days long past. Doormen are very sleazy and untrustworthy-- unbelievably

one actually solicited a prostitute. I wrote twice to Starwood/Sheraton about this place, but apparently they cannot shake the rot out of this place.

Read More

By Michael

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Sep 26, 2001

Bib Bucks for Genteel Decrepitude

The hotel is sorely scratching on a way bygone reputation. My room was depressing and though my bathroom was big and in marble,the toilet kept running and the bathtub took forever to drain. The restaurant charges $20.00USD for a very ordinary breakfast buffet with surly service. When I asked the concierge how much a car/taxi to Pirraeus would be I was quoted $85.00 USD. When I hailed one from outside hotel, it cost less that 10.00USD. One price for

you and another for the locals. Quite a rip-off and a Sheraton Property to boot!

Read More

By Kathy

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jul 10, 2001

Quiet, clean and comfortable

After reading some of the comments on this board, I was a little worried, but my travel agent assured me it was lovely and I agree. The location is great. The metro comes right to the hotel, close to all important sites. Good food, comfortable bed and great service. I didn't bring a hair dryer and when I called the desk to ask for one, three people arrived at the door with a hair dryer. They aim to please. The hotels very close to the Acropolis

have a lot of construction noise to contend with since they are getting ready for the Olympics and there is a lot of jackhammering going on all day long. I would stay there again.

Read More

By Jim

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Dec 5, 2000

Old World gone stale !!

Five star prices with 3 star rooms. Stayed there for first time on business in March '00. Still looking for better value close to the action of Sintagma & Plaka.

By Drew

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Nov 15, 2000

Very Tired

There is a thin line between old warm charm and seedy. I'm afraid this hotel has fallen in the later catagory.

Show All

Add Your Own Review

When did you stay?

Minimum 200 character count

How many stars would you give?

Room

Décor

Service

Value

Advertisement